My plan to kayak 250,000 lakes of Ontario Canada 🛶 🇨🇦

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Since the Pandemic Travel Restrictions kicked in last March I have been enjoying the freedom of kayaking the many rivers and waterways here in Ontario, Canada. I had no idea there were so many beautiful spring fed lakes within an hours drive of our place on the Rideau River….

I recently read that there are over 250,000 Lakes here in Ontario… another 1 Million in nearby Quebec.

250,000 Lakes ? Seriously ?

Ontario’s more than 250,000 lakes contain about one-fifth of the world's fresh water

Source: https://www.ontario.ca/page/about-ontario

We kayak here in Canada from May - November … that’s 7 months and approximately 28 weekends. If I visit 4 lakes every weekend it will take me only 2,233 years to visit them all…. Maybe I don’t need to visit them all.

503865A8-9DC4-42B1-B601-E68E3E32CE3C.jpeg

Sandbanks Beach on Lake Ontario

The Province of Quebec has one million lakes ?

Traversed by the St. Lawrence River, Québec is dotted with more than one million lakes and streams.

Source: https://www.sqrc.gouv.qc.ca/representation-quebec-canada/le-quebec/donnees-en.asp

Special thanks to POB, Bitcoin, Volkswagen, and Perception Kayaks.

Many lakes connected by Rideau River …

82DE6E99-6A90-4423-BAFE-D257786459F6.jpeg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

You really get into numbers but this time I'm totally with you...

The poster boy of Ontario

Minnesota you ain't got nothing on us.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I will do Minnesota after I finish Ontario and Quebec…

11,842 lakes in Minnesota ….

In total, Minnesota has 11,842 lakes, which is about 3,000 less than Wisconsin's more than 15,000. But the two states use different definitions to determine what counts as a lake.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Can you eat !PIZZA on a kayak?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Pizza is the best food on a kayak… !PIZZA


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@mineopoly! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @offgridlife.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

Is it so? !PIZZA


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@offgridlife! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @vikbuddy.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/10)

Connect

Trade


@offgridlife! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @mineopoly.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

A lot of those lakes must be close enough to visit 4 in a day.

Yes … I guess I can see a lot more when I’m on Holidays. Maybe it won’t take me 2,000 years.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Or, maybe reduce what is classified as a lake and do the ones that are connected.

ontariolakes.png

Very good idea. Kayak, tent, fishing rod, bear spray and a few other supplies and I can do many lakes a day.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Don’t forget the beer


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I can visit more if they are small and connected by rivers, streams or short portage trails. Maybe I can do more. I’ll be in great shape by the end of the summer. Many of the Lakes nearby are connected via the Rideau Canal and Rideau River.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

The 123-mile-long (198 km) Rideau Canal, built as a military route and incorporating 47 locks, 16 lakes, two rivers, and a 360-foot-long (110 m), 60-foot-high (18.3 m) dam at Jones Falls (Jones Falls Dam), was completed in 1832.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have never done Kayak before but I will love to learn.

The wider recreation kayaks (10’ long) are very easy to paddle …. Very stable and light to carry to the water.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks, the wider recreation kayaks is going to work.

Where you are in africa... Are there alligators and crocodiles?
untitled.gif

I am living in Benin West Africa. Yes, there are wild animals but they stay in the large protected area outside the urban zones.

Ahh I see I see

untitled.gif

If you pass by Kingston, let me know when and perhaps I’ll make it a point to go to the shore to greet you with a wave.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

And maybe some delicious Woodenheads Wood Fired !PIZZA … 🍕 https://woodenheads.com/menu/

F33EF891-94F3-45D1-934F-D404B4128BAB.jpeg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@anaclark! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @offgridlife.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/20)

Maybe you could tackle it like those folks who run across the country. That'd be a lot easier, I suppose, if the lakes were actually connected.

Huh, that is quite interesting. That's a lot of water eh?
untitled.gif

Yes… it’s mostly water with islands everywhere…


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I bet the mosquitos are really fun right now...

We had a heat wave back in June and it burned them off.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Oh man, you don't have 2,233 years friend. You should go with 22 or 33 years. Choose the best and beautiful ones, the rest can be visited by our dear @mineopoly and his students😊😉


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I will do as many as I can and eventually my kids, grand kids, great great great great grandkids can do the rest….


Posted via proofofbrain.io