Heartstrings

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee21 days ago

Mom took down a huge carton from her wardrobe and set it on the ground. My sister and I looked at the white, dust-coated carton with barely disguised glee.
“This is one of our wedding gifts,” my Mum said with a bright smile. I was just about six then and as I watched Mom delicately open the somewhat worn carton, a singular thought was in my mind.

And there they were, three rows of mugs in three different colours: white, beige and brown. I didn’t hesitate.

“I’m taking the brown one!”

My big sister gave me a scalding look. “That’s not how it works. You should wait for me to choose the colour I like first. I’m the big girl here.”

I put my index fingers in both ears. “I don’t want to know. I’ve chosen it as mine. Choose another colour.”

“Mummy, have you seen Tessa?”

My Mom just looked at us in amusement and picked the carton slowly from the floor. “Nobody is choosing anything. It’s for the family’s use.”
I grumbled under my breath with a smug on my face. All that one was story. The brown mug was mine.

I can vividly recall this event even though it’s been so many years ago not just because I have a memory that remembers the mostly insignificant bits of my childhood but because my Mom hasn’t let me forget it. According to her, that was another confirmation of the fact that I would be a troublesome girl. Cute but troublesome.

I would like to say that the mug in the picture above is the same mug I’ve been using for so long. Unfortunately, it isn’t. I kept accidentally breaking each of those mugs till one was left. This is the last one and as expected, I’ve come to treasure it a lot. I hold it like an egg and not just because it’s the last. It has no elaborate design. A kind of brown you can simply ignore because it’s plain brown, but I honestly can’t stop the smile that sweeps my face by just knowing that I’m going to drink from it.

Back home, I have a favourite spoon and a favourite fork, which I both took to the dorm, of course. But I couldn’t bring myself to take my mug with me. It doesn’t feel the same using regular plastic cups and call me loony, but my coffee or hot cocoa tastes nicer, more authentic...when it’s in this brown mug. I didn’t bring it with me because I knew that unlike any of my other properties, I wouldn’t hear sorry if someone broke this one. So, better safe than sorry.

Aside from my favourite mug which already crystallizes all of my coffee experiences, it’s what I do while drinking coffee that is simply the cherry on top. I have a problem with anything lactose quite early in the morning and can only stomach it from noon. So early morning coffee is mostly with sugar or honey while reading a book or doing random things.

Reading is the most frequent thing I do, with my rechargeable lamp while waiting for the sun to rise and even more prominent, savouring the cool, still air of the morning while taking appreciative sips. But the most random thing I’ve done is drink coffee and dance. The day I took the picture which is my thumbnail, I also filmed myself singing along to K-pop and dancing for good measure. I can’t show the embarrassing videos, of course, sadly, but it was a new and refreshing experience for me.

My favourite mug is not with me and I hardly have access to anything hot whilst in the dorm unless I go on a begging spree to the ladies working in the cafeteria. A day’s experience alone coupled with their snide looks, can kill whatever obsession you have with coffee till you’re able to go back home or access hot water in a more hospitable environment. Regardless, coffee is a lot to look forward to, in the times I go back home.

Of course, I issued a stern warning that my mug was out of bounds so I knew it would be safe and cosy in its spot on the cupboard, waiting for me to have a blast with it as always.

Favourite Mug + Sublime(book, nature, music) = Perfection.

Jhymi🖤


Images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I also like to enjoy a delicious coffee with a good book. a delight that has no comparison and that makes you spend a wonderful moment.

Thanks for sharing.

Happy new week.

Glad to have you here as always, @rinconpoetico7. Do have a most excellent week as well.🌺

https://inleo.io/threads/jhymi/re-jhymi-9pmxrzds
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( jhymi ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 20 days ago  

OPEN-3.jpg
The photo belongs to millycf1976 and was edited using Canva.

It was a huge pleasure participating.☕🥰

Congratulations @jhymi! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024