Walking the boat yard

in Black And White7 months ago

Sepia boat yard-6.jpg


A different walk, a different day. Why did I walk the boat yard? Because there wasn't a sign that said I couldn't so I just waltzed in and took a gander. What was I looking for? Well, I wasn't looking for my missing cat - because this was before she went missing and I've been looking for her and trying to get her to come back home for over a week now. No, she wasn't at the boat yard with me. It was just me and my thoughts and a little technology to take photos of things for me without having to tinker with dials and knobs. Yes, these were all taken with my phone and I think they came out okay. I would have liked there to be more depth of field, but I didn't have my Canon with me, so I made do with what I had.

I like these slightly industrial looking things. All angles and textures. Do you think those little hooks look a bit like candy canes? That's the only real Christmas theme I could find - the rest of the place looked a bit like an old fashioned torture room. Chains and planks and thick ropes and buckets everywhere.


Sepia boat yard-4.jpg


And this was the boat I thought was most interesting. Is this a tug? I don't know anything about sailing. It wasn't flashy or fancy like the yachts or catamarans that were all laid out looking shiny behind it. They held no interest to me. This was a work boat. It isn't shiny, but rusty and dented and dinged. It had far more character and charm to me. Ooh look at the steel cable winch. How many hours has that thing pulled stuff behind it? It was nice to see how neatly this one had been wound. The one behind it?....not so much.


Sepia boat yard-5.jpg


A trailer? Who would have thought that a trailer would have such lovely geometric patterns to display? And at a boat yard none the less. I really liked this and wanted to jump up on it and skip from one rung to the other. My senses overcame the urge though because I'm clumsy and would probably break a leg.


Sepia boat yard-3.jpg


And of course, the texture of wood. I don't know why, but it's something that always catches my eye. You don't want to know how many times I've had to run to catch up with people because I've been happily distracted by textures and interesting things that I see out of the corner of my eye and have to stop to take a photo. How unbelievably fortunate we are now to have the technology in our pockets to do exactly that without a second thought. Today I'm grateful to simply take photos and know that I can look at them in the same instant, edit them the same day if I want to and can upload them to Hive whenever I feel is right.

Today is a good day, all things considered.

#monomad challenge? Accepted! I hope you enjoyed walking the boat yard with me.


Sepia boat yard-7.jpg



𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒅𝒍𝒚 𝑨𝑰 𝒇𝒓𝒆𝒆. 𝑨𝒍𝒍 𝒊𝒎𝒂𝒈𝒆𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏.


Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @brumest and @qurator 🦋

The pictures are really beautiful
Black and white pictures are so nice!