Magical Pill

in Hive Learners11 months ago

Image by Steve Buissinne from Pixabay

It is estimated that in the Netherlands, paracetamol is used by one in two people with heart conditions, allergies and any kind of disease. This high reliance on paracetamol may be due to several factors. First, the Dutch healthcare system does not have a centralized database of all medication use, making it difficult for doctors to know what other medications their patients are taking. Second, there is a lack of awareness among doctors about the potentially dangerous side effects of paracetamol. Many Dutch patients self-medicate with over-the-counter (OTC) medications, including paracetamol, without consulting a doctor first.

The use of paracetamol is not without risks. In some cases, paracetamol can actually make these conditions worse. For example, paracetamol can increase the risk of gastrointestinal bleeding in people with heart conditions. People with allergies may experience more severe reactions if they take paracetamol before or after being exposed to an allergen. If you have a heart condition or allergy and are considering taking paracetamol, it is important to talk to your doctor first. They will be able to tell you whether or not paracetamol is safe for you to take and will help you weigh the risks and benefits. Overall, the use of paracetamol in the Netherlands is high.

I’ve dealt with allergies my whole life. As a kid, I was allergic to everything from pollen to pet dander. I remember days spent sneezing and rubbing my itchy eyes, feeling miserable. My allergies would always flare up in the spring and summer, when pollen counts are high. But I could usually take medication and get by.

Months ago, I started working in a dusty warehouse. It was never too bad at first, but over time the dust started to bother me more and more. I started sneezing more often, and my eyes became irritated and red. Sometimes the itchiness was so bad that I couldn’t concentrate on my work. A co-worker told me that he thought I might have developed allergies to dust mites.

A few days ago, I had something like a heart attack or panic attack. Stress from my family in Bulgaria, an intense workload and taking on other people's problems had had a major impact on my health. As I was riding home with a colleague, sneezing from the dust of another day at work, suddenly my heart raced, my hands went numb and everything got dark. I must have fainted because when I came to, I was lying on the ground and my coworker was looking down at me; we had fallen off the bike. We rushed to the hospital for foreigners but they refused to let me in because I hadn't called ahead for an appointment. But we managed. Even though no tests were done - no blood pressure nor listening to my chest - the doctor said everything was alright and prescribed me the magical Netherland pill - paracetamol - and bed rest for two or three days. The attack returned but fortunately I had antibiotics and medication from Bulgaria that helped me recover quickly.


Let our children not grow up in a terrible world. Together we can make it better. It is our destiny to
suffer from the past, to long for the future, but to forget the present.
Any unsourced images and writing are my own. Life is worth it!
Thank you for support and follow me @darthsauron

Sort:  

Congratulations @darthsauron! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day