Love in Unexpected Moments

in Hive Learners9 months ago

Image by Dmytro from Pixabay

Love has a mysterious way of creeping up on us when we least expect it. It can blossom in the most ordinary moments, turning them into extraordinary memories etched forever in our hearts. That's exactly what happened to me one unforgettable night—a night when I summoned every ounce of courage within me and took a leap, kissing her under a starlit sky. But before that magical night that changed my life, you should know the beginning, how it all started.

She was the new coworker at our office and I saw her every day with her arrogant boyfriend. Although I didn't know what fate had in store for us, we eventually started to interact more and more. Since he was often high on drugs and wandering around town by himself, it made it easier for us to get closer. She began to confide in me, sharing her troubles and looking for someone who she could talk to. To be fair though, she was fairly open with others in the company too, gradually we had created a strong sense of camaraderie between us all called it even inner circle of trust.

When he moved away, I found myself spending more and more time with her without really noticing it what is happening to me. Whenever she was ill, I made sure to look in on her and even assist her with some serious matters. We were honest with each other, so when she would ask whether I had any feelings for her, I couldn't answer. Though I was aware of the emotions brewing inside me, the pain of my past kept me from admitting it. But after giving it a lot of thought one night, I eventually realized how strong my emotions for this person really were. At first, I assumed that my attachment was only due to her problems and that perhaps my subconscious had taken over in trying to resolve them.

I confessed my love for her and that scared me. I attempted to put distance between us because she had a boyfriend. She was hurt by my behavior since she could see the emotions inside of me, even though I lied. This led to our first argument, which resulted in not talking for days. At work, we were both busy with other things and not really spending much time together. We ended up flirting with co-workers, and one day it all became too much for me. I stopped being prideful and apologized. From then on we interacted again but always kept our separate lives. In time our paths parted but we continued to communicate, when she needed help even financially I was there. My subconscious was telling me that maybe it was a curse that she was using me.

Every time she and her boyfriend broke up, I rode my bike for miles whenever she needed someone. One night when she was drunk, she and said she used me but she didn't want to. For a while, I decided to separate from her, no communication and no seeing each other. Sometimes it's not so easy to escape your fate, though. She was fired from her old job and tried getting help from everyone she knew, but unfortunately in such circumstances people abandon you. However, she still reached out to me and I got her another job. We started staying connected and it encouraged her to get back on track with everything, including ending things with her partner so she could start over. To celebrate her first day at work, I sent her flowers along with a heartfelt card that read 'To the strongest woman I know; this is your first step to a fresh beginning, prove them wrong just like I know you will.' It might sound trivial but these words reflected what we both felt - that she can do it! We began seeing each other like old friends again.

We decided to go clubbing one night, with mutual friends. We were all drunk and she felt liberated, dancing with everyone. Unfortunately, I saw a guy slip something into her drink. She quickly started to feel sick and I couldn't stand it any longer. In an act of protection, I hit the guy and picked her up in my arms, taking her away from the nightclub. She fell asleep on my feet while we waited for their car to arrive from far away. The perpetrator came outside with some other people but they quickly dispersed when I threatened him with death if he didn't leave my sight. Not caring about myself, I was only concerned for her safety and walked three kilometres carrying her to my apartment. With a roommate sleeping in the bedroom, I made a makeshift bed for her out of mattress from that room and lay awake all night watching over her on the floor. Although she offered herself to me many times that night, I refused and instead stroked her hair until morning. When the sun rose I told her what had happened as she could see the evidence on my hands. That is why I stayed rather than going on my planned bus journey to Bulgaria - no one would abuse or harm her when I was around.

Her wounds were still raw, the pain inflicted by her ex. That was the opening act. Fate had conspired to move me nearby; not only that, but I had already incurred the hotel manager's wrath and had to move locations. On one fateful evening, a mutual friend of ours happened to be celebrating their birthday so we all went out for drinks. Before we said goodbye I told her I had a surprise gift: a silver anchor necklace - something meaningful in light of her family's naval background. She was rendered completely speechless. As I left, something deep inside urged me to take decisive action - so there and then, I pulled her close and kissed her. It felt as if time stood still, no sound from nature could be heard - it was only us in this magical moment which marked the start of an incredible journey together.


Let our children not grow up in a terrible world. Together we can make it better. It is our destiny to
suffer from the past, to long for the future, but to forget the present.
Any unsourced images and writing are my own. Life is worth it!
Thank you for support and follow me @darthsauron

Sort:  
 9 months ago  

You are in love with the lady already, I can relate to your story, when a lady keeps telling you her sad stories, you grow a soft spot for her and before you know it, the feelings get deeper and it becomes hard for you to let them go.

hope you guys are still together?

 8 months ago  

It's a bit complicated 😃

Congratulations @darthsauron! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2023