My Grandmother's Recipe For Making A Bean Cake (A Traditional Memory

in Hive Learnerslast year

InShot_20230604_111456791.jpg

InShot_20230604_095833187.jpg

Greetings friends of hive learners community. Wishing you all a happy Sunday in this beautiful new month of June. And hope we are all enjoying good health and wellness. The weather has been a bit not stable. It brings sunshine ☀ in the morning and starts raining ☔. before sunset. I know we all can't wait for summer 🌴☀✨

InShot_20230604_095753247.jpg

IMG_20230604_001907.jpg

Today friend's I bring to you all a healthy recipe of bean cake, one I made from memories of my grandmother's way of making a bean cake. This recipe is one you will love especially if you are traditionally inclined. Sometimes we choose to cook or make meals we use to enjoy while growing up because they have something special which keeps reminding us of how they tasted. So I made this bean cake recipe to share with you all because I know each and every one of us has foods we like traditionally.

IMG_20230603_212502.jpg

IMG_20230602_084144.jpg

IMG_20230604_001018.jpg

Technology has actually made everything so easy for us in every aspect of life but here guys instead of blending this beans I used for making this bean cake in a blender, I went on to use traditional mortar and pestle to pound it into batter for making this bean cake which taste so different from that of the one made with blending in the blender.

Let's Make this Bean Cake traditionally guys.

I
lNGREDIENTS :

InShot_20230604_111344610.jpg

250 g of Brown Beans
1 soy cube
1 teaspoon of curry powder
Half onion for toppings
Red peppers
Salt to taste
Oil to fry

Steps To Preparation :

InShot_20230604_104957983.jpg

  • We start the preparation of this Bean Cake by first soaking the beans in a bolw of water after removing the daity ones for about 10 - 15 minutes.

InShot_20230604_105809496.jpg

IMG_20230603_191152.jpg

  • Then we go ahead to start washing the beans by removing the brown skin. This will take a while. We just keep squeezing the beans together with force, pouring planty of water, then sieve out the removed skin as they keep floating. Continue this process until the beans comes out clean and white.

InShot_20230604_111126901.jpg

  • We will then soak the beans again for about 30 - 40 minutes before we put it into the mortar, adding the red peppers, and start pounding it with the pestle until it become mashed and in a batter form.

InShot_20230604_101957516.jpg

InShot_20230604_103221069.jpg

  • We scope the mashed beans into a bolw, adding little water into it. We add also salt, the soy cube and the curry powder to spice it up. Then we mix all together by stirring for a while.

InShot_20230604_104306836.jpg

InShot_20230604_101234482.jpg

  • We Set our frying pan on the stove add the oil to heat up and start gradually scoping the mashed beans batter in small ball size into the oil to fry.

InShot_20230604_101510782.jpg

  • We flip the bean ball from time to time watching as they turn into golden brown to finally make the bean cake everyone loves. And here also I added some Onion toppings in some balls for aroma.

InShot_20230604_095624771.jpg

InShot_20230604_130506820.jpg

  • And here finally guys I was able to achieve this my grandmother recipe of making a bean cake.. Good memories last for ever friends. Hope you have one to keep as we continue thriving.

InShot_20230604_113451094.jpg

InShot_20230604_095753247.jpg

Thank you all for reading this publish to the end. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and blissful new week with love ❤

All images are my original content. This content published in #hive-learners, #creative-sunday. Photos were taken and edited with my Huawei Y 9. Grided with Inshot.

untitled.gif
credit - Tenor
@kaysunshine29

Sort:  
 last year  

This bean cake looks beautiful, I never knew one can actually pound beans for bean cake thou it looks stressful, I have not been able to get this bean cake nicely, it's either it's too soft or its inside is not done properly.

Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

Thanks @ginika for stopping by. You can actually make it nicely if you try. You don't need to put so much water in the beans while blending it so you get the right consistency. And fry for at least up to 3 minutes before flipping it to fry the other side of the bean cake. It taste so good. Enjoy your week @ginika.

 last year  

Alright. Thank for sharing.

Congratulations @sunshine29! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List
 last year  

Thank you for sharing your grandmother's recipe, it is beautiful to preserve grandmother's flavors and teach them to our children so that they will last in time.
Happy afternoon to you

 last year  

Thank you too @brume7 for stopping by and reading my publish. Memories are good to preserve especially the good ones. This recipe is a bit of a stressful process but taste so nicely. Enjoy your week @brume7.

 last year  

I haven't heard of beans being grinded with mortal like this and I guess the taste would be different. I might try something like this to see how it tastes too. Though I use the local grinding stone for mine as I don't have a blender. I love bean cake so much and enjoy making it myself at home.

Thanks for sharing 👍

 last year  

Thank you too @princessbusayo. Making bean cake using Mortar pestle method is the same with the grinding stone method because its traditional and will taste the same. You can try making bean cake with the mortar method and see how it taste. Thank you @princessbusayo for stopping by. Blessings

I love recipes that are made with the memories of family. Beans are a great staple in my place. They can be stored so long and now I've learned a new delicious way to cook them.

They look so crunchy and full of flavor. Thank you for the inspiration and recipe.😊

 last year  

Aww @carolynstahl . Thank you for coming around with your beautiful comments. I love memories a lot especially that of staples and recipes. You can make this bean cake in small quantity and try it out. I know you will love it. They come out so crunchy with good flavor. I appreciate you stopping by. Lots of love ❤. Enjoy your week.

 last year  

Wow this is really a masterpiece and is really educative. I always thought that it's only a blender or an engine that can mash beans but you've made me rethink with this your lovely post . Thanks a lot boss

 last year  

Thank you for stopping by @nwothini335 . This is really a traditional Memory from growing up. I like trying things like this evening though technology and civilization has taken over. I appreciate your time reading this post and commenting. Blessings ❤

 last year  

Wow great job! Nice that you learned this from your grandma and hopefully will pass the tradition on. It does look healthy and delicious as well! Maybe one day I'll have to try to make it when I go about learning how to cook :')

 last year  

Thank you for coming around @shawnnft. Traditional concepts is good when they relate to things that are impacting and educating. I hope you try this one day to see how crunchy this bean cake taste @shawnnft. And you better learn how to cook now hahaha 😃. It will help you in the future. Blessings and enjoy your day ❤

 last year  

Haha yes I will in the future . At the moment not in the position to force myself since there's someone already cooking :'). I will eventually because I love food so gotta cook all my favorite stuff. Thank you so much and good luck to your day and future as well :D

 last year  

❤❤

 last year  

Oh my goodness 🤭, like seriously, you pounded this beans with mortar and pestle until it becomes smooth like this? This is a tedious work oo 😂

You just reminded me of my growing up with Grandma
Sincerely I don't think I can pound beans until it becomes smooth 🤦, it's a whole lot of work

Well done sis.and the bean cake came out nice

 last year  

Right @nkemakonam89 😃? The thing is that it is not really a hard work as many thinks. Once you wash your beans and soak it for some time it automatically soften's up. And in fact, I like achieving tasks once I set it out. Thanks for stopping by @nkemakonam89 . This bean cake was made with memories. Enjoy your weekend.

 last year  

Smiles 😊
Thanks my dear
Happy Sunday