Time and Time Again

Is it an azalea or a rhododendron? I have no earthly idea, however I am coveting this white plant of my neighbor's.

PXL_20240418_210036823.jpg

Welcome To My Sublimely Beautiful Sunday!

Have you ever had something new that you wanted to try and as the opportunity became nearer, you could almost taste the desire? Well that was my situation when I bought a new brand of rice to try making sushi with.

PXL_20240421_175548316.jpg

No, I do not claim to be a sushi master, nor even a sushi chef. However I have made a roll or three in my time. So when I spied a bag of rice at Kroger, I decided I wanted to see what it was like because I was tired of always having to order rice from Amazon.

PXL_20240421_175422810.jpg

I put the rice on to boil and started to get the ingredients needed to make the rolls. I first cut into my avocado only to find it had went bad on the inside. Right away I could see this is not starting off on a good foot as one of my three main ingredients was now out of the picture. Next I looked for my English cucumber that I saw in the refrigerator in the past day or so only to find out it was missing in action.

PXL_20240421_182915304.jpg

Yikes! Now two of my three usual ingredients are unavailable. I guess that means it's time to get creative in the kitchen LOL.

PXL_20240421_180828179.MP.jpg

I guess the story of my life is always having to make do. I had some snow peas that I cut the ends off and blanched. I really like snow peas so I figured that could take the place of the cucumber.

PXL_20240421_181906608.jpg

I finely diced some onions and added a bit of Duke's Mayonnaise to some tuna fish.

PXL_20240421_182920187.jpg

Thankfully I had plenty of cream cheese.

PXL_20240421_183300269.jpg

The new rice that I used was excellent. Generally sushi rice is very short, whereas this new rice is medium length. Regardless, it was perfectly sticky and clung to the Nori nicely.

PXL_20240421_183435808.jpg

Then I added just a bit of tuna fish.

PXL_20240421_183514775.jpg

PXL_20240421_183702197.jpg

PXL_20240421_183912299.jpg

I prefer using half a sheet of nori and making smaller bite size rolls. Perhaps it looks a little funny with the longer grain rice, but the roll held together really well.

PXL_20240421_183921222.jpg

As so often happens in my life, I find that I have to do the best I can with what I have. The roll actually tasted great! I was more than pleasantly surprised.

PXL_20240421_184254867.jpg

It turns out that in spite of not having what I felt I really needed, I was able to adapt and make the best out of the situation. I always believe that any sushi is good sushi, and this was no exception. So in the end the day was not ruined, and turned out to be a sublimely beautiful Sunday.

PXL_20240418_210158639.MP.jpg



The Beautiful Sunday and Sublime Sunday tags are some of my faves! I want to thank @ace108 for running the beautiful Sunday tag every week and keeping such detailed stats and supporting the accounts. Also, a shout out to @c0ff33a for the sublime Sunday tag where your random Sunday posts are always welcome!



Sort:  

I am not really into sushi, but that looks really good. I could almost taste the flavor of snow peas when I saw them laying there. Who knows, they might become one of your favs in future sushi adventures. I always think that is a sign of a good cook, when you are able to adapt a recipe with something else you have on hand and make it work.

Will you buy that rice again?

Oh wow! Those look great and I love the idea of snow peas for a bit more texture than normal. I haven't made sushi for ages.

It's totally weird, I thought you had stopped posting!! Then someone reblogged this post and I checked and for some barmy reason I didn't appear to be following you no more to which I can only say I don't think I unfollowed you. How utterly bizarre!!!

Anyway, fixed it 😀😀

Oh well welcome "back"! I still enjoy posting, so I plan to carry on. Always an honor to have one of the OG's like the legendary Boomster! 😀

I've never got down to make anything like this. Life is too convenient here.
Those serious diners though true sushi must be make with the Japanese short grain rice.
I don't care as long as it taste good and better still if it's cheap.

Yikes! Now two of my three usual ingredients are unavailable. I guess that means it's time to get creative in the kitchen LOL.

I wanted to trust the process, but when I got to this part, I just thought it was going to be another 'everybody is so creative' parody. Haha!

Well, it's great that it turned out well, and if it can still be delicious while missing three ingredients, then maybe it's high time we make this work for you in this economy and become minimalist in making sushi.😀 On a serious note, it does look appetizing!

Make do with what we have in the kitchen appears to be a new trend of late, still turned out into what looks like a decent healthy plate of food.

Small bush may be azalea, tree a rhododendron have the best of both, why not?

@tipu curate

Making do is creeping into all aspects of life here (in the US) as prices for everything keep rising!

I think we can place this firmly at the feet of the scamdemic with so many not employed over the period it had to have negative side effects. No one will be held accountable,so we the people will have to simply tighten our belts more than before!

I would have loved to have a taste of this sushi, but distance would not allow

Happy sublime Sunday