Huge Puppets On The Streets

in Wednesday Walk10 months ago

It's time for another walk, Wednesday's walk, and this time it will be a less usual walk. The walk in the center of Bucharest, in Revolutiei Square. The former Palace Square, which is the former Royal Palace, is the central square of Romania's capital, probably the most beautiful and with the most history imprinted in the walls of the buildings that border it. I mean the former Royal Palace, now the National Art Museum, the Athenaeum, the Central University Library, the building of the former Central Committee of the Romanian Communist Party, now the headquarters of the Ministry of Interior, the Kretzulescu church, the Hilton hotel.

A place where the historical buildings of the city, built at the beginning of the twentieth century, give the image of the old city which is now much changed after the communist period when most of the important buildings were demolished.

The Bucharest International Street Theatre Festival is a three-day festival held every year in Bucharest. As the name suggests, this theatre festival takes place only on the street.

Such an event awakens any city and its inhabitants from their sleep, and I testify that this happened to me. Children appreciate and enjoy this street show the most. Then their relatives, then the young people, then those, like me, who want to photograph...

I've been waiting a year for this opportunity to take hundreds of street photos, some of my favorite photos but which I take with some difficulty because people on the street are not too happy to be photographed, especially the cops!

When I say I was prepared, I meant that I charged my camera battery to the maximum so that I didn't suffer what I often suffer, i.e. running out of battery before finishing the job.

Happy arrived at the show, I mean on the street, watching one of the theatre groups in their parade, I mean the "Animal Fairytale" from France. They are giant puppets, inspired by La Fontaine's fables that parade on the street, among passers-by, dancing and interacting with the audience, especially children.

I immediately grabbed the camera, framed it, and pressed the shutter release. Nothing happened. I realized, suddenly I realized that I forgot to put the battery (on full charge) in the camera! Obviously, I then felt all those giant dolls stepping on my feet...Once again I missed the moment.

I was saved yet again by my cell phone, just to have some memories of the event, but I didn't take the photos I had hoped for so much.

Every Wednesday I try to tell the story of a walk, as part of #WednesdayWalk, @tattoodjay's challenge and community!

If you've read this far and aren't in the HIVE already, may I ask you a few questions? Do you want to earn for writing? Do you have passions or skills that you want to show others? Do you want to earn crypto like we have been doing for over six years? Referral link for a FREE account HERE

every_picture.jpg

Sort:  

Such things should be happening in the city it helps people enjoy such events a lot and forget their troubles by going to such a place your streets are much more beautiful And the way we see people are appreciating and enjoying the hard work of all these people.

Oh, no! It's a pity that you forgot your camera battery! Luckily, there was a cell phone to save the day... :) I saw a similar parade in The Hague last autumn, but also, I know that there is a similar parade with "big-headed dolls" here in Spain, but I forgot where exactly...
It's always nice to see happy children's faces at these events and festivals!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Thank you! I know that such street shows are mostly in Western Europe. The fact that they have reached the East is a joy for us, but especially for the children, as you noticed.

Bucharest is such an amazing place and how cool you caught the festival there, shame you forgot the battery but the phone got great shots to share with us

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks, JJ! If you say the photos are good I'm very happy. I know you are very sincere in everything you say and don't praise without reason.

OHh not I say it as I see it :), if I am not impressed with photos I say somehting else about the post LOL

Haha..., good thing I now know this method of yours!

I didn't know that Bucharest is a so colourful and a lively city let alone the summer jpy, such summer festivals make the city dwellers as well as tourist happy.

It's not all the time, but this kind of show entertains everyone!

What a beautiful place you have chosen for your Wednesday walk dear friend @bluemoon I love period buildings and all their history
Without a doubt, it would have been a very fun activity, above all, the children have enjoyed this beautiful event
Beautiful photographs, I appreciate that you have shared with us
have a nice day

You're welcome and thank you for your kind comment.

I did not even know what Bucharest looks like even though I hear about it so many times...
The pictures are very beautiful
Nice one!

!discovery 45
!PIZZA
!BBH

@bluemoon! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @dimascastillo90. (1/5)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@dimascastillo90(5/5) tipped @bluemoon

Oh no, that's such a shame! I can imagine how disappointed you must have been when you realized you forgot to put the battery in your camera. I'm glad you were able to get some photos with your cell phone, but I know it's not the same as having those professional quality shots.

I'm also a big fan of street photography, and I know how much it can be a pain to get people to agree to be photographed. I've had a few cops tell me to stop taking their picture, and it's always a little awkward.