Grandma Adler's Famous Mutton Stew | Freewrite: 5/9/24 | Prompt: A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words

Freewrite-05-09-24-APicIsworthAThousandWords.jpg
Image source provided by @wakeupkitty for contest purposes...

FreeWriteDividerLine-MarianneWest.png

That my husband, Oskur, was stubborn, I wholeheartedly admitted as I sat in the rocking chair one Friday evening next to the fireplace. I shook my head in dismay at one of the qualities I disliked. Still, I continued knitting him a sweater. All was quiet. I glanced around the room, proud of our tiny cottage I'd managed to decorate with sparse furnishings. The aroma of mutton spiced with sage filled the room.

I rose to stir the hearty stew whose recipe I'd perfected from a patchwork of common sense and hearsay.

Suddenly, it was the howling of the wind and the batting of the shutters that startled me, causing the ladle to slip from my hand. The blistering cold had seeped under the cracks. Oskur had forgotten to bring in more wood for the stove. Luckily the mutton stew had finished cooking by the time the fire dwindled.

At the supper table, Oskur sat carving objects.

Putting aside his whittling knife and removing his cap, he took one spoonful of the mutton stew I set before him. Frowning, he spat it out, then pushed the bowl across the wooden table. It landed near the edge, spilling liquid.

Shocked, I stared at the bowl.

"Look woman," Oskur shouted, "if you can't make the stew right, then forget it! I've given you the recipe as best I remember. Now go fetch your quill and parchment. This is the last time I'm going to explain this!"

"My name is Fiona. And it'll serve you well in the future to remember that!" I delivered as calmly as I could.

Hesitating, it took a moment for me to walk. I returned seething. That was my final attempt to reproduce Grandma Adler's Famous Mutton Stew. My pulse beat faster as I watched the dinner grow cold.

Standing next to him, I looked down. I studied the spot on his head where his hair had begun to disappear. Oskur didn't see my clenched jaw; nor know the anger that rose up and threatened to leap from my eyes like flames from the fireplace.

I shifted my weight from one foot to the other.

The writing tool trembled in my hand as I tightened my grip. I gazed slowly from its tip to the side of Oskur's head. I frowned thinking, if only his head wasn't so thick, this might put a dent into it! But I quickly composed herself as I'd done numerous times before.

Oskur started. But no ingredients came forth from his foul mouth.

Instead, I stood motionless as he spewed out all the frustrations life had heaped upon him. The last of which was a wife that wasn't his first choice. I listened as a shiver ran through my spine.

It didn't ease up. In fact, it spread to my throat causing a thick lump as I swallowed whenever he mentioned the subject. And this was the man that just last week pleaded his case as to why we should start a family after only six months of marriage. "Let's get on with the business before we're past being able to," he spat.

I wasn't the most learned person; neither was he, so I let it go.

But this business with the mutton stew was the last straw. I was done with the whole situation involving that darn recipe with the secret ingredient even he didn't know. I was done trying to satisfy him.

In fact, I was done with the whole idea of marriage to that man.

I laid my quill down.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

It's funny how in that moment I realized it was the small things that add up over time that's not resolved.

I knew this conversation would occur sooner or later about our extreme differences. I didn't know it would be Grandma Adler's Famous Mutton Stew whose pot would boil over and spill everything at issue in our relationship.

I turned and walked toward the fireplace. I needed to distance myself from this man who hurled insults at me daily without apologizing. I needed to think whether I'd spend another night in his cottage.

I could understand now why my sister-in-law, Alice, one day just packed up and left. Oskur and Henri were brothers. And that same grandmother raised them from ever being satisfied with a wife who wasn't on her level of cooking and housekeeping. Thank God the grandfather didn't leave them with unrealistic expectations pertaining to other workings in a marriage.

I had no idea the mindset my father had condemned me to when I married Oskur. Ours was a short courtship. I can't say romance and love was a part of the bargain when my father arranged our union.

So it was with that frame of mind that the words easily poured forth after returning to the table and sitting opposite Oskur.

"No use getting upset and yelling at me. I can hear you just fine. I suggest that if you want that secret ingredient in your mutton stew, you calm down this instant! Now think, man. It was Your grandmother! Her memory is gone at nine-two. And it seems you're not to far behind, so if you want that stew cooked exactly as she prepared it, I'd advise you to put on your boots and make haste to her home. Perhaps the recipe with the secret ingredient is somewhere hidden among her treasures you keep saying she'll pass on to you one day."

Oskur turned and stared at me for a few moments, then unexpectedly murmured, "I forgot the wood."

I was by no means finished.

"That's not all you forgot," I hissed. "You forgot to apologize to me for treating me with no respect. If you don't change your attitude about every single item in our marriage, especially that darn recipe, then you may as well join your brother who has already lost his wife. I can always return to my father's house where I know I'm welcome and loved. You decide!"

Standing up facing him, I crossed my arms and waited.

It was the first time he'd heard me talk with that authority. I considered packing my suitcase. If he returned without the secret ingredient, there would be no pleasing him. Ever.

He bristled and stood tall, towering over me as if he were about to pounce. But he merely reached over and retrieved his cap and scarf from the rack. The next moment, the door slammed. He was gone. Hopefully to gather more wood.

My shoulders relaxed. It went better than I expected.

Thirty minutes later, Oskur returned.

Sitting at the table, I watched curiously while he put away his outer garments, then placed the sack of logs in the corner behind the stove. Another log he tossed inside the stove. He stood with his back facing me while gazing out the window as snow gathered on the sill in the bright moon.

He strode over to the table. Reaching for the bowl of stew, he place it on the stove's burner. Once heated, he removed it carefully with the mitten, then guided it to the table.

