"One Day" - a tale about "what if's", "maybe's" and the rollercoaster we call life

in Proof of Brain3 months ago

A couple of nights ago I decided to give "One Day" on Netflix a chance. I was looking for something to distract me from life at the moment and, since I kept seeing TikToks of this limited series, it seemed like the appropriate thing to do.

I will not spoil it for anybody who hasn't seen it yet because it's quite the journey Dex and Emma take us on. It's also crazy to me how social media is better than actual advertisements when it comes to influencing people to buy/ watch specific things. I mean, it only took a couple of videos for this romantic soul to embark on a life-changing Netflix adventure!

Now, I have never seen the movie or read the book, so in a way, I had no idea what my poor little heart was going to endure during those 14 episodes.

One Day (Source: Netflix)

The story introduces us to Dex and Emma, who meet at their graduation day on July 15th 1988, and follows their lives throughout the years. Something interesting to keep in mind is that, as viewers, we only see one day of each year that passes by - July 15th, or St. Swithin's Day. There's quite a few references to the title of the series, but also the importance of specific days in our lives. I'll add a quote which I found I related to on another level: "Imagine one selected day struck out of your life and think how different its course would have been." If you didn't know already, I'm the queen of the "what if's" and "could've been's" so this particular scene in the series really touched me and made me think back on a few memorable days in my life.

And even though we only see each year represented in one day all throughout the series, we witness so much happening between Dex and Emma. We smile with them, we laugh with them, we cry together, we cringe...We are in an emotional tv rollercoaster, we have no idea where it would take us but somehow, we feel connected to every scene, every feeling, every look between Dex and Emma.
The whole time, I kept thinking it all feels so real and I couldn't pinpoint the exact reason why. Or, to be more precise, I couldn't focus on one sole reason. "One Day" can be interpreted in many ways, but I am certain each person that watches it, will find something special that speaks to them.
For me, it was that same quote I mentioned up above - "Imagine one selected day struck out of your life and think how different its course would have been.". There is one day I remember quite vividly. One day my brain keeps going back to from time to time. I remember the weather that day, the clothes I was wearing, the words we exchanged. This day is the biggest "what if" in my life and I will forever feel some kind of regret when looking back...Regret that I didn't speak sooner, or that I didn't try harder, or read between the lines.

I think we all have that particular moment we wish to go return to but can never fully understand what exactly keeps bringing us back and why we can't seem to stop it.

All this to say, if you haven't seen the series, I recommend it. It will get you thinking about life in general, and about your special moment/ day that you can never run away from.

Thank you for reading and have a great week ahead! 🫶🏻