Las Violetas Cafe - Buenos Aires, Argentina

My partner and I often called his grandparents on Sunday to check up on them and update them about our lives here in New Zealand. They sometimes mentioned about their favourite coffee shop name Las Violetas Café which is very close to their place. So in my recent visit to Buenos Aires, Argentina, we had a coffee date with my partner's grandparents at this very famous and historic café shop.

Las Violetas café is now over 125 years old and it's extraordinarily popular among locals, especially in the afternoon as everyone here love their coffee and sweet for their afternoon tea. I am not a big fan of sweet stuff, savoury is more likely my style. However, after 3 weeks visiting Argentina, I fell in love with sweets. We arrived at 3pm on Monday and this place was packed with people. Lucky for us we didn't have to queue up as it was not on the weekend.

We ordered black coffee, tea, some medialunas (croissants) and a piece of my favourite - Tiramisu cake. Even though it was crowded, it didn't take long for them to prepare our order. I was so surprised when seeing some heart-shaped cookies which was brought together with the coffee. It is not common in NZ so I thought they made a mistake with our order. Later I found out that whenever you order coffee here, you will get some sweet cookies to have with your drink. I think it is really a nice way to treat your customer. But it will be better if they ask first because I can see not many people will eat the cookies, meaning it will become waste.

Little heart-shaped cookies to have with your coffee - for me totally ❤️ it

Here comes my favourite Tiramisu - creamy and rich in flavour. I prefer they added a bit more liquor in it but I won't complain about this beautiful one

After finishing our coffee and cakes, my partner and I went around the shop to have a look. This place is not so big but a good size for the afternoon tea. I don't want to imagine it on the weekend as our grandparents said it is always packed.

A big area in this café is dedicated for sweet lovers. They can just come, pick anything they want and then out on their way - simple, easy and no hassle at all.

Look at these cuties, I wish I could have stayed longer to taste all of them

I love how they decorated the walls with old paintings - really old styles. I sometimes envy the old things as they have been witnesses our changing world, they have met so many people in their lifetime. Oh shoot I talking nonsense stuff right now. Whenever I see old things, my mind wonders to the past.

It was not easy to stand outside, in front of the café and take photos of the place so here I present to you the entrance of the café from the inside. You can see there was a friendly waiter standing outside to greet customers.

My partner lost his voice on that day so I was a bit nervous at first as it would be hard for me to communicate with his grandparents. I only spoke "poquito" - a little bit of Spanish and his grandparents - a little bit of English and in a busy café would make it more difficult. But it was actually the opposite. We both enjoyed our companies together and because we often talk about this place, it brought me a familiar feeling.

Buenos Aires in general and Las Violetas Café in particular is a heaven for coffee and cake lovers. It is one of the things that I miss the most about Argentina - spending afternoon tea with friends and family and talk about our lives. Well sometimes you don't even need to talk, just to be with each others is enough.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Yeah Man! Why not, man-11.jpg

Heart-shaped cookies, oh yeah!
I'm not a big fan of chocolate, but gosh, everything looks divine! I love the setting for sure... the glasswork and decor is spectacular!

I shall remember this place if I'm ever in Buenos Aires:)))

Have a fantastic weekend 😊

Thank you. Yes, there are so many good places in Buenos Aires for coffee and sweets. Las Violetas Cafe is one of them. I am going to share with our community one more beautiful cafe shop which is more famous in Buenos Aires and is a must to see. Will spend sometimes next week to get back in time and visit the famous Cafe Totorni (always my favourite things to do after the holiday). Have a lovely one.

Excelente café ☕

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @trangbaby.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@tipu curate

Thank you so much for your support.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow what a beautiful place

It is indeed a really nice place to enjoy a cup of coffee and sweets with friends or family. Thank you for stopping by. Have a lovely weekend.

Afternoon coffee and cookie time is a great way to spend quality time with your loved ones. ❤️ Las Violetas Cafe is such a cozy atmosphere with the old decorated paintings that give the place a sense of history. 💛 And all the cakes look delicious 😋

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 17000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Very beautiful place😍

Dear @dora381,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!