The Ant and the Grasshopper Get Married || The Coffee Shop Prompt - Week 50

Hi, coffee lovers!

Among so many other things, a cup of coffee can be witness to so many interesting and lovely stories. Today, while I was hanging out by myself at a local coffee shopwaiting for my ride to take me home, I was thinking about the many stories I had heard in that same coffee shop. I thought I should share one for the prompt of this week.

image.png

The word "romántica" displayed in large letters on the TV screen 👆, perhaps, reminded me of a love story. A funny coincidence: I had my children's book of Aesop's fables with me 😁

image.png

image.png

The Ant and the Grasshopper Get Married

With a little twist here and there to give it that nonfiction feel, this is the story my friend told me:

image.png

In her early forties, born in a home where they might’ve spent a day without any food to eat, but did dance salsa every afternoon and never missed coffee twice a day, Gregorina had grown up with a strong attachment to her family and her town, so much so that when Pedro, her sweetheart, asked her to go away together to look for a better life, she had to say no. Among other things, her mother had been diagnose with breast cancer, and she, barely nineteen years old and to her mother's grief, had to drop out of college and go to work to help with medical and household expenses.

image.png

At her uncle Juan's bar, my friend's second husband, Gregorina waited tables for food and for $1, she danced a salsa song with anyone who showed her the bill and even let them buy her a drink. But no fondling. No, no, no. Careful not to be seen by her benefactor, Grego, as everyone called her, poured the drink into any plant pot, of which there were many in the great hall, with large palm trees. Day after day, Grego would go to the bar, wait tables, eat a bowl of beans and meat or one of soup, dance with the boozers, and get half a dozen palm trees drunk on cheap rum and beer. She’d get home at 3 a.m., put half of the bills on his mother's night table and drift into a deep sleep until noon the next day. That's how it was every day since she’d turned nineteen.

Surrounded by drunks at work and slackers in her neighborhood, every day Grego saw her hope of a either a career or a prospect, receding further and further away. But one day, just as she was ready to accept her uncle Juan's offer to start a romantic relationship with a friend of his, who, apparently, pined for her and wasn't as libidinous as he seemed, nor as disgusting once you got to know him, just that day, Pedro Guzmán walked into the bar, asking for her. Gosh, had he changed! He had a broad back and strong arms; he was not at all the little bird she remembered, the boy with a dream of becoming rich overnight without studying or working. In fact, it took her some seconds to realize who he was.

He invited her to his table and Gregorina tried to ignore and silence, without success, the voices of the crooks--who today were more crooked than ever--, "Hey, hey, here you are!", while showing a $1 bill. She tried to make Pedro not understand anything, but Pedro understood everything. He pulled out a $100 bill and told her about his successful business trading crypto.

Summer was coming to an end and as the sun went down, the temperature dropped considerably on that seashore. A true gentleman, Pedro offered Gregorina his jacket, a fine, manly, wood-scented garment. Grego thought that this was exactly how the father of her children smelled--haha. He had her completely, especially when he confessed to her that he’d always been in love with her and now that he’d seen her again, he had reaffirmed his feelings.

She had been an ant. He had been a grasshopper. And they married.

image.png

image.png

Thank you so much for your reading :)

image.png
MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤


image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

Sort:  

I love that you picked such fun reading material to enjoy with coffee, and totally enjoyed your re-spin of the story! When I wrote the prompt, I didn't consider that some of the best stories we are told in coffee shops are by authors!

Sheesh you'd think I would have, considering how much I love books! 😂 Thanks for the great read 🤗

Oh, I love fables and a good folktale. My (innocent) guilty pleasures. I read them once and over again. Many of us have been told many stories by famous authors while having coffee at coffee shops around the globe, haha. So true 👌🏻

Thanks a lot for your reading and the motivation, @grindan, Lover of Books ☕❤️

 3 months ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you so much for consideration and support, @cinnccf. Much appreciated ☕❤️

Hello friend, excellent images, I love the panetteria cafe, a nice place to have a good time and listen to a non-fiction story, a romantic story with a happy ending. greetings

A happy ending it was, I think. I also like the ambience of La Panetteria ❤️ and their lungo 😁 Thank you so much for dropping by, my friend ☕

I loved the place and a nice story with a happy ending, I love happy endings. With a good cups let the stories flow. Greetings

Happy endings are the best. And it's always better with a cup of coffee and good company 😁❤️

Thank you so much for dropping by, dear @neilamarcano

Thank you for this wonderful story. Greetings

Love a story with a happy ending. 😊

And more so when it's a true story 😀 We don't get much of that in real life, but sometimes we get lucky so those times, hopefully, make up for everything else. So nice to see you around here reading my little coffee story. Much appreciated, amazing @nickydee ❤️ Have a wonderful day!

Hi @marlyncabrera, nice to see you enjoying your coffee at the right cafe. the cafe looks fancy..

Oh, it was definitely right to write my little love story. Thank you so much for dropping by, @viviehardika. Have a wonderful day ☕

That’s a lovely story about the ant and grasshopper. It was an interesting one!

Many ants and grasshoppers out there. Not sure they're supposed to marry, though, haha. Thank you so much for dropping by!


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 😁❤️☕

One of those real life stories that reach the reader because They are experiences that are lived or known. The difficult reality is a source of permanent inspiration.

Thank for sharing.

Good day.