Putting the ART in ARTificial Intelligence 3

in Alien Art Hivelast year

~ Dreams and Schemes ~


I have many dreams and ideas. Who knows how many of them may come to fruition! Probably not for most of them, if history is anything to learn from. However, that doesn't stop me from Dreaming and Scheming! It really boils down to time and execution. I rarely execute on what i have an intention to do.

image.png

But, i do enjoy the process! I have been having fun playing around with the AI bot in Ausbit's discord. I pretty much only use the one bot which i mentioned in my last few posts and you can go check those out for more details if you want.

Otherwise, you can come join Ausbit's Discord and illustrate your imagination via text prompts using the bot with a zillion settings for free by clicking this invitation link.

I highly recommend coming and giving it a try! You can tag me on discord @ castleberry#6859 and i will help you out the best i can.

image.png

There are so many ideas, so many possibilities, and so many options... it can be tough to choose a course of action. I find that one creative process leads to many, many other creative processes. It can be quite overwhelming to try and stay on task... assuming i started out with a task.

image.png

In trying out different ideas to generate art from, i have found myself learning more about artists from all eras and styles. It's very cool to see the emulations of new creations in those particular disciplines. I have tried some of my favorite artists as well as others more obscure to me. In one way, this has created a deeper appreciation for the old masters of their craft.

image.png

I have really enjoyed testing out all the new training models and generating art, sometimes random and other times more honed in on an initial concept. However, the results are usually a compromise for the better on what my intent was originally. Some ideas will take much more time to Dream & Scheme up to an end result that i desire.


Happy Accidents


~ Image & Imagination ~

Some images take a little more imagination to come up with. I have said many times throughout all the AI art posts i've made that this stuff is only limited by your own imagination. You can make some of the weirdest combos and come up with some very interesting results.

image.png
Prompt:
meatball jellyfish with bionic spaghetti tentacles floating through the galaxy, UHD, award winning photograph, HR GIGERISM style, backlit, cinematic frame 1024


As an example, i made meatball and spaghetti jellyfish in the image above. It took a few tries to get some cool results, but then i figured some googly eyes would make things a bit more interesting. To my surprise, it also made things a bit more terrifying as well.

image.png
Prompt:
meatball jellyfish (with plastic googly eyes) with bionic spaghetti tentacles floating through the galaxy, UHD, award winning photograph, HR GIGERISM style, backlit, cinematic frame 1024


I really enjoyed these meatball and spaghetti jellyfish runs. Some were better than others, and as usual... i only shared a small fraction of the results. Jellyfish generally have some interesting results when they are the images intended to be generated, however, i haven't played around with them as much as i would like... yet.

image.png
Prompt:
meatball jellyfish (with plastic googly eyes) with bionic spaghetti tentacles floating through the galaxy, UHD, award winning photograph, HR GIGERISM style, backlit, cinematic frame 1024


Since we have some Star Trek fans in this community i made a couple with William Shatner for your viewing pleasures. One in Star Fleet uniform and one in civilian clothes. hahaha

image.png
Prompt:
william shatner (holding giant meatball with plastic googly eyes) with bionic spaghetti tentacles floating through the galaxy, UHD, award winning photograph, HR GIGERISM style, backlit, cinematic frame


image.png
Prompt:
william shatner in starfleet uniform (holding giant meatball with plastic googly eyes) with robotic bionic spaghetti tentacles floating through the galaxy, UHD, award winning photograph, HR GIGERISM style, backlit, cinematic frame


I would say those were all pretty successful if having fun was the goal.


But Wait There's More!!!


~ The Fun Never Ends! ~

Sometimes, when i see someone else doing their prompts i will chime in and do some Fun Runs using some of their idea. I usually try to see if i can get a better result than they are looking for. Since i usually have a few more credits than most folks thanks to some of my Hive rewards, i feel like it might be helpful to them. Sometimes, it ends up helping me out more!

image.png

I really liked these outputs. They have a very cosmic fantasy look to them! I also enjoy the subtle differences from one run to another. Sometimes they get better, and other times they are better in some regards but have flaws the previous run or runs didn't.

