Building in Voxels: Beginner Tutorial

in Alien Art Hive3 months ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Since we are back in the swing of lending out the Voxels gallery I thought I would make a super basic tutorial for building, especially since the layout has just received some updates so older tutorials can be a bit confusing.

This is for super beginners, I go over building with blocks and adding custom textures, uploading and manipulating images and adding lighting effects :)

Press F to fly and use the arrow keys on your keyboard to move around.

Please note that if you click the help button there is a list of shortcuts that are very useful (forgot to mention this in the video).

UPDATE: a fix was out in so you should now be able to drag and drop images directly in world (old feature but broken for some time):D

Here it is on YouTube as well, happy building!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>₳ⱠłɆ₦ ⱧØ₦ɆɎ<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Visit my gallery on NFT Showroom

Buy merch: https://alienhoney.ca/

Find all my social and gallery links here: https://alienhoney.ca/pages/links

Join the Alien Art Hive community and come get some Alien Honey!

ALIEN DISCORD

To follow on twitter, personal account, Alien Art Hive Community account <3

glitch_banner1.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

~~~ embed:1763244169714147566?t=USbfLKXj-ZKDDBpop8vbsg&s=19 twitter metadata:V2F5U2hvbGE4NDE1Nnx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9XYXlTaG9sYTg0MTU2L3N0YXR1cy8xNzYzMjQ0MTY5NzE0MTQ3NTY2fA== ~~~

 3 months ago  

Thanks for sharing 🙏

Fascinating! For those who don't know, like me, how does one set up their own gallery?

 3 months ago  

I purchased this land so that is the main way to be able to build a gallery, you have to buy land to build like the real world LOL. There is a possibility to create a free space to build in, it's alone and not connected to the main world but I think they are phasing this out so I'm not sure if the build would disappear at some point. To do this log in to voxels and click create:

Screen Shot 2024-03-05 at 2.10.29 PM.png

The last way is to be an artist that has minted on @nftshowroom, we have a community gallery that we rotate for our artists, there is currently a bit of a waiting list!

Thanks for your reply!

Going to be a while before I can afford something like that. Where do you buy the land from? Hive Engine? I'm not familiar with the pictured web interface, are you able to provide a link so I can have a look myself?

I searched for voxels and found this post from four years ago, is this the same as what you're using?

I'm just very curious 😅

Edit: Nevermind! I found my way. Pretty simple really: Voxels.com 🤣 oh dear

 3 months ago  

Yes it voxels.com and it runs on ETH 👍 I double checked and the free spaces will continue to be available but some features will be more limited so you can try for free! We do sort of have a HIVE Metaverse project but it requires being technically inclined to use and it was a bit over my head, created by dlux but unfortunately I have no tutorials or resources to point you to on that one. Also I see you are pretty new so welcome to hive 🎉

I'll need to take a closer look at voxels.com for the free options, and have a squiz at that dlux project. Might be a bit over my head too but worth a check. Thank you very much for the warm welcome!

 3 months ago  

On twitter:

Fabulous!!! Awesome gallery, my goodness I love it!🤗

~~~ embed:1763908315266859293?t=OYaOV5RPGFELtSRogpfkKw&s=19 twitter metadata:YWRlbmlqaWFkZXNoaW43fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2FkZW5pamlhZGVzaGluNy9zdGF0dXMvMTc2MzkwODMxNTI2Njg1OTI5M3w= ~~~

Wow, that was interesting, I'll save it to try someday.