My Veggie Garden Is Ready

This time of year marks the beginning of garden preparations for anyone interested in growing their own vegetables, including myself. Over the past three days, I've been busy preparing my garden. This year, I've decided to experiment with some different techniques to make garden maintenance easier and less time-consuming.


Anyone who has experience with gardening knows that maximizing production requires a lot of work. Weeds constantly sprout in the soil, competing with your veggies for nutrients. The better the weeding, the better the yield. So, I've decided to use soil covering on half of my garden to test its effectiveness. I'm aware that this may cause some damage to the soil, as it won't breathe properly and may not receive sufficient water. However, if it reduces the need for weekly weeding over the next 6-7 months, it's worth the temporary damage, especially since I plan to remove the covering in winter.

If the results are positive, I'll expand the use of covering to the entire garden and consider implementing automated watering to further enhance plant growth and save myself some effort.


The reason I'm committed to growing my own garden is the unparalleled taste of pesticide-free, fertilizer-free vegetables. While the yield may be smaller and the vegetables themselves may not be as large, the flavor is incomparable. For instance, a tomato grown without fertilizers may be smaller but much juicier and flavorful compared to its fertilized counterpart.

It's worth noting that recent studies have shown that 20% of vegetable production contains dangerous levels of pesticides, posing significant risks to consumers' health. With a bit of effort, I'm able to produce something that's not only great for my health but also incredibly flavorful.


Currently, I'm growing tomatoes, cherry black tomatoes, peppers, zucchinis, eggplants, and cucumbers. I'm also planning to try my hand at growing strawberries, despite the challenges posed by their susceptibility to pesticides and fertilizers.

Guys if you have the space just grow your own vegetables !!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I´m really happy to see more and more people growing their own fruits and veggies. Just like you said, the supermarket fruits and veggies cannot compare to that. Good luck with your gardening efforts! :)

@tipu curate 3

This is the same way that they use for the strawberry plants here in the Cape. Just on a much bigger scale. So, you are on the right track.

!BEER

Glad to hear. Thanks!

Next time that we visit the strawberry farm, I will take a picture of land to show you how they cover the rows with black plastic. I have posted it before, but maybe it was last year.

!BEER


Hey @steemychicken1, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

It's good to see you growing veggies at home. It must be a fun activity I believe. Have a nice weekend @steemychicken1

Yes it really fun and really rewarding when you start eating after growing this plants.

 12 days ago (edited) 

I myself go into the garden as well as the local ones in the market and I take a lot of care of what we have because I love doing it so much and it feels so good to work on it. There is a lot of water, it has to be watered on time and many things have to be taken care of.
`___

Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!
`

Yes plants need a lot of caring ! but the rewards are awesome

Working on nature ,for always a refreshing task.

 12 days ago  

Since there are enough openings for your own vegetables I feel they should do fine even if you're covering other parts of the soil. It's an interesting experiment, and I hope it pays off. Having to weed is not an easy thing.

Yes because it need constant caring and weeding out! Thanks i believe it will pay off

 11 days ago  

It's so beautiful to see more people embrace growing their veggies and general gardening. I'm enjoying it too. Not like I own a garden or something but I like to tend to my parent's and it always feels good to get my hands dirty. I shy away from weeding though, it's tiring😅

And with the openings you have there, the plants should receive just enough amount of light, air and all. This method of yours should work. Well done.

Can't wait to see your proceeds from here. Goodluck with your efforts.


Hey @steemychicken1, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .


Hey @steemychicken1, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.