Making choices between fast food or home made food.

in Hive Learnerslast month

Cooking is my hubby not because I love cooking, but because I must just cook. I have no choice than to make cooking my hubby. This is Africa for you. You can't be a mother and say that you don't like cooking. Hahahaha 🤣. Cooking have to be part of you or you will be tagged a lazy woman and also a wester of resources.

IMG_20230202_094645_097.jpg
The image is mine.

Moving on to the topic of the day, we need to agree on either cooking or fast food. Fast food means buying outside the house or making orders as people may call it. Like I said when I started, if left alone I will not like the wahala that comes with cooking. But it gives joy though when you Cook your food and everyone in the house is enjoying it. But for me I don't too like eating the food that I made. People say that is not good but I can't help it. Most times when I cook and all the kids are enjoying it including my husband, I will just walk out of the house and look for any of my neighbors that I can collect their food and eat. My husband has complained and stopped when he noticed that I can't help myself. Maybe is because of the aroma of the food that I have taking in from the moment that I started cooking the food. I prefer other people's food to my own and that is why I would have chosen fast food. But the name - fast food implies that is not properly cooked. Don't mind the way I put it. I mean that by saying - fast food, we mean all these pasta and their kind. Unfortunately I don't see that as food. I prefer taking real African food. Well prepared food and also well garnished. That is the kind of food that when I eat them I get satisfied, not all these fast food that will not hold me up to two good hours.

My best food is panded yam and egusi soup. This type of food can not be prepared in a hurry. It means one needs to take time and much energy to prepare it very well. Whenever we make pasta in my house I will make sure to get something else that I will eat on top, because I will not be satisfied with pasta.

Even though I don't want to agree with cooking at home all the time, I still have my reservations concerning buying food outside the house. When you get to see the places where people prepare the food that is been sold outside to us you will not want to eat out again. But that will not stop one from not eating outside completely. Some of these people are very dirty. Sometimes they also use dirty water while preparing the food. All of these makes it very difficult for me to buy food outside the house all the time. I just try to eat out once in a while when I don't feel like cooking in the house or when my husband travels out of town. When the man is not a home we can just prepare any good for the children to eat and I will quickly go and eat something outside. But I can't do that when my husband is around. I must do my best to cook a very nice and delicious meals for me and the family.

In summary, both cooking at home and buying food from fast food sellers depends on what one wants. I may decide not to eat out and it won't stop some one else not to eat outside the house.we all have what we want.

This post was inspired by the hive learners community contest for week 114: edition 2.

Sort:  
 last month  

Haha. Cooking is not your hobbie, but you must do it because you husband enjoys it? That's fair. I have a friend who really hates cooking, she doesn't have the money to buy food outside. So, every time, she forces herself to the kitchen to do the needful. I agree with you both cooking at home and buying food from fast food sellers depends on what works for different people.