It's been a long time since I gave directions. / 久しぶりに道案内をした(ENG/JPN)

in Hive JA22 days ago

(ENG)
The photo is a temple in Kyoto.

The other day I was asked for directions for the first time in a while, so I told him. I asked him where he wanted to go and he said Senbon Shakado. We were standing about a 30-second walk from Senbon Shakado and could see it, so I told her, "It's the temple where you see the white pillar over there. The person who asked for directions said, "Thank you," and walked away; she was an elegant Japanese woman in her 60s.

I lived in Kyoto when I was a university student and left Kyoto once to find a job, but I came back after 3 years and have lived in Kyoto ever since. When I returned in my 20s and 30s, I was often asked for directions.
From very close by to far away unless I took a bus to get there. I was also often asked where I should wait for the bus when I was waiting for the bus. There is a big bus terminal in front of Kyoto Station, and in Shijo-Kawaramachi, there are different bus stops for different destinations.
Many of them were Japanese, but some of them asked me in English, so I taught them in broken English with gestures.

Now, however, I am rarely asked for directions, at least by people who seem to be tourists. I am sure they have done their homework, and even if they get lost, Google Maps will usually tell them where they are going. It is more accurate than asking me, a person who does not have a perfect memory of the road, for directions.

Now that the Corona disaster has subsided, Kyoto is once again attracting many tourists. This has given rise to the term "overtourism". Some of the tourists do not have good manners, such as littering, so please mind your manners.

Buses used to be crowded with both locals and tourists, but recently there have been groups of tourists riding bicycles, and I thought that if we could devise ways to make sightseeing smoother. As a resident of Kyoto, I wish that local residents and tourists could coexist in harmony.

(JPN)
写真は京都のお寺です。

先日久しぶりに道を聞かれたので教えてあげました。どこに行きたいのだろうと聞いてみたら千本釈迦堂。私たちは千本釈迦堂から徒歩30秒ほどの所に立っていて、見えていましたので「あそこに白い柱が見えるお寺です」と教えました。道を聞いた人は「ありがとうございます」と言って歩いていきました。60代くらいの日本人女性で、上品な方でした。

私は大学時代に京都に住んだ後、いったん就職で京都を離れましたが、3年で戻ってきてそれからずっと京都に住んでいます。戻ってきた20~30代の頃はよく道を聞かれました。
すぐ近くから、バスに乗って行かないと遠いところまで。あと、バスを待っているとどこのバス乗り場でバスを待てばいいのかもよく聞かれました。京都駅前は大きなバスターミナルがありますし、四条河原町なんかも行き先によってバス停が分かれていますから。
私に聞いてくるのは日本人が多かったですが、英語で尋ねてくる方もおられたのでジェスチャーを交えて片言の英語で教えたものでした。

しかし今は、少なくとも観光客と思われる人からはほとんど道を聞かれなくなりました。みなおそらく下調べも十分しているだろうし、現地で道に迷ってもたいていGoogle Mapが教えてくれます。完全に道を記憶していない私なぞに道を尋ねるより正確です。

今はコロナ禍が静まったので、京都にも再びたくさんの観光客が来られるようになりました。そのためオーバーツーリズムなどという言葉が出てきてしまっています。観光客の一部にはごみのポイ捨てなどマナーを守らない人がいますので、マナーは守ってほしいです。

バスも昔は地元の人も観光客もごっちゃになって大混雑していましたが、最近は団体で自転車に乗って観光する方々もおられ、工夫すればもっとスムーズに観光ができるかもしれない、と思いました。京都に住んでいる者として、地元住民と観光客が共存できればいいのにと思います。

Sort:  

Congratulations @yadamaniart! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

私もよく道を訊かれる方ですが、それは良いことだと思っています😊少なくとも、道を教えてくれる程度には親切そうに見える、ということだと思うので・・ でも実際は方向音痴なので、一緒にスマホで地図を調べるだけになります😂

私もよく道を訊かれる方でした。以前は。でも今はみんな調べてくるので、あんまり訊かれなくなりました。いつ訊かれてもいいように頭の中にだいたいの京都の地図は入れておきますが。わからない時は「わかりません」といいます。