Home-cooked meals Vs fast food

in Hive Learners28 days ago

As much as fast food cannot take the place of nutritious home-cooked meals for me, there are some situations where I embrace it and it just saves the day.

The main reason we eat food is to get adequate nutrients, which our body system needs to function efficiently and effectively. But then, most of the fast food prepared so quickly in restaurants today lacks some vital, healthy nutrients that our body needs for development. Our well-being should always be one of our top priorities, so trying to eat more home-made meals is safer, even though it's stressful to prepare.

If you want total control over what goes into your mouth, then making your own food is the answer. If you are the type that considers hygiene, like me, such as pondering the kind of water used in preparing fast food or how neat the chef is over the ingredients used, then you may prefer to always make your own food, but of course, certain situations make it quite difficult. I am flexible when it comes to my food decisions. Truth be told, I can't remember the last time I visited fast food. First, it's more costly, and second, most chefs nowadays add a lot of sugar to their meals just to improve the taste. However, you and I know how unhealthy this act is and the need to stay alert and be deliberate with what we consume.


Having said that, if I had a jam-packed work schedule, I would get fast food ASAP. I wouldn't want to feel so overwhelmed doing lots of tasks at the same time just to maintain my policy of eating rightly and healthy. In this case, I will lay this policy aside before I begin to experience burnout. As far as consuming fast food wouldn't be a regular practice, then it's not bad.

Also, it's nice to experience food adventures sometimes. Trying something different aside from your kitchen wouldn't hurt. Of course, I don't know how to prepare all kinds of food and snacks I crave, and patronizing fast food when it's difficult to cook at home is okay, provided it doesn't become a routine.

Cooking for family satisfaction and well-being is a priority. There's this healthy lifestyle I always crave to maintain, and food is a major factor. One thing that makes me rely more on home-cooked meals is the quest for a healthier diet. I wouldn't have to worry about saturated fat, which is commonly found in some restaurant meals.

Rounding up

I understand that preparing our meals at home may seem stressful sometimes, especially for some of our Nigerian food that looks exhausting and takes precious hours to prepare. However, we just have to embrace our healthy lifestyle,learn to cook if you don't know how to, and stock raw food from local markets so it becomes available whenever needed. For my large family, cooking in large quantities and having the food preserved in the freezer saves me stress and money.

I don't rule out consuming fast food completely, but rather put some limitations on it. Food is very important in human lives, and not just any food, but healthy food with good nutritional values.

This post is in response to the #HiveLearners community contest on the topic of cooking or fast food.

All images are mine

Thanks for reading through❤️🧡♥️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024
 28 days ago  

Thanks buzzy

Thank you for your dedication and for being a part of the Leo community @nkemakonam89. Keep up the growing your LEO stake! 🦁

I have always loved cooking. i dont know why i dont get tired cooking.

Fast food helps in some situations as you have right pointed out but in every way, home made food would always be better .

 28 days ago  

I like men that do cook
Because when needed, they can always assist at home
Fast food can be a live saver sometimes but home meals remains the best

 28 days ago  

If you want to like a healthy lifestyle then you need to take homemade food. It's safe, nutritious and cost-effective although sometimes it's strellful and takes time to prepare. Again sometimes eating fast food is not bad either because the different tastes can give us satisfaction also but we must be sure not to make it a habit.

 28 days ago  

That's right Intishar
Homemade food gives a great satisfaction and more healthier. It should be number one except when we can't help it

 28 days ago  

Yeah, you are absolutely right. When we don't make it an habit, then it is not bad. So many people build their lives on fast foods and this leaves me wondering if they know the effect these foods have on health in a long run. Some just consume whatever because the money is available and they count it to be living in luxury. Making cooking a priority is important for everyone as far as health is consider.

 28 days ago  

If one has money, another option is to hire a cook and monitor what goes into ur mouth instead of consuming fast food daily

 27 days ago  

Right... That's another safer option too.

 28 days ago  

I could say that 90% of my food is homemade. Though, there are times when we get stressed out, we could sort out our meals through fast food places but one has to be sure that it is save.
Like I said elsewhere, I can't see myself eating a three-month-old chicken. That's what you get in those restaurants.

 28 days ago  

Haha, threw month old chicken oo
Most times it's almost tasteless sef. We should just be intentional with our meals

 28 days ago  

Yeah.... Most of the chicken sold at restaurants are between three and four months. You can just imagine how unhealthy that could be.

 28 days ago  

I can imagine that bro

 28 days ago  

Nowadays we see a lot of processed food in this world. But if we have to make a habit of eating food prepared at home. Then of course our body and mind will be good and it will not cost you much. You will be fine now if you feel bad after eating outside food you will go to the doctor. This will cost you more money.

