Getting thrashed in Bullet Chess by Good Karma!

Hello and Welcome to my blog.




How are you, my chess nerds? Chess is a beautiful game of sports. I have developed this habit of opening apps on my phone and playing a couple of games thinking I would just play one or two games of Blitz or Bullet Chess but it gets so hard to just leave it after two games. I play it for another hour, mostly going on a losing streak and still playing...lol

Since the last time I shared a chess post, I have played some more games and the highlight for this week has to be playing Bullet with @good-karma!

I got the message on Lichess after I shared my last chess blog on Hive. I couldn't believe it was Good Karma. His username was gkarma on Lichess and later he replied on Hive too.



Well, I challenged him to a correspondence game as he is quite busy. I will not talk about that game in which I forgot to play my move and lost...lol. Rather, I would talk about a Bullet session that we played a couple of days ago!



Analysing Bullet games doesn't make much sense. But I still went back and saw what went wrong. We played a total of 10 games and I only won 2 which is very bad for me even though I was slightly less rated. I knew what went wrong with most of these.

These bullet games were 1+0 (1 mins each with 0-second increments) and these require super quick reflexes. And a bit of warming up too. I didn't warm up enough and went straight to the Bullet games.



You can see I lost almost all of the games on time. But it is not an unusual sight in Bullet chess. The rating difference you see is just over 100 points and statistically speaking the stronger player is likely to win 65% of the time with that difference. Which is about 6.5 out of 10 but Good Karma's score was 8 out of 10 which means either he played way over his rating or I played way below mine (which I think is the case).

Let me show you a rare game where I was able to hold him off. This was the last game and I was playing better towards the end of the session. Game Link



You can see how slow I was at the start, look at this game. I lost this one on time while he had almost 30 seconds remaining! Game Link



I was getting bad positions out of openings with Black pieces and would get under time pressure along with horrible positions. It looked like hopeless to win with Black. Although, I was close in a couple of games.


Even though it was a good beating, I enjoyed it. That was a tough challenge and playing Bullet Chess is always exciting and thrilling. I hope @good-karma enjoyed it as much as I did and I wasn't a very weak opponent for him (the final score suggests it though...lol)

Position of the Day

White to Play and Win!



It was an equal position but Black's bishop decided to capture a pawn which looks like a free pawn. But this is a huge blunder which leads to a forced checkmate. Can you see the moves?

The forced sequence starts with Rb5+ and the next rook comes into the attack with Rxa4+. The only move after this second check is to just block it with Bishop which will be captured by the Rook on a file and sadly this one greedy pawn pickup leads to an unfortunate mate.

Blitz progress?



I did play a few Blitz games and it wasn't good. I lost some ratings but still over 1800 and close to my all-time high. The 2000 Blitz goal is still far though.

Let's just hope I can cross 2000 Blitz before the end of the year!

Until next game...

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots and GIFs from Lichess.org and banners created in Canva.
  • Text dividers from @cryptosharan.

Sort:  

It was a fun, thanks and good games. It was bit late I was tired, hope there wasn’t much blunders 😊 let’s do it sometime again

Sure, will do it sometime again. Good games, you crushed me even after being tired...lol

Wait you played with good-karma niceeeeeeee👌👌👌 I really gotta try to get into this 😂😂

yeah and he crushed me like a fly 😂

Wow he's that good?😳👌🔥💯🥰

Bhai bhai chess kha sa sikha ? Or iska kuch benefit h?

I learnt it from a variety of sources. Mainly by watching chess streams on YouTube and just practising.

There are so many benefits of playing chess.

  • It helps develop problem-solving ability, memory, pattern recognition
  • builds confidence
  • improves creativity
  • helps you to connect with more people
  • it is entertaining too
    etc

It's been a long time since we played together.. I've improved quite a bit from last time.

I remember you're a tough one to beat and from this win ratio against Good karma, he's like a great player..

When we playing again though?


Great! Will play someday again. Let's see how much you have improved. Message me on discord whenever you want to play.

Congratulations!


You have obtained a vote from CHESS BROTHERS PROJECT

✅ Good job. Your post has been appreciated and has received support from CHESS BROTHERS ♔ 💪


♟ We invite you to use our hashtag #chessbrothers and learn more about us.

♟♟ You can also reach us on our Discord server and promote your posts there.

♟♟♟ Consider joining our curation trail so we work as a team and you get rewards automatically.

♞♟ Check out our @chessbrotherspro account to learn about the curation process carried out daily by our team.


🥇 If you want to earn profits with your HP delegation and support our project, we invite you to join the Master Investor plan. Here you can learn how to do it.


Kindly

The CHESS BROTHERS team

Oh how fun! Even losing. 😘

yeah, even losing is fun sometimes haha

How about a game of chess that is when you're free can't say I'm good again it lol