5 minute freewrite 2368 prompt age rage

in Freewriterslast month

image.png

This is my post for #freewriters 2368 prompt age rage hosted by @mariannewest

image.png

May 10th 2024, my mom's birthday, she has been gone for 2 and a half years and the pain of losing her is still as strong as the day she passed, and in 2 days I am supposed to go to lunch with my daughters to celebrate Mother's Day. I know they want to be with me and celebrate me being their mother but it is hard when I have lost my mother and wish to celebrate with her.

I do not want to go, but I know it is as important to them as it was to me when my mom was still here, so I will go and smile like there is nothing wrong but I know my heart will be hurting. Ok, I need to write about something else so I can stop the tears.

image.png

Age rage that is today's prompt, what am I going to say about it? The only thing I can think about writing is my husband, his age rage was more common when he was younger I think with age he has become more mellow. I remember a time when his boat motor would not start, he tried everything he knew to get it running and nothing worked. The motor was a tiller handle and he used a four foot long piece of PVC pipe to put on the handle so he could stand and drive, he beat that motor with the PVC pipe until the pipe exploded into several pieces. I remember thinking, who did I marry? But I can say this about him, he has never taken his anger out on me, well not physically, I had to listen to it.

And there was when his truck got stuck in some soft sand, that poor truck had so many dents in it. This behavior always scared me because I was in a relationship where I was the object of the beatings and I swore if he ever hit me, that would be it, I was never going to live with someone like that again. We have been together 40 years and I am thankful he has aged from his rage.
photo of Mom belongs to my sister
Old man photos are mine (hubby)