 28 days ago  

The best is to always embrace homemade food and succumb to fast food when we find ourselves in a situation where we can't help it

 28 days ago  

I love cooking too, because you have full control of it and can use raw and fresh ingredients throughout

 28 days ago  

That's another advantage
Thanks sis 🥰

Most of this restaurant foods has lost it value and some are been preserved for a while which is not really good for consumption. Honestly restaurant food can not be measured to home made food

 28 days ago  

It cannot be measured but sometimes, it just save the day. However shouldn't be a regular craving

It's true that fast food saves time and it can't be compared to the nutritional value of home cooked meal. Not making fast food habit is a good idea.

 28 days ago  

Yesoo...it shouldn't be a habit
Just once in a while something

 28 days ago  

Home made goo are the best mama doing what she is good at.no matter how busy i may be i try my best to prepare my food myself.

 28 days ago  

It's always nice to create time to prepare our own food so we can be sure of what we consume

 28 days ago  

Well said ma

 28 days ago  

Since I've seen my sugar level and cholesterol levels, I've decided to mostly do most of my cooking especially when I have the strength to cook, 98% home cooking at least to an extent

 28 days ago  

I have read some of your food blogs lately and can attest to this. It's good that you are so intentional about your health and nutrition... cooking is stressful but worth the stress

 28 days ago  

Food is so important for human survival. While some prefer homemade meals, others want something fast, "fastfood," 😂. Having preference for the food that you cook by yourself is awesome. You will be in control of what you eat. There is one aspect that you mentioned that strikes my mind; exploring other food not within one's cooking menu. If I see isiewu or nkwobi now, I forget my home-cooking principle. 😂 😂 😆

 28 days ago  

Haha 😆😆😂😂😂
Haha 😂😂

If I see isiewu or nkwobi now, I forget my home-cooking principle. 😂 😂 😆

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
I will tell funshee for you
Hahaha..who doesn't like good thing
I am not too strict with food policy oo 😂

 22 days ago  

😂 😂 😂 😂 😂.

Rightly said, we all needs to be on alert of the things we eat, although preparing our owne meals put us into the activities and it required our times, it's still the best thing to do, because, a person needs to be careful and not eating all goes.

 28 days ago  

That's totally right sis 🥰
I appreciate your nice feedback

The best way to live healthy is by processing your food by yourself, at least 90 percent of what we take in should be made by us, e get why... After all, to me, Home made food satisfy me more than fast food...me that can eat a lot 🫣

 28 days ago  

Haha, another foodie in town, hahaha
That's right...e get why oo no matter the stress....let's keep Making our meals often

Home made meal is the best, but sometimes fast food saves you from lot's of stress. It's true one need to be careful of what we take into our body because of our health, but sometimes we try to give ourselves a treat 🙃. But the key is eating more healthier

 27 days ago  

The key is eating more healthier dear no matter the situation we face, we should bear that in mind and by doing so, it helps us to have limit to fast food

I think a lot of us will choose homemade meals many times over takeout, and like you rightly said it is best to be flexible as well when time and situations does not permit us to cook our own meals.

 27 days ago  

Exactly....being flexible is nice so we don't put ourselves into unnecessary pressure 🥰

 28 days ago  

As far as consuming fast food wouldn't be a regular practice, then it's not bad.

I agree with you. There are days one would feel so overwhelmed and stressed and the only option would be to go for fast food, else one might go hungry. So, it is not bad but once it becomes a daily routine, then, that's wrong and not advisable because of financial risk.

 27 days ago  

Team 2 representative 🤣
Human bot, hahaha 😂..I see you everywhere, but chill, the crown 👑 belongs to team 1, hahaha 😂

Oh dear, homemade food is the goal but not when we feel so stressed out and overwhelmed, in this case, we can relive ourselves of stress and buy something outside till we can cook
Good morning princess ♥️🧡🥰

 27 days ago (edited) 

Human bot, hahaha 😂..I see you everywhere, but chill, the crown 👑 belongs to team 1, hahaha 😂

😆😆😆😆 just ignore and avoid me oo

 27 days ago  

We sincerely can't deny the fact that fast food are life savers Regardless.
But home food still remains the best kind of meals anyone will ever want.
As they say, there's no place like home.
The food was also involved in that phrase that lots of people usually say...hehehehe😂.
Although I love cooking my meals most times, but sometimes,I can't just hold for that long to cook.

Mama the mama 🙌.. How far that fried rice now, I indicated interest o dey like you didn't hear 🙄.

Thank God for #dreemport, I have catch you 😃

I also love home made meals, but when there's a reason to do fast food, I also go for it.
#dreemerforlife