A Crowd For Gloria

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee15 days ago

"I like silence; I’m a gregarious loner and without the solitude, I lose my gregariousness."
Karen Armstrong


Just give me a quiet sitting area in a corner, some hot coffee, a bit of dessert, and that'll be enough "relaxation" and fuel, that keeps me going for over a month.

At a nice cafe, I take my time with food and beverages. However, I like to chow down as fast as possible when I'm at home or in a restaurant. But, it's the total opposite when it comes to coffee and food items that complement it. I like a bit of peace and quiet too, I like to take in the surroundings, plan a bit, and sometimes reminisce.

So, a crowded space isn't ideal for me. It's quite the deal breaker I'd say, and it applies to most events and occasions.

If it's a huge crowd we're talking about, then there's a possibility that I'm out. Sayonara!

It could be the best event, food, or coffee in the world, but as soon as I see all the seats being occupied, and a commotion from afar, the chances are that I'll run the opposite way; especially if it's one of my solo escapades.


Firt time.png


Today I had an experience that falls under this category. The ground floor was completely packed at this place, and even though I'd like to make a run for it, I just couldn't run the other way and avoid it because it was sort of work-related. Fortunately, the first floor was fairly empty.

It would be a concise meeting, about hobbies, interests, and some money. The person I was supposed to meet suggested this spot, and I said yes, since it wasn't too far away from my house, and because I'd never visited this place before.

The cafe/restaurant was Gloria Jean's Coffee. A chain that had been in the country for like 15 years or so, and most of the earliest branches were actually around my home, school, and work area. Yet, I've never had the chance to visit this cafe, nor try their food with home deliveries. The occasion just never came up, and for some reason, I was never interested in trying their food. Even though I consider myself a fairly mature, yet rookie aficionado in the coffee/cafe game, for some reason, I've always faded Gloria Jean's Coffe.


PXL_20240509_144230880.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

PXL_20240509_144805109.PORTRAIT.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


So, since fate had finally deemed me worthy, I decided to head out a bit early and get myself a cappuccino and some chocolate chip pancakes; as I waited for the person I was supposed to meet.

After having a quick look at the menu, I realized that the options are more than what the usual coffee shops offer. Yet, instead of wandering around, I stuck to the coffee and dessert section and decided to go with the classics. Of course, a regular cappuccino as always, and the adventurous order of some pancakes. God knows when I last had pancakes, but I'm glad I went with these pancakes.

The coffee was good, there's nothing to complain about, and the price was fair; especially when compared to the rest of the menu. The pancakes were definitely a good choice. The little bits of chocolate chips, and the chocolate syrup, with an addition of blueberry sauce and vanilla ice cream were perfect. I know it's a mouthful and a plateful, but all these ingredients complemented each other; which was quite surprising to me.

I had finished my food right on time and kept sipping on my coffee, as I waited.

What happened next? Just a quick 5-minute conversation and transaction, and we were both on our way back home.

Cheers, folks! ☕️


1.png


Sort:  

Looks delicious 😋 thanks for sharing 👍🏾

Yeah, the pancakes were better than what I had expected.

🤝🏾 it's great you enjoyed them I do love a good pancake 🥞 thanks again for sharing

I hope you enjoy your weekend 🤝🏾

Happy weekend. Cheers! ☕️

Thanks 👍🏾

 15 days ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Really looking forward to my 8 PM coffee today evening. Didn't have time for coffee yesterday. 😬

We always enjoy coffee very tasty with a piece of bread.
I like and always want to enjoy coffee when I see things like this.

Bread goes better with milk tea I'd say, that's what we prefer in this region.

I'm so glad you were able to enjoy a dessert and a good cup of coffee. I love having a brief space, even if it's a quick one, and even more so if it's a place I've wanted to go to for a long time.

This visit was a long-awaited one, that's for sure. Over a decade of waiting and fading wasn't that easy. Glad I finally got to visit.

I love stepping out like this. Not spending much time outside and eating well and going back home on time
Your dish looks yummy

I do too, but these days it's all mostly work-related. My solo escapades are put on hold.

Honestly, just looking at the pictures made me relax too, hahaha, everything looks beautiful and delicious, it was definitely a good suggestion you were given.

Yes, I'd defnitely visit again, but not really sure when. Hopefully, next time it won't be as packed.

Congratulations @riz611! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

and the price was fair

untitled.gif

untitled.gif