New Balls Please

in Liketu3 months ago (edited)

The wife decided that she needed a new ballpool for her therapy room. The original, circular and very flimsy playpen had collapsed many moons ago but I for one was quite happy with this because, as I've mentioned before, cleaning the balls was a proper pain in the arse!

My misgivings, however, were not taken into account when I was dispatched to the playroom with a tape measure and a fearful warning ringing in my ears;

'These are expensive and made to measure. Don't fuck it up!'

And as you can see. I didn't!

Ballpools are important tools in many aspects of therapy, and help kids with most of the ailments they visit us with. They're a great place for kids with ADHD to let off some steam and for our autistic kids with sensory issues, a great place to feel relaxed, surrounded by gaudily covered, cheap plastic balls...nope, I've no idea why either, but perhaps the biggest reason is that they're so much bloody fun!

This was ordered online and being custom made and heavy duty specifically for commercial use, it cost an extra £80 quid to have it delivered down here to the island. Anything ordered online from any one of the home shopping channels has a hefty surcharge to pay for the additional transport and postage costs.

It turned up three weeks to the day after ordering in the back of a small truck from which three wild-eyed, no doubt Kratom-using delivery men who'd been awake all night travelling, carried the 80kg of bits into the room for me to assemble. It was very well packed and unpacking it was more difficult than actually putting it together. That was just four pieces and eight screws and yes, my measurements to get it right in front of my climbing wall were spot on.

So after much grunting and humping, I got it all into the playroom and the black bags full of balls were pulled out from under the stairs. As you can see from the picture, we didn't have enough to even half-fill it. Believe me, two thousand more balls are now on order!

I have to say, it's very well made and covered in a very heavy duty vinyl which up to date, hasn't needed much cleaning, just a little wipe over with a damp cloth of the kind I always have to hand and it's really taking a lot of stick and being used for most of the day. The vinyl floor mats and padded walls were made by someone local on the island but when we asked her, she said she only did straight lines!

So there you have it. A new ballpool to add to the wife's arsenal of therapy tools. She says therapy, the rest of the world says play, either way, it seems to work and the kids love coming here so it probably doesn't matter! Either way, we have more vinyl in the house than a 1970s Austin Allegro.

Wishing everyone a great weekend



clu3tff2y0016soszfvs9h7kf_20240301_093300.webp
clu3tfkdr00ie79sz5y7v6nby_20240229_161800.webp

Well done wife. Get them to dump it in the living room, about as far from the therapy room as you can so I need to move it through three narrow doorways...

clu3tfq2u0008pisz4o72esul_20240229_163843.webp
Now that's what I call a good fit!

clu3tfp91003gidsz4hh82ln9_20240229_185250.webp
clu3tfd6q000nb9szbbyu3hnm_20240229_171149.webp
Turning the house into a bomb site!

clu3tfjx6000519sz9n9ie18g_20240229_174943.webp

clu3tftel000eueszabor5a6p_20240229_165633.webp
Hmm. Something missing. Oh yes. BALLS!

clu3tfa77001ry5sz5gkybf37_20240229_185214.webp
Don't worry about the mess. The MiL will burn it!

clu3tf69200hx6jsz044kh0fq_20240302_074755.webp
Peppa and George ready to welcome visitors.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Hehe, it looks magic! All that vinyl though, watch out for static lightning! 😀

The room positively crackles with static! When I came over 13 years ago, I brought my best pair of Churchill brogues. Lasted a matter of months here before they'd dried out and cracked! All cars from top end to bottom use 'faux' leather ehem, plastic for the seats. The downside is, of course, we all have sweaty arses. Life's one big compromise!

Some compromises are worth it! I might happily pass on the leather for a bit less grey sky and rain!! 😀😀

The pastel colour scheme is great, did the missus chose it?

Still not a big fan of ball pools though, dread to think what's at the bottom 😬

HA..nooo I chose it. She is even more uncreative than I am lol...she'd have just gone for everything deep purple. I chose it, yet I do the cleaning and pastel shades soon look grubby after thousands of tiny sockless feet climbing all over them all day. Even when I'm right about something, I'm wrong :-(

I shoulda hid my phone from Atlas. She saw all the cardboard and yanked it outta my hand.

Haha, she probably sensed my cat was hiding under there! Hope you're on the mend, fella :-)