9 Is Kind of Disgusting

in Hive Learners22 days ago

Adulthood is inevitable and at a certain point of time, those that are under eighteen feel like they are ready to be an adult. They don't like their parents bossing/nagging them around and they want to be in control of their own life. I'm saying this based on my own experience as I was growing up and from what I've seen from others after growing up.

For me, I believe it was around nine or ten years old when I wished I could be an adult but it wasn't until 14-16 years old when I really wanted it. I really wanted it because I had to sleep early and had a time limit on the internet and video games. At the time, I felt like it sucked but I had to follow the rules. Now that I look back at it, I did waste a lot of time on those things when I could've done other things like focusing my YouTube where one of my videos got a few thousand views. Who knows I might have been a popular YouTuber! Anyways, I will share my thoughts on what I feel the right age to be an adult is.


image.png One of the great things about being an adult is earning money and spending on delicious food 😋


image.png


In Malaysia and even America, where I grew up in the past, the age of majority is eighteen years old. This is the age where a person is treated as an adult and has to take responsibility for their own actions and decisions. I believe eighteen is a reasonable age to be considered an adult.

From what I saw online from world population review the age of majority ranges from 9 to 21. The mode is at 18 since most countries has made this age the standard. What shocked me was the 9 years old though. This country was Iran and it's the biggest outlier out of all the countries since the next highest age is 15. I actually never knew this before and I found it super disturbing that a 9 year old girl would be considered an adult there and it would be 15 for boys. If I'm not mistaken, it's set at 9 so they can get married at that age which is super disgusting.

If I had to choose the right age to be an adult, I don't think I would be able to pick one. In terms of the right age, I don't think there is a perfect age to be an adult. Everyone has their own pace of maturity. There are some kids out there under 18 working and providing for their family. Although they aren't considered an adult by law, I feel what they are doing already is what an adult should do. Then of course, there's the other side of the spectrum. There are people that are born with a disorder like intellectual disability. Depending on the severity, these people won't be able to live independently and I don't think they should be labeled as an adult if they can't take care of themselves or have the responsibility.

Since I can't choose one, I would just go with the majority of what other countries have chosen. I can't say this is right or wrong but I feel it's the magic number. I think the age is just nice as well since most minors will graduate high school at 18 years old and after this is where they can decide where they want to go. If they want to leave the nest and adventure off to the world.

What do you think of all this? Were you aware that Iran considered 9 year old girls adults? Do share down your thoughts below!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I can feel the pain of being an adult from that plain egg and rice. I don't know why but I feel it

 21 days ago  

lol the pain of being poor?

 21 days ago (edited) 

That egg with rice … simple but yummy hahhaa i love that! Well nice outlook didnt know that majority can be achieved with 9 😹

 21 days ago  

there's roasted pork there as well! DUDE yes i know right at 9. isn't that disturbing. imagine your daughter at 9 being able to be married off with permission. then i think its 13 without but still considered adult at 9 crazy

Congratulations @shawnnft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Congratulations @shawnnft! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024