The rhythm of things

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

I have been trying to get back into some sort of rhythm. I would have liked it to be the hot, swinging and vivacious pulse of count Basie - or if that wasn't possible the upbeat desperation of bebop - the wild, liberating descend of trash metal - the heavenly flight of soul music - the sweaty intimacy of disco - the cool pretence of hip hop. Anything that would drive me on - allegro... maybe faster.

But things happen around you. The people who are close to you move into troubles, sometimes calamity, sometimes death. They are the ones that colour your beat. Thankfully, I suppose.

So my life these days is slowly drifting down a mighty river of unconditional love; and sorrow.

I am in the andante, sometimes largo of late classical music. Every morning since the summer I have woken in the morning with a Debussy melody line in my head.

Sort:  

I love classical music so when I am alone listening to this music gives me so much peace. My favorite singer is from Pakistan. The legend of classical is nusrat fateh ali khan. His music album is very good and amazing. I love it.

Yes, I know the music of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. It is fantastic. I decided to find out about Pakistani music a while ago as some of my friends here in Denmark are of Pakistani descent, and his music was the first that showed up on youtube.

Happy to know you are know about our legendary Singer.

The music that moves us is a very personal thing. I like a wide range, so can generally find something to suit my mood. I don't know Debussy too well, but that piece sounds familiar. I was distracted by some of the hair styles in the orchestra :)

It is personal, and from time to time one form of music is the most prevalent. They do have some special hairstyles :)

Keep it moving along my friend

Thanks, mate. I'll do my best ;)

soft and calm, what you brought us in that youtube video is perfect for relaxing! lovely classic music

It can be seen as relaxing, but also full of hidden meaning. It was made over a poem of Mallarmé and was for its time very original and daring.