You mean I can get more plants???

in Hive Gardening3 months ago

DSCF9720.jpg


With the increasing humidity in the house (and also our increasing interest in plants), we thought it would be best to have indoor plants to purify and dehumidify the air. We have thought of getting air purifiers before but it would cost so much since a small one can only cover one room. Apparently, some type of plants can do both and they are cheap now since there's no pandemic anymore and people's interest in plants have gone by (and this is why we don't follow trends!). And besides, having plants in the house look so much better and more homely.



DSCF9716.jpg

DSCF9717.jpg

One of the plants that we got that can absorb humidity is the golden pothos. They're one of the plants that are hard to kill, thus perfect for us beginners. :D Also they're so pretty and can climb stuff if you want them to. Here I just hang the end of the vine on the wall and a week later it already stuck one of its roots there.



DSCF9718.jpg

This one is a giant golden pothos and I can see that it is a bit bigger than the rest of the pothos. I still need to transfer it to a more beautiful pot but just researching what soil is the best for it.



DSCF9725.jpg

Another one is an Njoy pothos and it's a bit smaller than the golden pothos.



DSCF9726.jpg

I hanged them on the staircase and they look happy there lol. What really surprised me is that I can see a new leaf in probably every 3 days. I know pothos are easy to grow but I didn't expect they would grow this fast!



DSCF9727.jpg

Also ever since I got these bad bois in the house, I have noticed the area became cooler. The air became easier to breathe in and my allergies got triggered less. So of course, I want more in the house... so how to do that? By propagating!



DSCF9735.jpg

I researched how to propagate them and there are two ways to do it - in water and to just plant the cuttings directly in the soil. I chose the former since this way I can see the roots grow and so I would know when to plant them in the soil and also apparently it is faster.

I got myself a clear glass from Mr. DIY and they're so cheap lol.



DSCF9733.jpg

The propagation is soooo easy. Even a child can do this haha. All I needed to do was to cut leaves individually (or can also be in groups) but make sure the nodes are included otherwise it won't grow roots. They're the ones with the long-ass brown roots hanging out. Also as you can see this one has a new growth.



DSCF9739.jpg

This pothos looks like a neon pothos though but I'm not sure.. I didn't order a neon but I think they just accidentally planted it along with the golden pothos haha.



DSCF9745.jpg

And I just put them in the water. I'm using a distilled one since the tap water is heavily chlorinated.



DSCF9746.jpg



DSCF9749.jpg

I got all the varieties propagated. Hopefully we can see nice growing roots after a month. Plus they also look so pretty even being in the water like that. :D I have to make sure to change the water every now and then though as mosquitos might lay eggs or something.

Sort:  

Aloe Vera grow like rabbits if you ever want loads of plants, you can even use then to soothe your skin in summer, I keep on giving mine away every year

That's what I also want at some point although I kind of avoid succulents for now. I had a jadelet plant and I wasn't able to estimate how much light or water it needs so it died after two weeks. :< Although I have snake plants now, I almost killed it too cos I didn't want to overwater it so I ended up dehydrating it... I don't know with succulents man, they said it's so easy to take care of and can survive neglect but it seems to me they're more sensitive than the other plants lol.

plants are worse than babies in a way. at least babies cry and you know something is wrong!

Never say no to more plants.

My grandmother always told me: the more plants you have around you, the healthier your life will be.

I have an Aloe Vera right now and I always talk kindly to it when I pour water on it, and it has grown incredibly fast.

I agree. Everytime I wake up and go around the house it gives me joy to see plants and how beautiful they are. I also am able to keep the habit of checking up on them and water them despite thinking before I wouldn't be able to.

That is so cool. I have a snake plant and it's so nice to see it grow another from the soil. Succulents are so cool :D

Snake plants are very good, they clean energy and the air, its a plant that produces very good quality air.

I don't currently have one but I know I'll find one at any time ;)

Succulents are soo cute, before moving I gave 2 to my ex-girlfriend and they have grown enormously; I didn't know they grew too much, be aware.

This week my Aloe Vera finally bloomed; It is the first time I see the flowers of an Aloe Vera; it was very exciting

During the pandemic, we used to sell plants like these which my Aunt used to took care.

Yeah it was crazy that plants blew up during the pandemic. So much that these can cost a lot before lol. Now they're so cheap, even the monsteras and rubber trees. :D

Always, Hope you can regrow some!

Thank you! I'm so excited to see them multiply in the house :D

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I have a terrible track record with plants, nothing seems to survive in my apartment. 😂 However, I have a friend who is absolutely nuts about plants, she's always propagating various varieties. 😂 She even made a few for me, but unfortunately, they didn't make it, so she's decided that I'm out of the running for receiving plants. 😂 I definitely need to show her your post! 😂

Lol that's terrible haha what do you do with the plants? Some plants can even survive without water or being neglected but if you managed to let them die despite them tough plants then I don't know what to tell you. Even your friend gave up on you 🤣🤣

Yeah, I'm a pro at killing plants, I successfully killed a cactus! 😂 So, no, I won't be receiving any more plants. But it seems like your plants are amazing, I showed your post to my friend and she told me so 😂

Oh no, so it's a cactus?? Now I understand haha I also killed a succulent 2 weeks after I got it. :< They say succulents are so easy to grow but I think they are so sensitive haha or just cos they say it's easy we tend to neglect them more. Despite they say it being a beginner plant meehhh I don't think so. 🤣 If you want to get plants another try maybe try the pothos since they will be happy and they are easier to take care of in my opinion. :D

Haha 😂 I've given up on plants, and both my husband and my friend decided it's better for me not to have any real ones. So, they bought me Lego flowers 😂 And they're still alive! 😂

Aloe Vera is my preferred indoor plant due to its numerous benefits and low maintenance requirements. It possesses potent properties that enable it to cleanse the surrounding air.

On the youtube videos i see. Noticed only that 1 plant near the LED's so i just drew that one plant. GRRRRRRRRR

Once im done with my animation stuff. I can try and go for a round 2 as thank you for commissioning me and being so caring when i had so much going on in my head.