My Wife's Best Friend | 1 May 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2359 | Prompt: over the waterfall (sobre la cascada)

Pixabay-malohan-rafting-2033494_640.jpg
Source...

The amber evening sun faded rapidly into the summer night as it disappeared over the waterfall. I stood there, my body rigid, staring blankly at the rushing white waves. Unafraid, my wife would stand beside me and describe the scene as ethereal; fierce, but gentle; a protector and wonder to behold. Why then didn't this magnificent wonder of nature protect, then return her to me that joyous day a year ago.

So engrossed in my angst that I didn't notice tears until Meredith reached over and gently touched my cheek.

I turned toward her, but before I could react, she looked away. The moment's awkwardness, although fleeting, raised my guard even higher thinking others in our rafting party might draw an incorrect conclusion.

Once I returned home, I admitted to myself that her gesture was harmless.

Unable to sleep, I tossed. Turning my thoughts to the accident, I heaped coals upon my head for what I deemed as aiding in the incident that claimed my beloved wife of only two years.

The vacation trip back to the waterfall last year was to celebrate the day we met. Of course, I couldn't refuse Bernadette's wish that we invite her whitewater rafting friends. I'd visited the waterfall for other sport activities in my initial vacation package. But upon arrival, the moment I laid eyes on her, I was willing to try anything she was involved in.

The conclusion that the waterfall accident was unavoidable didn't ease my pain or guilt. Why did I agree to such a dangerous activity? I wasn't a whitewater rafter. Nor was I a thrill-seeker as I believed of my wife, Bernadette, and her friends. I only agreed to try the sport as a way to seek favor and further our relationship.

The dangers loomed larger in my eyes than she wanted to admit. "It' a family sport," she would often say. Still, I focused on the dangers.

After the accident, Meredith, my wife's best friend would call to check on my well-being in addition to becoming a constant visitor to our home. She'd grocery shop, cook and clean. In my state of mind, her concern and graciousness was sorely needed and welcomed.

However, six months of this attentiveness unleashed a silent rebellion that began to rise and overtake my senses whenever she visited. So severe the irritation grew that finally I rebuffed any consolation she offered.

I would admonish myself whenever she responded, "It's what any best friend would do," ignore the terse outburst, smile, then look deep into my eyes. Rattled, I'd immediately look away as fear pounded my chest. What was I afraid of? She paled in comparison to my wife were among the thoughts that swirled constantly in my mind.

To me, she was merely my wife's best friend.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

With little rest, I managed to fuddle through work the next day. That evening, the doorbell rang. Through the peephole, I recognized Meredith. Hesitating for a moment, I heard voices. I opened the door.

Not to my surprise, it was Meredith. "Hi Antonio. May I visit for a bit. I'd like you to meet someone."

I greeted, then invited them inside.

Through our conversation, she introduced her fiance, Nicholas. I hoped neither of them noticed a deep sigh; rather, an anvil loosed. Over drinks we laughed and discovered other activities we all enjoyed in common. Straightaway, I informed them that whitewater rafting would no longer be an activity I would entertain. Meredith respected my decision.

Inviting them to stay for dinner felt as natural as if my wife would have done so. The look on Meredith's face throughout the evening and her interaction with her finance left a smile on my face. I recognized the love and closeness from my and Bernadette's marriage.

It didn't feel awkward when Nicholas hinted at a blind date in the future with one of his cousins, all beautiful he assured me. We laughed. This was the first time I'd considered opening myself up to the possibility.

I bid them farewell, then cheerfully hugged Meredith.

Afterward, I sat enjoying an after-dinner cocktail. I searched my heart this past year in an attempt to figure out where those feelings toward her originated.

But they had now disappeared. And I was thankful and grateful for my wife's best friend seeing me through the worst year of my life.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

For my theme, I was inspired by and utilized the @daily.prompt's publishing of 1 May 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2359: over the waterfall.

FreeWriteDividerLine-MarianneWest.png

My Wife Best Friend Spanish Translation

Pixabay-malohan-rafting-2033494_640.jpg
Source...

