Raymond, The Professor, and Hive

in GEMSlast year

image.png

@katharsisdrill's fabulous cover for the book

First, let me disclose that I have never reviewed a book before! I read a lot, and that is my single qualification for giving you my two cents about a recently published novella written and illustrated by two Hiveans, @nevies and @katharsisdrill.

text15.png

The book starts out with this enticing prologue:

IMG_20221219_081312227.jpg

I envisioned a small animal, a gremlin-ish little thing, skulking off into the shadows. I waited the entire book for this creature to appear. The Professor's Creation was revealed only at the very end, and boy was it not what I expected!

Perhaps the illustration below, which is facing the prologue, could have helped me imagine something a bit closer to what the creature turned out to be. You can use this illustration to envision your own creature, but I doubt you'll come any closer to it than I did.

So the first thing I want to say about this book is that IT HAS A GREAT ENDING!

IMG_20221219_081306046.jpg

text15.png

I'm gonna keep this real short for you all, so you have more time to get your face into the pages of this sweet little tale of good and evil, two faces of the same coin.

Raymond has to find The Professor, it's his job. His quest finds him as an undercover agent employed by a bad guy. This bad guy is, fittingly, a politician. A series of unlikely events occur that lead Raymond to The Professor's lair, where he, and we, learn the truth!

Hint: Destiny is a bitch.

IMG_20221219_080937990.jpg

text15.png

This novella was born for an @adsactly contest hosted by @vcelier , its author and illustrator met on Hive, it was offered for sale first on Hive. and we could watch the process come together over a few months right here on Hive by reading posts by @katharsisdrill and @nevies.

This book is a Hive Baby! Order your copy now!

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

Here's how to get your hardcopy from @katharsidrill's Jabopress!
If you'd like a digital copy, just send 4HBD to @nevies and note what it is for in the memo field.

Let me apologize for the images! I still haven't figured out how to use the camera someone lent me a while back, and as my phone and computer both become more and more obsolete, my images are getting pretty bad! I'm working on upgrading my images, but not in time for this post.

The first image is a screenshot of an image from one of @katharsisdrill's posts, and the rest were taken of my hardcopy by little ole me .

Sort:  

Cool! Thank you for giving feedback and shout out 😃👍.
And thank you for talking about it without revealing too much 😅.
You're too kind.

I really enjoyed it! Thanks for writing it!

This reminds me I need to read the book. I got it a while back. Happy to hear you enjoyed it.

A #BookReview by @owasco - #love it!!
And the story of the genesis of the story:

This novella was born for an @adsactly contest hosted by @vcelier , its author and illustrator met on Hive, it was offered for sale first on Hive. and we could watch the process come together over a few months right here on Hive by reading posts by @katharsisdrill and @nevies.

Fun Fun Fun!
Also fun to see that I'm not the only one to hashtag a typo - #magic, not #nagical, realism, LOL, welcome to my world. :)

lol I hate tags. Sometimes I use them to finish a story, or give to a hint. The tiny print is a pain in the ass for my aging eyes!!! Figures you would read them all.

It's not a carol kean review, but still this dang post took me THREE HOURS to put together! Why do I do this?

xo