You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small things and big flowers

in Black And White2 years ago

Hahah after I read what you do with your plants, orchids seem like easy peasy :D
I definitely do not pay so much attention to them. But it is good to pick the ones for your environment. I think Masdevallia and Miltoniopsis orchids like it cool. The would never grow for me here. I am not even trying :p

Sort:  

I really did try my best to keep the Nepenthes alive as it was a present. 😀 And now that I know my methods work, I did the same with the plant I bought. At least I don't have to repeat this every week, it's only one time and perhaps some misting but otherwise I just let the plants be.

Masdevallia and Miltoniopsis have such beautiful flowers! I have never seen this kind of orchids sold here in flower shops, just common butterfly orchids with different colors. Summertime may sometimes be too hot for cooler climate plants, it depends. If future summers are like last summer was, three moths of 30 to 40 degrees might be too much. Then again you never know what Finnish summers will be. 15 degrees of Celsius or 30-40. Fortunately I'm not into orchids so I don't have to worry about that. :D