El sol ámbar del atardecer se desvaneció rápidamente en la noche de verano al desaparecer por encima de la cascada. Me quedé allí de pie, con el cuerpo rígido y la mirada perdida en las olas blancas que se precipitaban. Sin miedo, mi mujer se ponía a mi lado y describía la escena como etérea; feroz, pero amable; protectora y maravillosa de contemplar. ¿Por qué entonces esta magnífica maravilla de la naturaleza no la protegió y me la devolvió aquel feliz día de hace un año?

Estaba tan absorto en mi angustia que no noté las lágrimas hasta que Meredith se acercó y me tocó suavemente la mejilla.

Me volví hacia ella, pero antes de que pudiera reaccionar, apartó la mirada. La incomodidad del momento, aunque fugaz, me hizo subir aún más la guardia pensando que otros miembros de nuestro grupo de rafting podrían sacar una conclusión incorrecta.

Cuando volví a casa, admití que su gesto era inofensivo.

Incapaz de conciliar el sueño, di vueltas en la cama. Pensando en el accidente, me eché carbón a la cabeza por lo que consideré una ayuda en el incidente que se cobró la vida de mi amada esposa de sólo dos años.

El viaje de vacaciones a la cascada del año pasado fue para celebrar el día en que nos conocimos. Por supuesto, no pude negarme al deseo de Bernadette de que invitáramos a sus amigos de rafting. Había visitado la catarata para realizar otras actividades deportivas en mi paquete vacacional inicial. Pero al llegar, en cuanto puse los ojos en ella, estuve dispuesto a probar cualquier cosa en la que participara.

La conclusión de que el accidente de la cascada era inevitable no alivió mi dolor ni mi sentimiento de culpa. ¿Por qué acepté una actividad tan peligrosa? Yo no era un balsero de aguas bravas. Tampoco era un buscador de emociones como creía de mi mujer, Bernadette, y sus amigos. Sólo accedí a probar el deporte como una forma de buscar favores y fomentar nuestra relación.

Los peligros se cernían sobre mí más de lo que quería admitir. "Es un deporte familiar", solía decir. Aun así, me centré en los peligros.

Después del accidente, Meredith, la mejor amiga de mi mujer, me llamaba para ver cómo me encontraba, además de convertirse en una visita constante a nuestra casa. Hacía la compra, cocinaba y limpiaba. En mi estado de ánimo, su preocupación y amabilidad eran muy necesarias y bienvenidas.

Sin embargo, seis meses de esta atención constante desataron una rebelión silenciosa que empezó a surgir y a apoderarse de mis sentidos cada vez que ella me visitaba. La irritación creció tanto que finalmente rechacé cualquier consuelo que me ofreciera.

Me amonestaba cada vez que ella respondía: "Es lo que haría cualquier mejor amiga ", ignoraba el lacónico exabrupto, sonreía y luego me miraba profundamente a los ojos. Desconcertada, apartaba inmediatamente la mirada mientras el miedo me martilleaba el pecho. ¿De qué tenía miedo? Ella palidecía en comparación con mi esposa eran algunos de los pensamientos que se arremolinaban constantemente en mi mente.

Para mí, no era más que la mejor amiga de mi mujer.

Al día siguiente, sin apenas descansar, conseguí trabajar a duras penas. Esa noche, sonó el timbre. A través de la mirilla, reconocí a Meredith. Dudando un momento, oí voces. Abrí la puerta.

Para mi sorpresa, era Meredith. *"Hola Antonio. ¿Puedo visitarte un momento? Me gustaría presentarte a alguien".

Saludé, y luego los invité a entrar.

A lo largo de nuestra conversación, me presentó a su prometido, Nicholas. Esperé que ninguno de los dos notara un profundo suspiro; más bien, un yunque desatado. Durante las copas nos reímos y descubrimos otras actividades que todos disfrutábamos en común. Enseguida les informé de que el rafting dejaría de ser una actividad que me interesara. Meredith respetó mi decisión.

Invitarles a cenar me pareció tan natural como si lo hubiera hecho mi mujer. La expresión de la cara de Meredith durante toda la velada y su interacción con sus finanzas me hicieron sonreír. Reconocí el amor y la cercanía de mi matrimonio con Bernadette.

No me sentí incómoda cuando Nicholas insinuó una cita a ciegas en el futuro con uno de sus primos, todo bonito me aseguró. Nos reímos. Era la primera vez que me planteaba abrirme a esa posibilidad.

Me despedí de ellos y luego abracé alegremente a Meredith.

