Blooms of Easter: Foraging Edible Flowers to Adorn Your Festive Cake

in Wild Foraging2 months ago (edited)

An Easter walk this morning was full of blooms, inspiring me to forage a few beautiful edible flowers to make a heavenly Easter Angel cake—a spongy, airy and very light cake that I thought would be an ideal treat for everyone this Easter.

I gathered some forsythia

I grabbed a handful of these cherry blossomsblooming in joy!

In the kitchen, I gathered all my ingredients:

Easter Heavenly Angel Cake

For the cake base mix:

6 egg yolks
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
90 ml Fanta or tango for citrusy taste and additional lift. can be swapped with any flavour or infusions you prefer.
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/3 cup plain flour
2 tablespoons corn flour
0.5 tbsp baking powder
0.5 tsp salt
For the cake meringue mix:

6 egg whites
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 tsp cream of tartar

For the icing:
1/2 cup softened butter
1/2 cup cream cheese
1/4 cup double cream
1/4 cup condensed milk

Firstly, I beat the eggs and sugar until pale. Then I added all the wet ingredients and mixed until smooth.

Next, I made the meringue by mixing the egg whites and cream of tartar. I added the sugar gradually while mixing until soft peaks formed.

I folded the meringue mix into the base mix a third at a time.

I then put it in the oven for 30 minutes at gas mark 4.

For the icing, I mixed all the ingredients and spread it over the cake.

I decorated it with foraged fresh edible flowers: cherry blossoms, Forsythia, daisies, and primroses.

The cake was light, and airy with delicate texture and subtle sweetness.

Done just in time for everyone's Easter Sunday dessert.

To share the joy, I divided the cake to share with my neighbors and greeted them with a happy Easter! They were delighted and amazed by how light the cake is. It truly is a heavenly cake indeed. :)

A Blessed Easter to Everyone!

Mariah 🌼

Sort:  

That reminds me of the sponge cakes that I love so much. This would be great to eat at this time of the year. I would probably like to have some tea too, or a chai. Those flowers are edible? I have yet to eat edible flowers. Do they taste of anything at all? Or do you just feel the texture?

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Thank you for your lovely comment, yes it is basically a sponge cake, enjoying them with cup of tea or chai sounds perfect for a cozy moment :) The flowers are edible and just to add lovely touch, the sakura has a distinctive flavour and it is well used in Japan for cakes or savoury dishes and preserved in salt or vinegar. Or for texture as you mentioned, they have health benefits as well. 😊

You can see how lovely this would taste by merely looking at it. The world around you is truly beautiful and it's even more amazing that you're able to harness it towards creating more beauty via delicious pastries. Absolutely wonderful, Dear.
!LUV it.🌺

theworldaroundme, jhymi sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thank you, your appreciation means a lot. 💗

You're very welcome.🌺

You're most certainly welcome.🌹

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Not only are the flowers and cake decoration photos very beautiful but also you took your kitty along for the journey, amazing!

Thank you, @calendulacraft, for the kind comment. And yes, she loves coming with me and sniffing around, hehe. Although I get scratches every time we encounter a dog, as she will climb straight up my shoulder! But I love her to bits. :)

Making of cake is one skill I tried 6o learn but I didn't have the opportunity
And now my life is soo ooo occupied, hehe

#dreemport

It's never too late to pick up a new skill, even if life keeps us busy! If baking cakes is something you've always wanted to try, why not carve out a little time for it? It can be a relaxing and rewarding hobby, who knows, you might discover a hidden talent! Hehe ;)

Yea, you are right
I will have to try