Chess: Strategy and War in a Board Game

image.png

Hello Hive Community! Today's topic in #mayinleo is about board games, strategy and war. All these elements are in one of favorite hobbies, Chess. Chess is a board game played by two players each having a set number of pieces or army and using those pieces to engage in battle to eliminate each other's King. This game has been around since the 13th century. It's amazing that it's still popular until now in the age of computer games. It's very complex and challenging as it involves long term planning and strategy which was why it was popular among nobility in the early days.

image.png

Thousands of players with different skill levels play the game. From novice hobbyist to grandmasters who play professionally and earn millons of dollars.

image.png

The game has also evolved due to the advances in computers in AI which players use to analyze games. Modern computers are stronger than grandmasters and this is great for players like me. I now have a grandmaster-strength chess tutor to help me analyze my games and prepare for my opponents.

image.png

Chess was usually played with a wooden board and pieces but nowadays, online chess has become popular. When I was young, I had to go to a chess club to find a decent opponent but now, I can go online and find opponents around my strength level. It's no good to play against very weak opponents because it will not be fun. Same goes to fighting stronger opponents where you always lose. Online, you will get paired with opponents who are around your skill level. Currently I am rated at around 1800 in lichess.org where I usually play.

image.png

Here's one of my games played at 3 minutes time control for each side. My opponent and I made a lot of mistakes but the game was fun.

Thank you for reading and challenge me (logenplayschess) if you are in lichess.org!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @logen9f! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.
You made more than 3000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

!LOL

Posted using MemeHive

Where do cats go for fun?
An a-mews-ment park

Credit: reddit
@logen9f, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of holovision

(10/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP