Everything Mushroom: Mushroom Ink, Inkcap Manga Art, and Mushroom Burger

in FungiFriday2 months ago (edited)

If I were to tell you, "Let's go mushroom hunting, and I will cook you the tastiest mushroom burger in town," would you join me? ;)

We started mushroom hunting mid-day today. I was hoping to see a new sprout. As a mushroom hunter, you've got to have the patience of a saint and know how to counter all those frustrations of not finding any.

It wasn't bad at all. At least I have seen again an artist conk mushroom, and after the previous post about this, I truly appreciate seeing this.

Then I spotted a half-decaying tree that had some sort of growth that I couldn't quite identify.

I visited the usual spot where the common inkcap grows, but there's no sign of it! I normally make mushroom ink around this time. I posted last year my technique for making mushroom ink.

We headed home, and I checked the mushroom ink I made last year using a common inkcap. I am amazed that it still works! I gave the last bit of my ink to my 12 y/o daughter who loves to scribble.

She made some manga art, and we were pretty impressed and delighted and it is an original idea. I always like how the shading of mushroom ink turns up in drawings. She uses a barbecue stick to draw.

I like the Inky Cap mushroom umbrella.

I decided I would treat everyone. I cooked the mushroom burger.

I baked buns earlier today and it came in handy.
I used the sweet pickled elf cup mushroom from my post a couple of weeks ago, taste is so balanced with sweet, sour, and still crunchy!

Portobello mushroom from the shop.

double cheese, beef, wild garlic mustard, roasted onion, ketchup, mayonnaise, salt, and pepper.

With layers of earthy richness from the mushrooms, the juicy goodness of the beef patty which was cooked in an iron skillet, and a tangy kick from the mustard and sweet pickled elfcup mushrooms.

It's a symphony of flavors that harmonize beautifully, what a beautiful taste experience we were all satisfied!

It's amazing how versatile mushrooms can be in both art and cuisine. It really made up my day!

Have a wonderful Friday, everyone.
Mariah 💗

This post is dedicated to @fungifriday by @ewkaw and to all fungi friends here! 💗

Sort:  

Good morning dear friend @theworldaroundme
What an interesting post, I loved it.
How great to see art from mushroom inks that you have prepared yourself, and the exquisite mushroom burgers, I must admit that it has whetted my appetite.
Have a great day

Thank you for the lovely comment, it is indeed a lovely morning here. I have never had mushrooms in a burger before and it is actually really nice, you must try it. Yes the ink is amazing so I do them every year. A lovely day to you. 😊

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I have never done mushroom hunting before and I always wondered which ones are edible. From young we were taught in my family most mushrooms (after rainfall) are poisonous, but looking at you guys hunting down some does make me think otherwise.
However perhaps tropical country the mushrooms aren't as good as I always only see common white tops mushrooms and never any red ones like you posted. 🤔

Climate could just be different and those do not thrive healthily and might have other types of contamination

Nevertheless, your daughter's art is magnificent. It's so amazing she can draw with just the barbecue stick and with yout homemade mushroom ink! 😲

It sounds like you're really intrigued by mushroom hunting! ☺️ You're right that mushroom varieties can differ widely by region, and tropical climates tend to have different species than those found in temperate zones. Your parents are right that they appear after rain, but not all of them are poisonous.

But edible mushrooms have toxic look-alikes, so 100% correct identification is always crucial to avoid poisoning. From cap to stem and spores, shape, time of appearance, smell, etc. all should be accurately correct.

I'm pleased you found my daughters art interesting,. Thank you so much for the kind words. ☺️

hm.... then mushrooms in the tropical countries will be much different because they usually pop up after thunderstorms.

I can imagine it is harder to identify them after thunderstorm as the ground will be too wet and the appearance of mushrooms may alter, increasing the risk of toxicity.

Yes. I guess in where I am, air polluted place. Probably only cultivates mushrooms are safe to consume.

Probably right. Best to be safe, 😊

!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@theworldaroundme! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ littlenewthings. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlenewthings(2/5) tipped @theworldaroundme