He eased himself into the chair. Picking up the ladle, he scooped out two servings of stew; one for him, and to my surprise, a bowl for me. He began to eat, careful not to look in my direction.

I reached across the table and cut two slices of bread and spread butter on each. He accepted it.

All this done in silence.

Once finished, Oskur rose and stared at me for the longest moment. I couldn't decipher the expression on his face, but it was different from before he left.

"Let's clean up and retire for the night," he remarked gruffly, but in a softer tone.

Without a word, I nodded and went about the duties of caring for my home and my husband.

That was thirty years ago, five children, and thirteen grandchildren.

The mystery ingredient in Grandma Adler's Beef Stew was never mentioned again and has remained a secret to this day.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Welcome back to my freewrite prompt story for this week. The photo that is the subject of the story spoke to me about two people who are engaged in a heated conversation.

Describe what you see.
I see two people in a small cabin. I gauge that they are related, perhaps husband and wife. They are engaged in a conversation. With his hand to his forehead, the man is gazing down at the pot of stew or soup on the table. Also on the table are carrots and tomatoes, with a loaf of bread, and a basket of fruit.

The woman is holding a writing pen in one hand and a piece of parchment in the other. Outside the cottage, the season appears to be winter as visibility is clouded with snow.

Describe what you feel.
I feel the couple is having a heated conversation, perhaps about the ingredients in the pot of stew. Both appear unhappy, perhaps about how the dish turned out. And perhaps it's missing an ingredient they can't figure out.

Write a story or poem about what you think is going on. I leave with you my story for: A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words - date.

Freewrite-08-28-21APicIsWorthAThousandWordsFreewritelogo.jpg
Image used with permission of contest owner

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

262866.png

Sort:  

You have amazing story telling ability!

Why thank you @walindo. I appreciate your kind compliment and the fact that you took time to stop by and view my freewrite story. I'm pleased you found my story interesting. I love writing fiction in numerous sub genres.

Take care and have a good start to your week.

!LADY

Good story. I needed this to close my day.
There's no secret ingredient he knows, didn't apologize but at least changed (a bit).

Hello @wakeupkitty.pal. Yes, her husband was a stubborn one. Not willing to compromise until he saw she was serious. She spoke her mind and gave him an ultimatum. As I always believe, bullies will be bullies until someone challenges them. Then they will back down.

You were correct. He never apologized for his verbal mistreatment. He just shut up and ate the stew. Evidently the situation between the couple calmed down as the wife reveals that was over thirty years ago the incident happened. My spouse would have to have changed tremendously for me to stay in that environment, then proceed to have children.

Anyway, relationships are complicated enough without lashing out at each other instead of calmly resolving issues. And, have you encountered this where the conversation turns to topics that doesn't involve the situation at hand. Just venting because one can. Not healthy at all.

Thanks so much for your visit and kind compliment. I appreciate it and your support. Take care.

!LADY

Let's say I left the bully his ultimatum was 1 year, he changed for at most 5 days.. Nevertheless, I stayed that year till the set date.

Five days of peace before the bully reared its ugly head again. A person can only take so much if one knows the situation won't change and will continue in a repeated mistreatment. Courage to change the situation takes time. In your case, you made the decision and stuck to the set date. I know it wasn't an easy decision, but for your own health and safety and that of children, something has to change. A different location may be the only alternative.

I appreciate your engagement and sharing of your story. Take care and have a good start to your weekend.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @wakeupkitty.pal and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/22 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

A fine story indeed ... a happy ending the long hard way ... a lot of truth too ...

Yes, the husband did take the long route home to happiness at last. Stubbornness is a tough personality trait that is sometimes difficult to penetrate. Some couples don't make it through. I'm happy this gentleman realized the error of his ways through some tough love to find his life treasure and mate. I'm certain there were other instances down the road, but he knew his limits that made life with him tolerable.

Thanks so much for your visit and lovely compliment for my story. I appreciate it and your support. Take care.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @deeanndmathews and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/22 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You're welcome!

When food reaches the table, after a long struggle and hardwork by the wife in the kitchen , a word of appreciation is usually expected. If not, eat in silence, considering the hard work of wife. This was a nice story where the husband finally realizes his mistake, after the wife opened up her pain.

Hello @shamis. Yes, the husband finally realized his wife's efforts in taking care of the home and his needs with delicious food. Otherwise, he would end up like his brother without a wife.

Sometimes it takes opening up and explaining your feelings, else the other person will think all is well and continue on abusing the privileges. I was happy that their situation worked out amicably, even if it was in silence. If a person can't listen, then perhaps being quiet will help him understand.

Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it, your engagement, and thoughtful analysis of my story. You grasp the gist of my story well.

Take care.

Great story as usual. I loved the way they settled the matter too😁

Thanks so much @loveth97 for your visit and nice compliment for my story. Yes, I was pleased the way the couple settled the matter of the recipe. To end a marriage over a secret recipe was totally absurd to begin with. Like so many women who just sit and take the unnecessary verbal assaults for years, Fiona decided to stand her ground. Usually, when you confront a bully head on, that person will back down.

I appreciate your support of my story. Take care and have a good rest of your week.

!LADY

An interesting story with brilliant view and interpretation.

Thanks so much @blessworld. I appreciate your visit and lovely compliment for my story. I'm pleased you liked my interpretation. Take care.

This is really beautiful to read. You have a good storytelling skill..

Hello @ministeringpen23. Thanks so much for your visit and kind compliment for my freewrite story. I'm pleased you found it interesting. I love writing short fiction.

Take care.

You're welcome. Do take care, too.

I truly enjoyed the setting of your story nice one.

Thanks so much @samueluche07 for your visit and viewing my story. I appreciate it and the fact that you liked the setting. Thanks for your support. Take care.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pixresteemer(2/5) tipped @justclickindiva