The Curious Case of a Remarkable Child: A Story of Intelligence and Growth

in Hive Learners16 days ago

The level of his curiosity right from his tender age till date baffles me. The word "why" is constantly found in his mouth. A child so sensitive to his environment and many things that concern him, and he wants to know why this and why that. His constant questions from his inquisitive mind can be so irritating sometimes, but I don't let him stop asking his unending questions; otherwise, I may limit him. He is a good observer and sometimes questions my actions, which makes me feel guilty upon reflection.

AKF8CAVjh5GnFopyExywpa2uDAXMuLvYYS8ZRuj233miUGu9tXYwcMUsWTa42PC.jpg


One of my neighbors said that this my second child behaves as if he had existed in this world before. The woman always wonders about his level of thinking and the kind of questions he asks me as his parent. Most times, it's just too much for his age. Whenever you ask him to do anything, he will want to take his time and do it with perfection,his academics included. A child who watches cartons with his pocket dictionary. Can you imagine such a thing? I think I am blessed to have him as my child. I don't know what the future holds for him, but I am positive about everything. How he began to use his pocket dictionary to watch cartoons was because, for every vocabulary he hears and does not understand the meaning, he will run to Mummy to ask for the meaning. Sometimes, I don't even know the meaning of the words he is asking for except I will browse them.

I wondered why he wants to know the meaning of every word he comes across at his age, and sometimes I will dismiss him with the reason that I am busy. Come back later. This made him request his pocket dictionary from his teacher, who always keeps it on their class shelves. Since then, he no longer asks me for the meaning of most words but watches his cartoon and checks the meaning of some vocabularies himself. He has showcased a remarkable curiosity in so many ways, suggesting ideas for some little things in my home that leave me in awe, and that's nice of an intelligent child like him. When I was a child, I knew that I was a curious child, but not to this level with my second son. This particular attribute has helped him advance his knowledge a lot at his younger age; currently, he is a six-year-old child.

AKVVsg3uK6pKWEVuYhLyXLJwxi7gazvWGWc5qRTHTas4uPW4gYcKTnjnjXre6JG.jpg


The moment I was so impressed by his intelligence was when he competed with his mates in the math Olympics. This oral and written competition was done in five stages, but the school still couldn't determine the winner as two other kids plus my child showed same level of intelligence in that exercise. The school tried puzzles; they all got it right; they exhausted all the questions at their age and then decided to take grade 4 questions for children in grade 1. This move was just to determine the winner since it has proved difficult. The question given to them this time was a problem-solving activity that requires critical thinking.
243zpK5jivCjJ6WrYb9eNUkw4LZbUaCeuR4Yv6Y9bnfLcf73RWuUWXZVadLUUWUbLZCrF.jpg

To my greatest chagrin, my son got it right ; I wasn't there, but I was called by the school. I visited the school the next day and requested that I see this question. Sincerely, I think and think and didn't even know the answer. Then I asked my son, How did you know the right answer to this word problem? and he said, Mummy, I just think; you just have to think about each word in the question. I was left quite emotional and happy at the same time and concluded to become more intentional with his academic pursuit, getting involved, and keeping offering assistance where needed. He has been recognized by his school many times for his outstanding performance, and those are the original pictures you saw above.


Children have different levels of intelligence with the potential to be outstanding adults. What we can do as their guardians is to help them explore, discover their skills, and keep learning and growing.

This post is in response to the #HiveLearners Community Contest on the topic titled Sheer Intelligence.

Thanks for reading through♥️♥️♥️

All images are mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

Your story with your son is inspiring. Curiosity is something we should encourage in our children, after all, it's the first step to cultivating interest in important aspects, and one day he will reap great rewards!

 16 days ago  

That's a great feedback from you @michupa . When a child indicates interest over a thing, he becomes so curious to know it all, I think such child should be encouraged. Really a positive attribute in many ways
Thanks for visiting
Much appreciated 👍

I have observed that a lot of second born are most time highly curious and do not know if that is a thing shall.

I trust you to be there in helping him develop that sharp brain of his, a curious child is a thing of joy to have as a parent.

I wish him the very best, sending loads of love to him❤❤❤❤😍 !LUV

nkemakonam89, funshee sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 16 days ago  

Some adults just conclude that second borns are stubborn because of their high intelligence and curiosity level, I believe it's because parents are less strict with their second born compared to the first.

You are blessed @nkemakonam89 to have a gifted child like him, and I'm sure he is in great hands because Mama is a great nurturer. Send my hugs 🤗 to him for making us proud.

 16 days ago  

Hahaha, glorydee is here with her own view about second child and curiosity, hahaha
I have wondered why the are stubborn too but maybe due to their curiosity really, lol
Great nurturer indeed, be whining me oo 😂. Thanks for coming around dear 🤗

My three years old neighbor's daughter will never let me rest, she will ask me every question no matter how little, her level of curiosity is out of this world and I love her so much for it.

I think first born can be sometimes very quite, because they are first and first time parents are still in the beginning of their learning process when they arrive, and sometimes it can be very hard on them.

