Struggling in Season 19 Arena || Axie Infinity

in Axie Buzz2 years ago

thumbnail struggle.png

Struggling in Season 19 Arena


It is almost 2 weeks since the latest season 19 of Axie Infinity’s Arena and the struggle is real! Several team compositions I had trouble in 1800 MMR last season could still be found in 1400 MMR. These teams include the poison meta where grass snake has been greatly nerfed. Another one are the dusk terminators which proliferate the lower ranks! Though their damage has been reduced slightly, I still have lots of trouble against them due to their high speed.

Furthermore, some of my cards have been reduced in damage due to the nerf as well as the damage computation changes. To add more salt to the proverbial wound, Beasts have been more popular than ever. Due to the popularity of Dusk Axies, it is already necessary to have a Beast or Bug Axies in the team. Those two Axie Class directly counters my Axies! What a wreck!

Sidenote: I am currently in 1500+ MMR so there may be a lot of low level plays made by me and my opponents. But I hope you enjoy the gameplays!

Gameplay 1: Immortal Backline Plants AKA HEALING META


 

One of the most annoying teams currently are those running a “Healing-Backline” Plant. This teams are so cancerous due to the fact that they could easily heal themselves till the Bloodmoon Curse deals with its opponent Axies. It requires little skill and can easily win but requires patience to use.

In this match my opponent used his Aqua Axie in the frontline. So I decided to quickly deal with the Aqua to reduce his damage and steal the opponent’s energy. I also aimed to defeat his Beast Axie as quick as possible since it is capable of easily dealing with my whole team! Fortunately, my opponent was indecisive in the early game which allowed me to 2v1 quickly the backline. It took 13 round to defeat my opponent due to the high heals of the Plant. I was already feeling pressured at the 1v1 but luckily my damage was sufficient to deal the last blow.

Gameplay 2: Fear! Steal Energy! Gain Energy!


 
Now this opponent of mine made me panic when I saw its cards. This team can deal 3 kinds debuffs namely, “fear”, “stun”, and “poison” while also stealing energy and gaining energy. The core cards of my opponent are “Cute Bunny” and “Antenna”. This team could be seen in the 2k MMR last offseason due to its high damage and utility.

I decided to use up all my energy as much as possible. This team can easily steal my energy every round! I also made use of my Plant early on to get some value and delay some time to save some cards for my midline and backline reptiles. Thankfully most of his cards were nerfed as well this season 19 otherwise I would have stood no chance against them. In a 1v1 situation, “swallow” was able to sustain my health without the need to fear his debuffs since they will only activate using chains.

Gameplay 3: Strange Team Set-up


 

Once again I am matched with a double Aqua team. But wait, this aint your typical AAP team! Now the Plant Axie is situated at the backline! This team set-up is becoming even more popular recently. It’s strategy is to make use of Aqua cards early game while the plant will finish off the opponent with the high damage Cactus Card.

In this match I made a grave mistake wherein I got my energy stolen in the midgame. This has spiraled out of control until my opponent got a critical with cactus which easily dealt with my reptile backline. The opponent also had high shield card “Potato Leaf” which made it very durable till it was able to defeat me.

Sort:  

I encountered a Buntena earlier, I guess two buntena and I hate them lol
Everytime I step on 1.6k MMR, it's just full of different kinds of reptiles and a lot of bugs HAHAHAHAHAHA I always ended up going to 1.2k MMR or worse 1k MMR T_T

I have been meeting more and more buntenna currently :( I am not sure why are they even in the lower levels since fear is a very strong debuff. The good news is that I meet lots of players who make lots of mistakes so I can still survive above 1400 lol

I am still trying to learn how to read their moves coz definitely if you face them the first thing that will come to your mind is "I need to use my energy because they will steal it" being worried about our energies every time we face them prolly gonna mess our strategies a lil bit HAHHAHAHA

Sometimes I let my opponents steal my energy specially when I have a bad set of cards. I might as well save up cards which might be useful in the next turn. Might be a good choice might be a stupid one lol

Congratulations @grenfunkel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21