BEE 🐝 HIVE: My fear and intrigue becoming excitement [Visiting a bee 🐝🐝 hive, rebaiting and applying of Insecticide]

in Agricultural Mindset β€’ 5 months ago (edited)

For a long while I have always been fascinated and intrigued by the process it takes to extract honey 🍯 in particular what is done to make bees 🐝 give us honey and more so preventing them from biting us.

I on my part has always been afraid of anything bee 🐝 since high school cux I had an ugly unproved encounter with one a certian time which I had to endure a swollen lips that attracted mockery from my friends in school. I am definitely not going to go into sorry details of that encounter but since that moment bees 🐝 become something i was always afraid of.

But recently I had to let my intrigue and fascination conquer my fear for bees 🐝 as I engaged myself with someone who taught me some things about bee 🐝 and bee 🐝 hive.

During some time discussion with a friend about my fear for bees 🐝 and the process it takes to extract honey 🍯, he promised to thrust me into he thick of the action assuring me that there are ways to go about it without getting bit by the bees 🐝. I was scared but my curiosity was definitely going to get the better of me.

Well, fast forward to a a month and two weeks a date has been scheduled for a visit to the hive and of course I will be part of the team going, I was excited nervous and getting ready.

A da before the visit i was taught some dos and don't, some protective wears to be used and what mission we were hoping to achieve which was re baiting of the bee 🐝 hive

Rebaiting is a process where by honey is applied to the bee 🐝 hive to attract the bees 🐝 into the hive. And also while at that, Insecticide can be applied around the bee 🐝 hive to prevent ants infesting the bee 🐝 hive. Well to me this process is new to me as all I thought was to locate the hive in a special spot visible to the bees 🐝 and you are good to go😁😁, well I was wrong.

So our mission was mainly to go rebait the bee 🐝 hive and also do some maintenance work round it.

I was waiting and waiting and waiting for the deal day to arrive counting each hour, minute and seconds as it goes byπŸ˜€. And of course the day arrived. I got to the meeting point and hour before the scheduled time of meeting. After about twenty minutes of waiting my friend arrived but with some wears, something that was made with iron which I later got to know was a smoker amd also charcoal and a lighter. Well well, are we going bush burning or what. I wait...

Then the explanation began again. We are to wear the protective gear in order to prevent sting from the bees 🐝. When me on my part has looked for a very thick trouser and shirt to go with 😁. The wear looked like a jumper or should I say it was more of a jumper that covered every part of the body except the from the wrist down and ankle down also. This meant that our hands and legs are still left exposed. Well, those have been catered for also as we are to wear gloves and farm boot to go with

IMG_20220817_061054_413.jpg
[This is me dressed up and ready to go]

IMG_20220817_061007_912.jpg
[Here is my friend also]

We were also to go with something called smoker. A smoker is used to induce smoke while approaching the bee 🐝 hive and I was told that the soke helps to prevent the bees 🐝 from stinging. So that was what the charcoal and lighter was for. The smoker was bought from an online vendor, jumia.

2.jpg

https://www.jumia.com.ng/generic-stainless-steel-beekeeping-smoker-tool-supplies-apiculture-smoker-83161267.html

Well, we poured some charcoal inside the smoker and set fire to it. There is one other thing I have not mentioned and that is sawdust which we added to the charcoal after setting fire to it. The sawdust will help induce smoke to it.

Well we were kitted up and ready to go. My job was to make sure there is a constant supply of smoke when we get to the bee 🐝 hive, the second person was holding light for us to see as it was still dark outside around 6am in the morning and the third person who is my friend will do the rebaiting work.

IMG_20220817_061027_55.jpg


IMG_20220817_061120_533.jpg

IMG_20220817_061054_414.jpg
[The protective hat we wore]

This hat had this tick covering up top that is made with rafia palm 🌴 and also a net round about to cover our faces while also allowing us see properly.

Well, we were able to go the bee 🐝 hive and fulfill our mission there even though one of the bee found it's ways into my protective wear and sting me which cut short my fun journey cux I ran for my life.
But then this fear I once had about bees 🐝 in particular has reduced to some extent and I have learnt a lot from this visit. Though I couldn't take pictures of the bee 🐝 hive itself as we were busy with other stuffs.

And here goes my fun filled πŸ˜€πŸ˜€and educative journey to a bee hive

Thank you all for reading and liking β™₯️β™₯️

Sort: Β 

Brother yo have done a great work.

Thank you

Β 5 months agoΒ Β 

@tipu curate