image.png

I find it's usually an ebb and flow to getting towards the end results that look best. This is if you are solely depending on prompts and the bot to generate a completed finished work. Eventually, i will hone my Photoshop skills on some of my favorites, or use them as source inspiration for my own handcrafted analog art.

image.png

These runs could literally go on forever, doing small tweaks to improve each generation and changing a few details to see how the bot would reimagine the artwork each time. Some combos and prompts bring excellent results immediately.

image.png

In fact, i liked these so much i just made two more in a higher resolution now! I hope you enjoy them. Most of these you can click on to see in a higher resolution... but the flaws will also be a bit more noticeable.

image.png

The art isn't perfect... but the tradeoff in the time it saves to generate images is pretty incredible. I don't think it would take much time at all to clean up and polish images with just a little bit of editing or digital art skills. It has incentivized me to get more active in upgrading my multi-media art skills.

image.png

I tell you, this stuff gets addictive! Especially when you feel like you have some momentum! hahaha Just when you think you are done... it pulls you back in!


Can't Get Enough


~ Controversial Serenity ~

I know this new advancement in technology is not without it's controversies. I have addressed many of these and shared my views on the topic in most of my previous posts. So, that's not what i am going to discuss now. You're welcome! hahahaha

There was a story that broke recently about the Dalai Lama telling a kid to suck his tongue earlier this year. I happened to be using the bot at the time and thought of Pizza gate and the Sleepy Creepy Sniffy Joe and came up with these next couple images. I did quite a few but don't want to get too deep into this disgusting topic.

image.png
Prompt:
Dalai Lama sniffing pizza with Joe Biden celebrating (at a childrens pizza party)

I did like how it put Joe in that robe! Hahaha It was also interesting that on all the results, somebody had a piece of pizza... but there was never a visible slice missing from the pie.

image.png
Prompt:
Dalai Lama sniffing pizza with Joe Biden celebrating (at a childrens pizza party)


Most of what i try to generate is a bit more Serene and a lot less controversial. Except, a nude portrait run from time to time, which some may find slightly controversial.

I have tried out plenty of other very weird stuff and achieved some pretty interesting and beautiful results, in my opinion. Hopefully, y'all won't disagree.

image.png
Prompt:
AI sentiently speaks


image.png

Prompt:

steampunk, biomechanical, heart anatomy diagram in UHD, dramatic color, backlit, cinematic lighting, ornate background, [words, letters, text, titles, signature] Brian Froud H R Gigerism style details


I liked this heart enough to do a few more runs on it while making this post. I hope you enjoy the variations in a bit higher quality.

image.png

image.png

image.png

A bit more steampunk inspired art. Note the simplicity of the prompt (even misspelled).

image.png
Prompt:
steampunk metoerite [weird hands]


Fatality


~ Final Forms ~

I also enjoy trying out religous iconography reimagined. Someone recently debated about AI art not being real art and compared the generative arts to the master painter Caravaggio. It inspired me to try some runs using that artist for inspiration. I was not disappointed, though they are definitely not masterpieces of artwork... yet!

image.png

The hands on the next one are quite trippy... and the tiny lad in the bosom.

image.png

Kind of reminds me of Quatto, from Total Recall!


Open Your Mind!

I have also tried a few eyeballs... but not nearly as much as i intend to here in the near future. These turned out pretty stunning. Though, i will have to get more precise on my prompts with them to get the outcomes i was truly looking for.

image.png

image.png

Getting the Iris' and Pupils to end up symmetrically was more challenging than i anticipated. But it nailed the macro-photography aspects pretty good. To Be Continued....

image.png

Ausbit pointed out that the girl, in the image above, was part of the bed... which ended up being something i overlooked on the original. I just tried to get a better wquality horizontal image of the one above but it kept changing. Ausbit tried to help and it added a second face underneath, but maintaining the original desing in a higher resolution. So, i just cropped it to be what i needed for this post.

image.png

How about some organic steampunk jewel encrusted snail creatures for the finish?

image.png

image.png

image.png

These are turning out super cool!

image.png

image.png

How about a couple more???

image.png

image.png

dividers-04.png

Now, in anticlimatic form, i will call this post finished. I am extremely grateful for you all making it this far and sharing the slow journey of experience with me. Maybe that's why it was fitting to finish with the snails. That's about my pace when it comes to making dreams come true.

