A Spring Walk Through Winterthur Enchanted Woods

in Wednesday Walk28 days ago (edited)

We went up to Pennsylvania to look at another house this past weekend. On the way up, we stopped in northern Delaware to visit Winterthur Garden and Estate. The last time we visited here was in Fall 2023. It was great to see the garden during a different season. I don’t know how we manage to do it, but we always luck out with the weather every time we visit this beautiful estate.

We normally take the tram or the bus to the fairytale garden. However, we missed the bus this time on the way back. This just meant extra walking for us; but we didn’t mind because we were doing a lot of driving that day. It allowed us to walk through other parts of the estate that we haven’t seen before.

Of course, the garden was stunning as flowers were blooming for Spring. They were also preparing for a large steeple chase event for early May. Since it was our third time visiting Winterthur, I was able to appreciate the small details of the fairytale garden that I’d overlooked before. Check out some of the photos from our beautiful walk below.


Bird's Nest with wooden eggs


Mushrooms that release steam when you step inside the mushroom circle


I love the squirrel carving design in the picnic table.


The Little Free Library - for some reason it was empty this time.

Thank you for reading about our walk 🍄✧˖°

-Laura

Sort:  

Oh wow what a gorgeous area, but Pennsylvania and upstate NY is such am amazingly, magnificent area with mysteries and all kinds of magical stuff happening up there.

I was at Frenchwoods near Hancock (near Lordville) many ears ago as a camp couselor and had the opportunity to explore the surrounds and I'm sure that there were fairies, elves, witches and all kinds of other little beings flying around in that enigmatic forest up there.

It was just sooo peaceful...

I'm actually really jealous of you being able to walk through this estate! It looks like you all had a wonderful time and how could you not!

I wish I knew that it was there when I was near there, I would've loved to gone through it myself....

It's absolutely worth visiting. I agree both PA and NY are such beautiful scenic places. Are you too far away to visit the estate now?

Oh yes, they are both such truly beautiful places.

The forest there is so soft, delicate, dainty and pretty...unlike here Australia's bush is quite harsh in comparison- unless you're in a rainforest area, then it's completely different and yes that where I am, but one day I would LOVE to go back up there to see all the places that I didn't the first time.

I was lucky enough to be able to hiking up to the Ledges in the Catskills, that was pretty awesome.

such a beautiful place to visit especially in spring make it indeed such an enchanted place

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk and have a great day

Yes, it was great to see the flowers blooming. We've been here for both Fall and Spring, and both times it's been amazing.

Knock knock...
ERROR: Joke failed.

@bpcvoter1, You need more $LOLZ to use this command. The minimum requirement is 0.0 LOLZ.
You can get more $LOLZ on HE.