Spring along the Rock

I've lived near the Rock River most of my life. For the past 20 years I have lived on the banks of the river that begins 65 miles northeast in Horicon Marsh and flows 300 miles, across Wisconsin and Illinois, to the Mississippi River.

This river holds a special place in my heart. My father grew up in a small town on the river, and when he died I spread some of his ashes here.
I love being able to wake up each morning and gaze quietly out my bedroom window at the river before I begin my day. As the weather warms up I can have my morning tea out on the deck and enjoy the river.

Walking beside the river is a pleasant place for a walk this time of year. There are wildflowers blooming in the woods. They have been familiar to me since childhood, but I am always a bit surprised each spring that I have forgotten some of their names and must look them up again!

woodland phlox

purple trillium

shooting stars

wood betony

wild geranium

I do love spring!

Sort:  

!LUV

melinda010100, pixresteemer sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Wow it must feel peaceful living there 😍.. wait have you seen any real life crocodiles there😳

No crocodiles, alligators, or poisonous snakes here! The biggest threat is probably plants that cause skin irritations if you touch them.

Oh wow, I hope one day I could come there and perhaps visit

You would be welcome!

Thanks Melinda 👌💯🥰

That photo of shooting stars 🤩💚

This blog is not about the flowers but about the feelings. If I'm not mistaken, because I felt connected. ☺️

You had a lovely walk
I love those flowers…

Definitely a worthy place to have a nice walk. In the end we all love spring 🌱🌼

You are lucky to live on such a beautiful place where you can travel a little and see such natural things, water is also visible and many beautiful trees and flowers all these things are visible. Our health is good by seeing them.

I think I need to go a place like that to take refuge from this extremely hot weather

You live in a beautiful and charming place, how great to wake up and see the river.
What beautiful memories dear friend @melinda010100

The atmosphere of the river banks is pleasant. The greenery around the river can also be the reason why you like staying in this place more. All your photographs are very beautiful. I like green fields. @melinda010100

That looks like a lovely place to live. Love those wild flowers.

I have never lived in a place where I could see any body of water. On vacations near water, I have always thought that would be such a wonderful thing. Even a small pond would do... but no.

Isn't spring a pretty time of year? Those flowers along the river are gorgeous. It sure looks better now than it did when everything was white! What a great place to live!
!BBH
!LUV

melinda010100, thebighigg sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@melinda010100! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (3/50)

Lovely wildflower and lovely to feel a connection to a place. Not something I ever thought of much when I was younger and moving more but it is something I think of more now.

Very nice place❤️

Beautiful memories this place holds for you and it's easy to see why, it's lovely.