Fortunately, with you all and the AI bot, maybe it won't always be that way. Please, let me know your favorite images down below in the comments for a bit of extra curation!! Also, if you have any ideas, please feel free to leave them in the comments as well. I would also encourage everyone to go try the bot out for free just to see what you can come up with!

Thanks again for dropping by and until next time....

dividers-04.png

Sort:  

putting the googly eyes into the prompt was a great idea!

everything is better with #googlyeyes

You're not wrong!!!
untitled.gif

That this spectacular process that you are carrying out with the AI, fabulous!!

I am amazed, with the achievements you get, each work is better than the other.

It is difficult to choose today, rather I will choose two categories from the ones you did, I am fascinated by jellyfish (I think I will make a design with them because I love them, you inspired me) And the other category is that of the magical and cosmic woman, they are all super feminine , delicate and wonderful..

To all this I say wowwww that's good!!!

A big greeting @castleberry!!!!!✨

Yes, the Jellyfish can get really interesting but i haven't focused tooo much on making some good ones yet. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. The cosmic women were cool also. I can't take too much credit for them since it was initiated by another user.

But, i did refine and tweak them out quite a bit. I'm looking forward to sharing some new stuff instead of old runs. Thanks for your interest and for such a meaningful comment. It's awesome that you were inspired by anything you saw here in my post. Cheers

I get inspired a lot, when someone says something or I see something, my mind never stops imagining, I never get bored, my creativity is the source of everything.

Thank you very much!

That third one is really interesting. What was the prompt on that one. It looks like peacocks or squirrels or something. Very interesting stuff. I love the Star Trek ones. I have been watching the third season of Picard this week. I'm about halfway through.

The third image's prompt was:

  • in the beginning God created the heavens and the earth, and the earth was without form and void, masterpiece by GUSTAV KLIMT, UHD, 8k, upscale beta, 105mm lens, award winning oil painting

I don't think i have finished the second season of Picard, but it was way better than i was expecting!! Gonna have to get that going too! Thanks for dropping by and mentioning which ones you liked.

No problem. That is very interesting. I have tried to do that as well. I took some lines from some poems and put them into MidJourney a while ago to see what it came up with. I also tried some song lyrics once. It's crazy what it comes up with! Season 3 is already better than both 1 and 2.

I have done some runs with weird word combos, random and selected bible verses, song lyrics, movie quotes, and other stuff. It's funny some of the things that pop up. There are some models that work better with minimal prompts like those.

untitled.gif

Now that you said that about season 3, i will be looking forward to figuring out where i left off and catching up.... or i may just start on season 1 episode 1 and binge watch them.

That might be the best bet if you don't remember. I wasn't impressed with season 1, but there were some things in season 2 I had forgotten by the time I got around to watching it.

I liked it just because it so much of the old stuff incorporated. That's the main reason i thought it was much better than i expected. I know there was even more cool stuff on the way to look forward to. I probably should start that over and Mandalorian. hahaha Blasphemy!

I haven't started watching the latest season of the Mandalorian yet. If you like the nostalgia, you are definitely going to love season 3!

Wow, these are phenomenal. if not a little on the scary side. Where is technology going to take us. And how fast! It seems to be moving faster exponentially by the day. Oddly enough there was an item on the UK news today about AI generated images. A German guy won a Sony photographic competition but then admitted it was all done with AI. He just wanted to see how far it would get before people identified it was AI. Nobody did. Looking at what you have produced I can see how people were fooled, these are just exceptionally good images sir.

Thanks Brian! The technology really is moving a such a phenomenal, break-neck speed! Just in the couple of years that i have been playing with it, and watching from the sidelines for quite a while before that, it has grown and developed exponentially. The capabilities now are amazing and it's only going to get better and more accurate moving forward. They have some programs developed that aren't open to the public that already pretty much have solved all the problems we have now.

So, who knows where it's going. I have been studying about where the AI tech is at currently on all fronts for a couple of years and we seem to be on a precipice of revolutionary advancements. Some argue this is the beginning of sentient artificial general intelligence. Personally, i think we are still a ways off from that... but it's not far around the corner based on the speed of development.

