PhotoFeed Contest - Wildlife - Kookaburra

For this weeks Wildlife Edition of the PhotoFeed Contest I have some nice photos of birds again. I already showed a little glimpse of it in one of my posts but have kept ht best photos for the contest.

Below is the post if you want to read it.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@betterthanhome/a-sunday-at-the-sunshine-coast-hinterland

After all these beautiful and colourful birds I have one not so noticeable today. At least as long as he is quiet. I´m talking about the Kookaburra also called the laughing Kookaburra or laughing Jackass. His german name is even funnier Lachender Hans. It´s a bird from the Kingfisher family that easy to detect on his beak.

P5210259.JPG


First it was only one but later there were three of them. All sitting on a small bench of a tree observing the grass below them. Every now and then one flew down to grab a worm and then to take his usual position again.

P5210267.JPG

P5210268.JPG


I´ve watched them for at least 30 min and they let me come really close without even thinking about flying away. Unfortunately the light wasn´t that good and one of the best shots was from behind.

If you haven´t seen that bird before you will be very surprised if you hear the sounds this little guy makes. It´s some kind of laughter that could also be misinterpreted as a screaming monkey...at least thats what I thought the first times I heard that bird.

P5210233.JPG


Some fun fact at the end:

I was once working on a small construction site here in australia digging up the soil. Every time I saw one of these big fat larvae I threw it over to a Kookaburra and he grabbed it smashed it on the concrete and swallowed it. So I was almost hand feeding one of these cool birds.


HIVE Photography.png

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @brumest