RHINO RIDER

in OnChainArt10 months ago (edited)

“I might act like a rhinoceros, but I'm a unicorn.”
― Nuno Roque

RHINO RIDER - 06460021-BEST266PXCRP - PSnewest - WEB2000PX.jpg

Initially I had no idea where this painting would be - somewhere in Canada was my best guest (posted on Facebook) But now I received a Facebook message from my son who lives in my house in Canada saying that this painting hangs in the living room! I had forgotten all about it. Painted 1991 in my studio in Lethbridge, Alberta - acrylic on canvas - 20 x 28 inches. I just now found it on an old disc and cleaned it up in Photoshop (crop and noise reduction).


Details ▲ ►

First publicly exhibited in a solo show at the Prairie Art Gallery in Grande Prairie, the curator Elizabeth Ginn wrote in the exhibition catalog:

For example, one knows what a rhinoceros is, but when examining the rhinoceros in Rhino Rider it becomes obvious that the skin contains a myriad of imagery. As in other pieces, the art of camouflage conceals. One has to look beyond the obvious.

Prints are available at my Pixels Print Shop - Rhino Rider or else Fine Art America

Rhino Rider on Fine Art America

Previously posted variations of it using this painting as a seed image - now here on On Chain Art you don't like AI, but the variations are quite interesting and one or the other may find its way onto my canvas. The second half of this post shows some of the results that could be inspiration to additional analog work. So if your artistic 'religion' allows it, have a look at Fantasyland.



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG

Bonus Special: MY ARTWORK ON FINE ART AMERICA


MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

8DAuGnTQCLpunQuGfHnXTmxWbRQScCVGspXNWFwLnDsievuea4qyU1jVqMigCzEvt4PGods7ySn9eXsNaEFKADmWJiGrx4imu5D4DN3p6e6chyfMnsaT9Jcc9pE6rb2ZJYLAGdHew4mr5txGR5zJz6dto92J52ZRbX3ZDVk87nN.jpg



should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.



Sort:  

I love this one! All of the designs are amazing. Great work Otto. Your mind really does go in some interesting places. Reminds me of some kind of DMT trip. haha

 10 months ago  

Great piece Otto!

This is my new favorite!

 10 months ago (edited) 

Thank you - the idea goes back to a woodcut by Albrecht Duerer and even further to other artists of old https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhinocerus

image.png

however, Duerer's Rhino is a Asian rhino, mine is based on a white rhino from Africa.