 16 days ago  

I have also observed this curiosity in second child as well as stubbornness too, hahaha 😂, maybe they are stubborn because of their curiosity? I don't know how this two relates anyways, haha
But I will do well to keep helping him as he continues to develop
Thanks for visiting dear 🧡

Or maybe people choose to take their curiosity for stubbornness !lol because it gets on their nerves. Hehe

Where should you go in the room if you’re feeling cold?
The corner—they’re usually 90 degrees.

Credit: reddit
@nkemakonam89, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of funshee

(1/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

 16 days ago  

Tje other time I observed the way he was rehearsing his presentation I was like woow! The moral sef is something else. Second kids are mostly smart because they don't have to start afresh onlike the first ones. My baby girl will question everything and are times I feel as if she was sent and talking early sef is another thing for her.

I do wish him all the best, please don't be too busy for him. I felt bad one of the days my son came to show his home work to me, infact he told his father specifically that he was coming to show me. When he met me at the kitchen, I told him I was busy, later I felt bad and that can lower their moral too

I enjoyed reading from you babe's. Please don't finish the cake I saw there

 16 days ago  

The other time I observed the way he was rehearsing his presentation I was like woow

Oh, the presentation I uploaded on my WhatsApp status, 😃

I read to the point you said that your second daughter questions everything as if she was sent, and I couldn't stop laughing out loud.. !LOLZ
Yea, it's good that we create time to help them nurture this seed early enough
Thanks for visiting dear and close ur eyes to that cake, haha

I'm on a whiskey diet.
I've lost three days already.

Credit: gillianpearce
@hivedeb, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of nkemakonam89

(1/4)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

 16 days ago  

I really get amazed by children of nowadays... Seems it's the generation that'll finally get to compete with the States.... I know the future will shine upon him
Goodluck to him

 15 days ago  

Hahaha, most children of today are quite amazing and I hope the future will shine upon them, indeed
Good morning so NWA

 15 days ago  

Surely, it'll do
Good morning ma

 16 days ago  

Well-done mama for influencing him positively.
The level of curiosity in the current generation isn't a joke.
And it's a good thing I must say.
I Wish him the best in life❤️

 15 days ago  

I wasn't the one that influenced him oo 😂
I think it's just a natural endowment from God
Yea.. curiosity is good 😊

 15 days ago  

You did o Mama 🤣

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 32500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 33000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024
 15 days ago  

Your second child seems genius and it's good and his maturity is much more than his age. It's good but it's not good also. Because of his early maturity, he may understand his responsibility early and it's quite expected but it may take his joy of being childless early also. But I think it won't be a problem because you will find a way to restrict him from taking too much pressure to handle and I believe you can do it.

 15 days ago  

Smiles 😊
Of course I will be there to guide him God's willing. Hopefully, this will only be for good

 15 days ago  

Your child is actually special. I believe that if you give him more attention he will do even more better. Send my regards to him and ask him to do more because I love mathematics.
Thanks for sharing

 14 days ago  

Yes..I will try to give him more attention
Thanks for this Ada

 15 days ago (edited) 

Inspiring story. Every child is special to his parents. Middle children are mostly think stubborn but it's just a thinking. Not POV. Your story with your child is just ausome.
#dreemstreem

 15 days ago  

Middle children may be regarded as always being stubborn but many people assume that it's curiosity rather. Thanks for reading through

You should use the tag #dreemerforlife instead of dreemstreem. I hope you got it? 🤗

 15 days ago  

Yes I got it

I love the way you express two important parental skills. The first is that each child will be different, learning at different rates, and that it is what makes all of us unique. The second is encouraging them, help them fill in the gaps, and recognize the difference between obstacles and difficulties as they grow.

 14 days ago  

You read right 😃
And that's what is expected of us to know and do as their guardian

You're really blessed with an amazing son. May he continue to excel in life.

#dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Amen 🙏🙏🙏

Wow! Reading about your son, I couldn't help but smile...Who wouldn't be happy to have such an intelligent child, he will definitely grow up be a great man of the country with such intelligency.

I applaud you as a mother for helping him to develop because without you help, it will be difficult for him

 14 days ago  

I am equally happy seeing him exhibit such level of intelligency at this age...I hope to see him climb more ladders 🤗

That is some proud mother moment there and I can totally relate ❤️😘🌹

#dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Smiles 😊
Thanks dear

You are welcome ❤️

This kind of child surely makes parents dote on him so much, is so loveable😍

And that matter of curiosity, i think it's found in most children as part of growth.

#dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

Well, I'm not surprised. An elephant can never give birth to a ant even if they both end with "Ant". Children like this deserve all the support they can get especially from their parents in order to excel beyond extraordinary. Curiosity is always the beginning of acquisition of knowledge and for a child to possess this level of curiosity at that young age you should know he is definitely going to be an exceptional kid.

Though I would advise you push more difficult academic related task his way so that he could feed his never ending curiosity which would improve his intellectual capacity significantly. Which means the more he makes use of his intelligence the better he gets at it.

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife

 14 days ago  

What a smart little boy, and he's so cute 🥹❤️. You're indeed blessed to be his mom.

Kids these days are always curious and wants to know everything, which is a good thing. I love how they're always willing to learn.

#dreemport