The language models can pass a BAR exam in the top 15 percentile, pass university level exams in the top 10 percentile, and make it almost impossible to determine if something is written by a human right now. (which sucks as a curator since plagiarism detection is already tough enough) So, imagine in 5 to 10 years where that will be. It's exciting and terrifying at the same time. People like Elon Musk, and myself, believe that AI has the potential to be a bigger threat to humanity than thermonuclear war. Hopefully, we won't have to see either threat realized to maybe be around to decide.

I also heard over a year ago a person in the US won a prestigious art contest with AI art, and didn't reveal the fact until after winning. The things you can get it to do art and photography wise, with enough patience and tweaking is quite amazing.

I don't post much personally, so it should be easy to find, but a few AI art posts ago i have a photograph artwork generated of a Cherokee Native American woman. Only photographers like us, or really sharp art eyes would be able to tell it wasn't authentic. At least, that's how i felt... it was so impressive. See if you can go find it when you get some time and let me know what your professional photographer eyes tell you!

In a way I do find it a little scary, but from a photographers point of view, its almost a sort of natural progression. Even back in the days of film, a lot of photography was "faked" as some people class post processing, now it almost seems standard, with software like Photoshop. So possibly adding in a bit of AI, will just be the next step. I don't know, but I am guessing once it is readily accessible and easy to use, Instagram and TikTok will be flooded with it.
I think I may have seen the Cherokee, but will check back, thanks.

It grabs you and won't let go! ... it's completely addictive, yes sir. It puts your brain to work at full power with "what ifs, "what this will look like..."
you start with a theme and you get tangled up in it worse than the spaghetti tentacles of your meatball jellyfish.😂

I'm glad i'm not the only one bitten by this stuff. You described my exact thought process! hahaha It's even worse/better once you get some good results and a bit of momentum!!! Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment!

Absolutely Fantastic Stuff!
Some of the Very, Very Best out there,
I am glad you are sharing!

Have an Amazing Mid-Week!
🙋🏻‍♀️✨🌄✨🙋🏻‍♀️

(*I also have some eyeball creatures coming up on Thursday 😊)

It's been nice to be able to share more of my own stuff! Glad you enjoyed the art. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. Thanks for stopping by and i hope you are having a great week!

Good that You do and I like Your Artwork, great for the community as it raises the bar, a "Good Thing"! 👏🏻👍🏼👏🏻

I have these Eyeball & Tentacle monsters, not sure yet which way they will go - but they are going! 🤭

Thank You and have an Amazing Thursday!
👽✨🌄✨👽

A very interesting but yet unexplored topic for me is AI, I was surprised to see the results of different people in studying and working with AI, a cool thing. And as you rightly noted that one creative process leads a new one and brings ideas for a new one, I also noticed this property in my work, for sure everyone has come across this in one form or another. This is how imagination develops to create something new and sometimes unthinkably complex and fascinating. In general, it probably became very exciting now, I mean to achieve some complex results. Jellyfish meatballs turned out to be chic and curious specimens on the AI surgical table, in any case, even watching the results is also a great pleasure! Very interesting!

Very well put! It's that exact reason i always have so many musical suggestions for your work. When i listen to your music it makes me think, if he can do this... how would this and that sound with his artistic touch!? With AI, it's that same feeling and creative thoughts, but like on crack or something!!!

Thanks for the thoughtful and creatively detailed comment bro! If you haven't already, go check out my other AI posts and then come and play with the bot for free over in the discord. Who knows what you will come up with?!?

Yes, I definitely want to learn more about this and try it, so I'm currently reading various articles on the topic of how AI is being introduced into music, this is also very interesting because it can already do many things, for example, separate instruments in a track and get it out of it all tracks separately (vocals, bass, drums and so on). Also, AI has learned to equalize the sound and remove noise when recording if the microphone is of average quality, so now many people are integrating AI in many areas, this lures me to learn as much as possible about this. Thank you very much bro for showing and telling about this with your examples.

You sure crammed a lot of stuff into one post. I applaud you for including some prompts: I do that all the time!
I don't know if I should spread myself out even more by trying Midjourney - with DeepDream, Nightcafe and Wombo I am over my head in this anyway, which is keeping me chained to the computer and out of my studio where I could/should be doing 'real art'.
But I need to go to the studio because there are some projects waiting, plus I am invited to show in Serbia this Fall, and they want new work. I got enough ideas piled up to actually keep me busy for quite a while, but so far, beyond purchasing the needed canvases, I did not progress further. So there, this is my rant and self-motivational speech.

