A time-consuming drawing and its childlike opposites.

in Alien Art Hivelast month

venus.jpg

Above is a drawing from my sketchbook that took a very long time to finish. This is the kind of thing I usually share, because the satisfaction I get from the art is directly linked to how much effort I put in. But making intricate complicated pictures is not my only means of expression. As well as having these books and big bits of paper that I carry around to slowly chip away at while challenging my artistic skills, I will also have little sketchbooks that I truly do not give a fuck about. In these I will doodle quickly and carelessly with no intent to polish the pages into something grand.

shit 1.jpg

It is within these doodle journals that I can easily overcome creative ruts created by the self imposed pressure to continually better myself artistically. I remind myself of the joy of a spontaneous mind, let the childlike freedom shine through. No thought is too silly or uncool. It doesn't take long before I'm inspired again to dive into a longer project. I can then take the rediscovered sense of limitlessness to its most detailed and fully realised conclusion, i.e. the first drawing you saw.

shit 3.jpg

shit 2.jpg

Hope you've found it interesting to the see two different ends of my pen and ink spectrum!

Peace and Love.

Sort:  

I like your creations very much!

Congratulations @acidmince! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List