17 March 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2314: the denial

in Freewriters3 months ago (edited)

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

no-entry-37967_1280.png

“Don't do it, Tom – don't do it!”

16-year-old Tom Stepforth's grandmother Mrs. Velma Stepforth had warned him, but at 16, a young man feels like he knows everything.

“And for reasons like that, five-year-olds like Lil' Robert Ludlow are born and given to you as a neighbor,” Mr. Thomas Stepforth Sr., grandfather and namesake to the teenager, said.

“Look, I heard he can beat down his nine-year-old brother George, but this is ridiculous!” Tom said.

“I've been telling you!” Mrs. Stepforth said before she broke out laughing. “If you ain't grown-grown, you ain't ready!”

“Look, Grandma, I am grown, and I'm not ready!” Tom's 21-year-old cousin Melvin Trent said. “What you need to understand, Tom, is that there are only two people in the world who can handle Lil' Robert, and he likes his Lee cousins and he isn't giving them the business – but if your name is not Thalia or Robert Ludlow Sr., you need to leave Lil' Robert alone, because –.”

“Because I'm not going for it!” Lil' Robert had bellowed when the teenager had made the comment that the kindergartener was too young to be in grown folks' business – the denial could be heard for more than a block. “You're not grown and you're not in charge of me! I'm small but I have a real tall soul and I wasn't put here to have other kids pushing me around! Don't make me have to call on all the Robert Edward Ludlowness vested in me!”

“And the thing is,” Mrs. Lee said as she was cracking up to Mrs. Thalia Ludlow when she called her, “he had Tom going for it – that boy's eyes were so wide!”

“Yeah,” Mrs. Ludlow said. “Lil' Robert has scared some grown-grown folks before. When he gets mad and those blue eyes start flashing and that voice gets on up, you see the size of the mistake you have made real quick, because indeed, he is just as much Robert Edward Ludlow as Senior here!”

“And then Edwina rolled up!” Mrs. Lee said, “and this little brunette miniature in the feminine of your husband's warrior spirit said –.”

“I don't know who you think you are, but you better leave my baby brother alone because I will break bad – I don't play about mine, and I will take you out, so you better go back to those who brought you in and hide yourself before I get mad!”

Col. H.F. Lee came at a run back to the Ludlow house, just in time after his errands for the house.

“Run along, Tom, and whatever it is you did, don't do it again.”

“I'm glad you're here, Cousin Harry, because it was about to be on out here!” Edwina said.

“We're not going for it!” Lil' Robert said.

“I got this – go inside, Robert and Edwina,” the colonel ordered, and stifled a laugh as Edwina turned around and stuck her tongue out at Tom halfway to the porch. “You go home too, Tom.”

“And I thought Gracie was bad!” the teenager said while his grandmother was still laughing.

“You know Edwina is Gracie's best friend, right?” Tom's almost-18-year-old cousin Vanna Trent said between laughs. “We've been telling you, Tom – don't mess with any of these little kids around here! These people are way more dangerous than their size suggests! We just live with three of them, but there are seven of them over there!”

“I just got clowned by people that aren't even half my height!” Tom said.

“You should have listened to your grandmother,” Mr. Stepforth said, “but, like me, you're a Stepforth man, and we have to learn the hard way. Now you know!

Sort:  

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you!

Awesome job @deeanndmathews! You've been super busy and published a post every day of the week. Keep up the fantastic work!