@mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2102: Strange rock formation

in Freewriters10 months ago

Fractal amethyst by the author, Deeann D. Mathews
amethyst.png

Thirty minutes before the earliest bedtime for the Ludlow grandchildren, Col. Harry Lee their cousin and guardian for the next eight weeks came out and said, “'Tention!”

Because all seven of the Ludlow grandchildren were being raised by their grandparents, and one of those was Capt. R.E. Ludlow, they all responded without even thinking– but they were free-spirited little people, so that did not last long.

“Wait a minute!” nine-year-old George said as soon as he saw the clock. “It's not bedtime for any of us, Cousin Harry!”

“I know, but someone wants to speak with you.”

It was Capt. and Mrs. Thalia Ludlow, settled down in their accommodations where he would have his inpatient therapy and coming through on Zoom.

“Papa! Grandma!”

This gave the grandchildren and grandparents time to connect, and Col. and Mrs. Maggie Lee sat back and smiled as Eleanor (11), Andrew (10), George (9), Edwina (8), Amanda (7), Grayson (6), and Lil' Robert (5) told their grandparents all about their first half-day with the Lees.

Grayson, normally the most quiet of the Ludlow grandchildren, carried the evening with his spelling words and all that he and his siblings had learned.

“So, today I learned that a stalagmite – S-T-A-L-A-G-M-I-T-E – is the one like a big rock icicle that stays frozen and comes down from the cave ceiling –

Image by Simon from Pixabay

cave-gec6435b23_1280.jpg

“ – and that the stalactite – S-T-A-L-A-C-T-I-T-E – is the one happens when the rock juice drips from the ceiling and freezes and piles up on the floor.

Image by Hans from Pixabay

stalactite-g76c822595_1280.jpg

“Cousin Maggie helped us look up so many pictures that we got to look at, and Robert and I are going to build some stalactites because Cousin Harry said that gluing Legos to the ceiling is too hard because we would have sticky glue stalagmites everywhere and they won't freeze right, so we're just going to build up from the floor and see if we can make some really cool and strange rock formations.”

“Grayson,” Edwina said, “it was all fun and all, but you never say anything. How are you doing all this talking now?”

The six-year-old never missed a beat.

“If I'm with you, you see what I'm doing. Otherwise I gotta talk so people know what is going on.”

“That does make sense,” Edwina said. “Let me help y'all coordinate your colors so it looks strange but still right.”

“Y'all wanna see the pictures – come help us, Cousin Maggie!” Lil' Robert said, and so everybody got to talk about their favorite things about the pictures in addition to their day.

“The day was actually really good – we still miss you and want you to come home, Papa and Grandma, but it was good here today and I think we're going to be all right,” Eleanor said.

“And we didn't even die!” Amanda said.

“And how was your day, Cousin Harry and Cousin Maggie?” Capt. Ludlow boomed, and smiled to see that none of his grandchildren tensed up – there was no bad news.

“I agree with Eleanor and Amanda,” Col. Lee said gently. “I rejoice to say, cousin, that your grandchildren are a good family unit – they are two handfuls, but a pleasure.”

“And just so sweet and smart!” Mrs. Lee said, and then got mobbed by all seven grandchildren for hugs and kisses.

“Everybody loves Maggie,” Col. Lee and Capt. and Mrs. Ludlow said at the same time.

Capt. Ludlow waited a few minutes, and then said, “ 'Tention!'”

All seven grandchildren turned their attention back to the screen.

“See to it, my beloveds, that we keep this good report going. Our report is also good.”

“It's too quiet here without y'all,” Mrs. Ludlow said, “which is why we wanted to call so we could sleep right tonight!”

“The work begins tomorrow morning, but not before coffee and the beginning of your daily classes,” Capt. Ludlow said, “so we will see you in the morning. After tomorrow, I will be quite busy with my therapy and I do not know how I will be feeling, but Grandma will give you a report if I am not feeling like coming on, and I will be on as often as I can.”

“Please don't die,” Edwina said.

“That's not in the plan,” Capt. Ludlow said. “This is actually meant to be sure that I can be with you all, thinking and feeling well for the next 30 years, long enough to be at the opening of the Ludlow Fashion House and do the old soldier strut down the catwalk!”

“Oh, I would love that!” Edwina said.

“I know, which is why I'm getting my work done, Eddie,” Capt. Ludlow purred.

When all the good nights had been said and the computer was off, Col. Lee smiled at George.

“Now, you all have a chance to go back outside and say good night to your friends before going to bed,” he said.

George thought about this, and then came and gave his big cousin a hug.

“Thanks, Cousin Harry!” he said, and then went back out for a little while longer.

Amanda came over and gave Cousin Harry a hug.

“You're like Papa – too many muscles and stuff to be really cuddly, but you're really nice!”

“I do my best, Amanda,” the colonel said as he returned her hug.

Sort:  

!ALIVE
!LOL

@deeanndmathews! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

What did the retired detective call his new real-estate business?
Sherlock Homes.

Credit: reddit
@deeanndmathews, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of myjob

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

It's good to learn every day, and this is one of the ways, it reminded me of a phrase I always say, don't go to bed without learning something new, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading ... that is a motto of my family as well!