The Partner (A Poem) | A Mixed Media Art Project

Apophysis-ThePartner.jpg

The Partner


He promised an eternity,
Slaying the demons that reside within me.
Never would he leave me to fight them partner-less.

Feelings of abandonment kept at bay.
Barreling toward me night and day.

He countered my left with his right,
blankets of ribbons choking, he untied,
snatching my misgivings
up from the voids of errors I'd tread
off the path of truth and sanity.

To infinity I stretched his patience.
Never once did harsh retribution flow.

How long can one absorb that which
the wound refused to heal?
How Long exacerbating the sore until suppuration.

I cursed until spent.
From the depths of my madness, incoherent words flowed.
A scathing tone I waited to return.

I waited, until I could wait no more.

With slightly raised eyebrows, he smiled, nodding
with the knowledge of the ages
descending upon my dread.

Glancing up through tear drenched lashes, I laugh.

Taking kindness for frailty.

To be honest I was a bit disappointed
in the retreat; lack of sparring.
So much vanity mixed with insanity,
stored up I must expel.

Hurl your anger, I cajoled.
Lash out at the audacity of my callousness
.

Curse me to hell and back, then
Walk away, never to return
.

He reacted not to my petty ploys
a weakling would expect.

He strode over and stood behind me.
He cupped my head in his hands.
He caressed my shoulders.
He pulled me back into reality,
from the darkness I'd descended.

He Loved Me.

With the love of Him who knew
I'd not last another day thrashing
through this myriad of dubiety called Life.

By: @justclickindiva

262866.png

For my current mixed media art project, while I was working on the design, I knew I wanted to develop a poem. It was the female's face that guided me in this decision. Something in her manner the way her eyelashes were lowered and her head bowed to one side as if in contemplation. A sadness thinking what once was is lost.

I hope you enjoy my contemplative poem.

In designing the crow I used in the scene, I utilized a stable diffusion program, StarryAI. I didn't want anything fanciful, just a simple design that carried out the mood of the female...contemplative. Below are my steps to my creative design:

262866.png

StarryAI Text input:
"Large Black Crow bird image only with wings spread wide."

Style: Fantasy
Iterations: 50
Seed: 6439166814

Starry AI Result:

Exactly the result I was hoping for. Sleek and simple black crow with a serious foreboding gaze. When I think about it, how else would I expect a crow to look?

StarryAI-LargeBlackCrow-1.webp

262866.png

My next step is to assemble the images I want to include in the scene. For the female, I opted out of a stable diffusion image. I chose again a simple, but elegant female surrounded by colorful fractals in a contemplative pose.

I did, however, run the image through the filtering program, Deep Dream Generator, to achieve an enhanced look. I want to share both images to see the subtle color changes turned out.

I probably could have utilized the colorize feature in Canva. However, that would have produced a single color over the entire image. With Deep Dream Generator, I chose a Deep Style filter that produced several colors blended within the image. Also, the filter added a pastel look to the face as though the female is petrified and encased in time.

Original Image


Source

Deep Dream Generator Deep Style Filter:
md_qvsezw_05ae75e6864e2e8b6736bae884421d21dd58a54d.jpg

image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

In addition to the crow, four other unique images I included in my scene that I felt added a dramatic flair were a unique nature background with white trees, a butterfly, one of my pure fractals, and a moon. Colorizing the nature background to lighten it was a good decision.

Trees background ~ Moon ~ Pure Fractal (Moon of Wonders) ~ Black Butterfly

262866.png

Once I decided the number of images were sufficient to create my design, I uploaded all into Canva, my design program. Taking advantage of my upgraded Annual Pro Membership Subscription, I'm able to colorize, resize, reposition, remove backgrounds, utilize the drawing tool, and animation.

Below are my procedures:

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

To a blank, white canvas, I added the tree image.

image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

I knew I wanted the tree image to be the background of my project, so I resized it to fill the canvas, then colorized it to resemble beige tree bark.
image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Added the moon image and my pure golden moon-shaped fractal. Resized and positioned each at the top of the trees.
image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Added the black butterfly. I had an idea for the sides of the nature background to stretch the butterfly, then duplicate it and place both on each side of the screen.
image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Added the filtered version of the female image. Resized and repositioned it to fit in the center of the screen.
image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Added the crow.
image.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Removed the background of the crow image. Resized and positioned it on the woman's hand.
image.png

262866.png

I share with you my completed project:

Apophysis-ThePartner.jpg

262866.png

Thanks for taking the time to view my post. I hope you like my mixed media art project.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

1 What is Stable Diffusion? StarryAI.Com. Online at: https://starryai.com/stable-diffusion

262866.png

Sort:  

Thanks so much @eve66 for sharing my mixed media art project. I appreciate it. Take care.

This bird is sitting on the hand of the girl, so a lot of effort has really been put into making it.

Yes, a lot of effort in getting the placement of the bird right took place. I was happy with the outcome. Thanks for your visit and support. Take care.

!ALIVE