My Dad, Coffee, And Me

samuel-cesar-IbTl5197EOo-unsplash.jpg
Source

Me and Coffee have some wonderful and awful moments together (like the time I accidentally stayed up all night as a teenager because of espresso) but one of my most wholesome memories was when my Dad took me to starbucks as a kid.

I was anywhere from 7 to 10, and Dad told me to get ready to go somwhere, and to bring a book. Dad has always been notorious for surprising trips, and I was notorious for loving surprises.

So I grabbed one of my favorite books and off we went.

I had no clues at all that he would bring me to Starbucks, a place I only knew for coffee and… donuts maybe? I don’t know, I was a kid more focused on fast-food joints with indoor playgrounds than sophisticated coffee shops.

As soon as Dad took me in though, I was amazed by all the tables and people. We found a little table at the corner of the shop and sat, and Dad told me to wait there while he went to the front counter.

Dad soon came back with a coffee for him and a frappuccino for me. It was so sweet, I felt like an upperclasswomen, sitting there reading my book while Dad typed away on his computer.

There is a quote by Maya Angelo, one that goes:

“At the end of the day people won't remember what you said or did, they will remember how you made them feel.”

I can’t remember anything we said. I don’t even remember everything we did. I just remember sipping coffee while I read with my father right beside me. The memory is as warm and sweet as the coffee was (once it cooled off of course).

Though my Dad worked hard he made time for me and my brother, and I was happy about it then and I can appreciate it now. Besides, who isn’t happy when your father gives you coffee as a kid?


Hey there! I’m Shila! I’ve loved books since I could read, and decided I would write books I wanted to see written for others! Check my children’s book Imagination on Amazon!

Follow me on Twitter!

I also write on Tumblr!