This a fantastic set. The snail so cool and the princess so soft. Creative and hilarious!

image.png

image.png

Dude, you should come play around in Ausbit's discord!!!
untitled.gif

I'll check it out

By using ausbit's bot, you are losing the ability to influence the generation to your liking. Stable Diffusion has many tools that are hard to implement in a Discord bot. Like ControlNET etc. For example, using controlNET you can extract posture information from another image and use it to guide the diffusion process to give your new image that posture.

I think there will be an open source version or public version of ControlNET coming out soon that will be implemented into the bot, if i'm not mistaken. Last night, after the post was published, we merged three models into one and the results so far have been astounding. The advancements of all the options and abilities is pretty amazing. Thanks for the info!

I rarely execute on what i have an intention to do.

That's easy to change :) Just begin... Do it one step at a time?

I love the snail creatures :)

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Thanks for the curation and kind words! Those snail things were crazy. We just got a new model for the bot that i will have to try them out in!
untitled.gif

Nice :) !!! I might have to try it next time Canva doesn't have what I need...

!PIZZA !ALIVE
!LUV

I love it and im afraid that most artists are losing their jobs.

cute puppy rpg art

I wonder who is the real artist 😁 because this is really good. Is there any way to see where the AI takes the feed from? So we can check the real artists? maybe support etc.? 🤔🤗🤗

I don't see any serious artists losing their jobs anytime soon. At least, not ones that do handmade art. The training models and samplers are all a bit different, so there really isn't a way to reverse engineer the artists out of it all. Unless, like me, you use the artist in your prompt to get some of their influence into the generation process.

Word of Warning

You cannot copyright any of these images, as you are not the artist as defined by the US Copyright Office. You do not own them.

Copyright Registration Guidance: Works Containing Material Generated by Artificial Intelligence

Secondly copying the style of an artist can leave you open for law suites. There is a growing list of legal cases against AI generative images.

Tread carefully how and where you use these images.

Thanks for the info and the link, as well as the warning. From what i just read, it looks like things are a long ways off from being cemented in any kind of legal certainty. I will be curious to hear the report they intend to come out with later after getting information from the public on how they feel copyright law should or should not move forward in all these regards.

If anything, all the litigation may create a buffer to slow down the progress long enough for everyone to get their bearings and catch up a little bit. Unregulated AI advancement is one of the scariest prospects, pushing us into a future that none of us probably want.

It is cemented in legal certainty with the US Copyright Office ruling, released just a few days ago. So anything you have read previously was conjecture and is now out of date. Read it, direct from the source.

Copyright Registration Guidance: Works Containing Material Generated by Artificial Intelligence

Here's a video covering it.

I was basing what i said off of what i read from the newest info on that link you shared. I will have to check these out in a little bit when i have some time. Thanks again.

Man you've been doing a ton of experimenting. These are awesome. Love the jellyfish idea hahaha.

I have a zillion that i haven't published yet. Maybe i need to make another post soon to show some of them off! hahaha Thanks for swinging by!

great post!

Thanks, good to see you and thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to seeing more of your art in the Alien Art Hive community bro! We've missed you.

Just, I can say: excelente post!!!

Congratulations @castleberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 22000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 23000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Hey @castleberry!
Actifit (@actifit) is Hive's flagship Move2Earn Project. We've been building on hive for almost 5 years now and have an active community of 7,000+ subscribers & 600+ active users.
We provide many services on top of hive, supportive to both hive and actifit vision. We've also partnered with many great projects and communities on hive.
We're looking for your vote to support actifit's growth and services on hive blockchain.
Click one of below links to view/vote on the proposal:

  • peakd
  • ecency
  • hivesigner
  • lol u with the AI ​​after some... untitled.gif
    untitled.gif

    I'm glad you did more digging with the AI. The generated art is cute, And everyone is free to use it, although personally I still leave it to myself 😆😆 😆😜, in any case my favorite is the infinite pizza, 🤣🤣🙀 Who does not want a pizza that never ends? 💪🏻💪🏻😏🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤


    The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.