Vancouver Island Petroglyph's

in GEMSlast year

So here is something cool I stumbled upon this last weekend on the Island up in Nanaimo

A02026C9-8FF8-4F22-9EC0-59EFE074B312.jpeg

These are ancient petroglyphs! Pretty wild to think they have survived all this time.
Alot of the writings were covered by debris or moss, but that makes it even cooler.

My curiosity wanted to clean up the area lightly and see what else was underneath, but I left it natural as is & enjoyed what I could witness.

D88042E1-51C1-44DD-ACB1-1BC2650749D9.jpeg

Turns out the main carving is a Sea Wolf from this description. There are also plenty other ones in the moss… you just gotta look for a bit.

Can you see them??

0EF4AC0E-9A0A-42A5-BADD-DE50D08DED28.jpeg

This was only one spot out of many others apparenty, so I have much more adventuring to do 😁

D607D7E4-97B0-411B-BD2D-E766D27FC6E7.jpeg

Sort:  

Looks cool! I love symbols like these.

Just had a look on the map where Nanaimo is and saw some pictures of Nanaimo Bars... damn they look good. Pretty sure I'll have to try making some one time. I've got family on Vancouver Island! Would love to visit them one day. Sea wolves? I'm learning a lot from this one. Seems like a magical place, very interesting. Excellent!

It's pretty neat the history surrounding the island here. I want to check out others nearby!

Haha Nanaimo bars! There is actually a bar downtown called The Nanaimo Bar. It's okay I suppose but I am trying to find some venues where I can DJ my tunes

Best of luck with the explorations!

Congratulations @cconn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal