Align with the Universe.

in Hive Learners7 months ago

34989AE2-BB43-4652-93C7-33EAD4C267D9.png

IMG_6153.png

“When in Rome, behave as the Romans do!”

It's a quote from Saint Ambrose which refers to the importance of adapting yourself to the customs of the people who are in a certain place or situation and behave like they do. The most important thing in adaptation is to be observant and willing.


✍︎…c…e…s…c…a…j…o…v…e…✍︎


I'm starting this article with laughter because the prompt made me burst into one, remembering an incident that took place left me no choice but to laugh hysterically. Sometimes, I am left to wonder about the boredom these private car owners go through almost all the time driving their car to and fro... before you start listing the advantages...ikr...T for Thanks...but come to think of it?

Why not engage in some drama on a mode of public transport?🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️

Or why do you think most car owners play loud music with speakers drumming right into your ear?

Primarily, it's drama...and we have a lot of that in the public transport system, phew!

untitled.gif



IMG_6153.png

My
Memorable
Experience
With
Public
Transport

IMG_6153.png

During the holidays, I went back home to spend time with my family and friends that I had left for so long. Actually, at first, I didn't have such intentions but everything changed when they requested my presence at the meeting saying it was urgent. Unfortunately, it was a trick to bring me home.

After several weeks of a successful holiday, they pranked me into coming home. I did the same thing to them when I was about to go back laughing my ass out knowing fully well that we haven't resumed. Well, I wanted some me time because it's freaking cool and relaxing.

IMG_6185.jpeg

I boarded a bus from the bus stand after waiting under the scorching sun. At least most Nigerians know what it's like waiting for a bus. There were so many passengers waiting for the bus too and some had to use a motorcycle mode of transport to leave while some like us going to far distances couldn't use that.



IMG_6153.png

Few of us were already lamenting about the scarcity of buses and the scorching sun that was doing injustice to my entire body, making me feel so restless and upset. Any bus that comes around to pick up passengers filled up too quickly, the scene was crazy sincerely speaking.

The amount of pressure people were applying to themselves by pushing each other just because of the scarcity of buses made me wonder if I should go back to my parent's house and tell them that our resumption was postponed. At the moment, I was nearly blaming myself but I maintained my movement.

Another bus came to pick up passengers but the transport fare was twice the actual fare. I was fuming inside me but do I have an option? It was like the law of equilibrium regarding demand was superfluous and humans will always do the needful.
Before I entered the bus, I had to flounder with other passengers and during that moment, someone stole from me.

IMG_6183.jpeg



IMG_6153.png

I felt it but I had to struggle for a seat on the bus first, I rummaged for the money hoping it might just be the impact of the struggles. To my greatest surprise, the $5 in my side pocket was gone.

At that instant, it's either to maintain your emotions or express your situation by lamenting. I fought deeply when making this judgment, I had just withdrawn that cash, and it was supposed to be till when I got to my hostel or even the next day because I had summed up miscellaneous expenses on it too.

The universe has a pattern of doing things; when the fare collector “usually we call them conductor“initiates the collection of individual fares, an issue escalates from nowhere and that was how two passengers in the first row began exchanging words by that time he had gotten to my turn. He turned towards them and challenged them to fight. With all that drama that happened I didn't talk or even flinch.



IMG_6153.png
IMG_6186.jpeg

For several minutes, the atmosphere of that bus was chaotic. The conductor was even so mannerless and talked recklessly to the extent the infuriated passengers humiliated him lol. Like I said, I didn't flinch! At this moment, he was done collecting fares from everyone and the atmosphere was calm.

I was relieved a little because he did not ask me for mine and the journey became smooth with a calm atmosphere. When we got to Alakija, “a bustop around mile 2 expressway” someone alighted from the bus and another entered, he requested money from the new passenger and requested from me too.

My heart skipped but the little voice inside me said “action”. At this point, I gave the conductor a stern look but he persisted and that was when I asked him “you no dey look face” which translates to “you don't recognize me?” Before I said Jack, the passenger beside and behind me began embarrassing him, questioning him, left and right telling him how many times he would collect the fare from me.




The transport system in Lagos is something else compared to the Abuja transport system, it's entirely different. I took the lifestyle of the average Lagosian to Abuja and I was frowned upon by passersby.

I had to wave it off with a proud look hehe. The experience in Abuja made me behave like a citizen of Abuja thus the quote at the beginning of this article.


IMG_6153.png

Is it
something
you'll
love to
experience
again?

IMG_6153.png

IMG_6184.jpeg


Frankly, I would love that to not happen again. It wasn't his fault that the preplanned fare was stolen alongside the others. I felt bad not paying my amount although to me it just seemed like the universe orchestrated this for me because I couldn't think of coming down from the bus that time after so many struggles and withdrawing another cash and then thinking how to fight my way in for another bus again.

God knows when such means would be made available! Those thoughts roamed my mind but I had to find another recourse.
What amazed me was how passengers were fighting for me and to think of it, I would have been beaten up! If you were in this exact position what would you do despite knowing your money was stolen by a pickpocketer?


IMG_6153.png

This is a response to the #hivelearners word of the week episode two - #hl-exclusive & #hl-w87e2.

IMG_6153.png


Image from Pixabay
Image from Pixabay
Image from Pixabay
Image from Pixabay
Header Image Edited With Canva


939CBC34-6770-400D-975C-F8821232F65E.png


E2957B00-2D57-4930-BEC7-7D7DEE1B2240.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 181 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

The stolen money situation is something sad but your way to narrate all the story make all funny.... You act well în that situation i think that in your place i could do the same thing and i could not feel guilty for not paying the travel after that someone stole my money

 7 months ago  

Hehe...I just realized how funny it was that moment lol. Sometimes we don't recognize a memory until it crosses out mind again. Thanks for stopping by!🤗

Congratulations @cescajove! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 4000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Lol... see intensive drama. Lagos with craze. You can't be normal in that State because abnormality rule. Lol.

Hello dearest fashionable dreemer. Happy new working week to you. Monday is here again with so much to do as usual, but I hope you won't let the workload overwhelm you. Smile, laugh, and let positive energy radiate from you. I waltzed in from #dreemport, for I am an amazing #dreemer. An awesomely made #dreemerforlife.

I think I would struggle with all that noise and busyness 😱 I'm glad that you were looked after in the light of that horrible experience. what a hectic and long day you had 😔 !LUV !ALIVE

I dropped in from Dreemport this evening. Your post was allocated to me in my 5-a-day hehe.

#dreemerforlife

@cescajove! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

 6 months ago  

Firstly I would say you were very lucky because when it comes to fare collection those creatures called conductors are like vipers. I guess the lord understood the trouble you went through to secure a space in that bus, that is why such opportunity presented itself if not, you could have seen a lot😂😅

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife