Time to Move, but How Much Stuff is Too Much Stuff

in We Are Alive Tribe27 days ago

IMG_20240522_143900.jpg

Just got some empty boxes, because it's about that time again. Time to move to a different place to live. This will be the 3rd time. So not much experience on that front. Definitely no experience when it comes to moving with all of your belongings in your current living space. This is because when I moved the first and second time most of my stuff stayed at the previous location. So, this whole putting stuff in boxes thing is unfamiliar territory.

The first thing I noticed is that we have more stuff than I thought we had. We are trying to live very minimalistic, but it seems that wasn't always a success, and even things that are "essential" can stack up over a course of years. This means that we now have to start evaluating what we should let go, throw away or give away, before we start getting more empty boxes.

One way we did manage to limit the amount of stuff we have is by limiting the amount of storage space available as much as possible. This means not buying extra cabinets, bookcases or just plain old surfaces where one can store stuff. This seems to have helped. Asking yourself about 5 times if you really need something also helps. Especially with clothes.

I still think we have too much stuff, but I can imagine that it's still much less than a household that isn't even self-aware of the problem.

How much stuff do you have? And is it more or less than you want it to be?

[ Uniquely clever sign out message goes here ]

image.png


This post is somehow, somewhere and in some way part of the #aliveandthriving movement.

Below are the steps, of which only the first is mandatory. Check it out and live your life! :)

Sort:  

where do you move again my friend.
Hope things are doing great on your side.
!PIZZA !LUV !HUG

Dear @rarej, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @ekavieka.
(1/3)

rarej, ekavieka sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/5) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Not to another country this time. xD Just 30 min away and a bit closer to family.

 27 days ago  

You're right, sometimes we accumulate more than we need.
It's a good time to do some cleaning and get rid of what we no longer need.
As for the amount of stuff I have, I think I have more than I really need.
It's time to simplify and live with less.
Thanks for reminding me.


This post was curated by me as part of We Are Alive Tribe community.
!ALIVE
!CTP
!BBH
Live.png
Alive Tribe.png

True. The hardest part for me when cleaning up is getting started, but once I start things go out of the door very easily.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ekavieka(4/5) tipped @rarej