Después, me senté a disfrutar de un cóctel de sobremesa. Busqué en mi corazón este último año en un intento de averiguar dónde se habían originado aquellos sentimientos hacia ella.

Pero ahora habían desaparecido. Y yo estaba agradecido y agradecido de que la mejor amiga de mi mujer me acompañara durante el peor año de mi vida.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

Para mi tema, me inspiré y utilicé la publicación de @daily.prompt de 1 May 2024, @mariannewest's Freewrite Writing Prompt Day 2359: over the waterfall.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

262866.png

English is my native language.
If translation included, I use DeepL to assist my readers.
Thanks for your patience an understanding
.

El inglés es mi lengua materna.
Si se incluye traducción, utilizo DeepL para ayudar a mis lectores.
Gracias por su paciencia y comprensión.

262866.png

Sort:  

What a complicated situation for the protagonist and it was all in his head! He was torn between grief and guilt, leading to unease around Meredith. I admire Meredith for standing by the protagonist despite his attitude towards her.

Would it have helped if he'd discussed his inner conflict with her? 🤔 On second thought, that conversation would have been awkward. Bringing her fiancé for dinner was a smart move. It helped the protagonist get some closure and the desire to move on. A poignant and well-written story! Thanks for sharing and have a great day. !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@kemmyb just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @justclickindiva.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Hello @kemmyb. Sometimes you do things in spite of. And Meredith proved to be the best friend ever to Antonio and his wife when she was alive. Yes, it was all in Antonio's head thinking Meredith was romantically attracted to him. In his grief, he probably didn't want any other female during that period to invade his and his wife's space. If it were me, I'd probably react the same not wanting anything to pierce my circle of grief.

A smart move indeed as I feel Meredith wasn't insensitive to Antonio's treatment of her. My take on the situation was probably that better understanding a man's feeling during that period, Meredith's fiance offered advice and had a hand in finally meeting his future wife's former best friend's husband. I was happy that Antonio bonded with them and found common ground for the future.

Thanks so much for your visit and thoughtful insight into my story. I appreciate it, your engagement and support. Take care.e

at least the are now is complete truth, since no one is now having a feelign behind thier faces.
all clear, and it is also his time to move on, maybe meet one of Nicola's cousin.
hehe
Lovely story my frriend.
!PIZZA !hiqvotes

Yes, they are now in a good place once Antonio realizes his mixed feelings were unfounded. Meredith had no romantic intentions toward her best friend's husband. Now, they can move on. Hopefully Antonio can overcome his grief.

Thanks so much for your visit. I'm pleased you found my story interesting. I appreciate your support. Take care.

Que bueno que no era amor sino agradecimiento, estaba confundido, pero al final aliviado.
Muy bella tu narrativa, se me hizo interesante

Hola @cositav. Tienes razón. No fue ninguna atracción por parte de Meredith. Sólo estaba siendo una buena amiga. Él se equivocó pensando que ella sentía algo por él cuando sólo trataba de ayudarlo a recuperarse de la muerte de su esposa.

Gracias por su visita y su compromiso. Se lo agradezco.


Hello @cositav. You are correct. It wasn't any attraction on Meredith's part. She was just being a good friend. He was mistaken thinking she had feelings for him when she was only trying to help him recover from his wife's death.

Thanks for your visit and engagement. I appreciate it.

Whenever such a difficult situation arises, if we support each other, the time passes quickly.

Dealing with the loss of a spouse is never easy. It takes family and friends to help ease the grief.

Thanks so much for your visit and engagement. Take care.

wow very interesting story, I really enjoyed your post.

Hello @riyat. Thanks so much for your visit. I'm pleased you liked my freewrite story and found it interesting. Also, I appreciate your support. It was kind of you.

Take care.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Hello @bhattg. I appreciate your visit and manual curation of my freewrite story and recommendation for support by @indiaunited. I'm pleased you found my story interesting.

Take care @bhattg and have a good start to your week.

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Yes, I have been busy online and offline. Thanks so much for the new weekly posting badge. I appreciate it and your support.

Take care.

You're welcome @justclickindiva, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@luhari, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @justclickindiva gets !WEED from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@luhari(2/5) tipped @justclickindiva

@justclickindiva!

@hiq.smartbot passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP