One Piece Netflix Live Action Missed This Scene

in The Anime Realm9 months ago

baratie_yt_thumbnail7.png

I'm a big fan of One Piece. Oda's work has been one of my inspirations. One Piece has it all. Action, drama, the goofiness, even horror (my gawd they have a walking skeleton in the crew) Once you dive into it, you'll get hooked.

Now, like many other manga/animes, One Piece has been adapted to live action. Welp like many folks, I was also skeptical of this. Live action adaptations were mostly cringe fest. Especially thinking of One Piece, where Oda's art style is unique and characters came in all sorts of shapes and sizes. Just imagining how'd it look like when it was announced will give you the shivers.

So finally Netflix has it released. Truthfully I mildly enjoyed it. Just don't come in with high expectations. Think of it like an alternate reality story of One Piece where everyone is powered down and cut to size. It's good effort (it should! considering millions of dollars were spent to make it). Maybe because I love One Piece so that's why I'm more on thinking the positive side and recognizing the effort they made, especially that Oda did greenlit it.

I did wish that they stuck to Nami's storyline more. The drama would have been more impactful (in the manga, the villagers where just pretending that they hate Nami but all along they know that she's just doing her best to earn their village back from Arlong.) Nami's background story was one of my favorites.

One Piece had a lot of funny moments. One in particular I was thinking of how they'd include was when Luffy was forced to work as chore boy in the Baratie. I reanimated the scene using sound from the dubbed episodes. Alas they were not able to translate it into live action so just please enjoy the reanimation I made here (with an extra in the end).

As usual, I drew and made this in adobe animate. I also used the sound editing software Audacity to edit the voice lines.

Here's a peek on how I made this in Animate:

  • Made rough sketches of the scenes first
    Screenshot 2023-09-22 223803.png

  • Line art and color added in
    Screenshot 2023-09-22 224010.png

  • Syncing the imported voice lines in the timeline here
    Screenshot 2023-09-22 223629.png

  • Syncing animation / making matching expressions and mouth movements
    Screenshot 2023-09-22 224213.png

  • Sanji using the legendary 4kids voice dubbing here. Such a casanovic voice

Screenshot 2023-09-22 224325.png


Well that's all for this post. Thanks you so much for visiting!

Please come support our YT channel.
Visit when you can and spare a like and subscribe!
It would really help us a lot.

Thank you all for your time!