Why Coaching is Important: My 800 MMR Scholar || Axie Infinity

in Axie Buzz2 years ago

(output001)900 mmr_gif.gif

WHY COACHING IS IMPORTANT: My 800 MMR Scholar~

My 2nd scholar dropped to around 800 MMR this week. Last post, I have created a Disablesaur Team for my cousin since he will be my 2nd scholar. It was a team that I have tried out in 1600-1700 MMR so I got shocked when my cousin has reported to me that it has reached that low.

800 MMR.png

Despite having a scholar already, this is the first time for me to onboard someone without prior knowledge and experience to Axie Infinity. My first scholar with an average of 1100 MMR is someone who I did not have to teach how to play Axie so having a completely noob scholar blindsided me when he reached a 800 MMR. Plus he had admitted that he almost reached 700 MMR.

Before Coaching


To be honest, I expected at least a MMR above 1000 for the first week since that was my experience when I was a scholar. But 800 MMR? Now that is too low! So I decided to reflect on the events and see why this problem has occurred. Then I coached my cousin while he was playing on how to use the team. What I noticed:

  • Disablesaur + Discard Meta Team – Explanation: I made a team consisting of a Disablesaur Dusk(Kestrel, Hotbutt, Tiny Turtle, Vine Dagger), a double discard Bug(Parasite, Pincer, Garish Worm, Fish Snack) and an assault plant(Hotbutt, Scaly spoon, Sandal, Zigzag). This team was tested in Arena and won more than 50%. CONS: The skills were not straightforward to use. Combo’s and Chains flew right above the head of my cousin.

team.png

  • Lots of Study Materials – Explanation: You might be wondering if I ever taught my cousin how to play the game? Yes, I did in the form of study materials regarding skills list, gameplay videos, beginners guide, as well as links to written materials I had studied while I was a scholar. Cons: It seems that the younger generations dislike to read/study game mechanics and decided to play right away. Despite having important materials/notes on game mechanics, my cousin probably did not check it or did not understand it hence the low MMR.

If you are wondering what I gave him, check this out and see if you have read these:

  1. Damage and Shields Explained
  2. Axie Classes
  3. Axie Cards list
  4. Buffs and Debuffs
  5. How to Play Disablesaur

During and After Coaching


Despite giving materials that I studied before when I was a scholar, my cousin was not able to understand the game mechanics of Axie Infinity that well. So I decided to conduct a coaching while he was playing in Arena. At the same time, I taught him how to use the Axie just incase he did not understand it.

  • While I was teaching him how to use the team, I have noticed that he did not know how combo and chains work. My previous explanation may have been confusing so I decided to show it to him while playing. His team required combo for the skill: CHOMP. While chains are required for the skill: GARISH WORM. I hope the devs make a tutorial for this game mechanic in V2 since I could not find some official game mechanics about this.

chain and combo.png

  • My scholar did not know the class of each cards. This was something that I forgot to explain since cards and parts in-game does not explicitly say which class each of the skills come from. I explained to him that one has to check the color of the skill name in each card. RED means BUG class; BLUE means Aqua class; Green means Plant Class; Violet means Reptile Class, Pink means Bird Class; Yellow means Beast class. I have also noticed that the skill “IGUANA” has a wrong color. Even though it is a reptile class, it is blue colored. I once again hope that the devs include the Class of each skill card in V2(an indicator or icon to show in every card).

cards.png

  • Another thing that I noticed is that the team I made was not meant for beginners. Having an AAP team was said to be beginner friendly. Now I honestly know why since Aqua cards are very straight forward when compared to the skills of my Axie. Aqua user never had to think too much aside from energy counting and card counting. My team had extra mechanics like disable, discard, chains and combo which are not present in some Aqua compositions.
  • Mentality is one of the things that I have explained as well. When to be aggressive, when to play safe, when to skip turns as well as how to read the opponent’s move.

Only after the coaching session did I honestly understand its importance to new players. There are some concepts which cannot be explained simply by giving some materials. Plus I have noticed that when compared to some community, I did not have a server for scholars to share knowledge and techniques which I had experienced when I was starting out. But for now, I am happy that my cousin has improved in playing. Now his MMR has reached 955! A great improvement despite still under 1000 MMR. Here is a gameplay clip he shared:

955 mmr.jpg

Sort:  

I will soon start giving scholarships too so I guess teaching scholars how to play is a very important aspect of the game!

Thanks for sharing your experience my friend, well-writen blog!

I hope you find success in being a manager. Easy to use team with simple skills are best for new scholars. But if you are getting an experienced scholar, you could let the scholar use a meta or team with outplay potential.

You did a very well job. keep it up😍

Thank you for the encouragement! :) So far my scholar has finally reached above 1000 mmr.

Coaching is indeed important, as coaches can see something the player has not able to see.

Congratulations @grenfunkel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is great. You're going above and beyond by creating such helpful tutorials for your scholars, it might be slow at first but this makes you a way better manager than a lot of other people.

I think with good coaching, most scholars can achieve far more than if they are left alone. Nice team btw, disablesaur and discard bug is EVIL! lol

Thanks for the kind words :) It seems that scholars need constant encouragement and pressure to help scholars be better players. I always thought that a higher percentage cut is enough incentive for scholars to play well.

The disablesaur is kinda slow at 45 speed but it is enough to reach 1500 mmr(hopefully).