A Recipe For A Comfortable Death

in Freewriters11 days ago

Habacuc, champion of the sorcery contests, was standing by the window of his love, Badur, looking up and sighing.
"Everyone wants to be in my place, but I am willing to give everything to be in Badru's husband's place."

He bent down and picked up two pieces of stone from the ground and started banging them together to make musical notes.
"Ah, my broken heart, victory and fame have availed you nothing but sorrow. See how your lover has left you alone."

At that moment, the window above his head opened and Badru appeared in its frame. Habacuc stopped smashing the stones together and his eyes sparkled with joy.
"My love, you came."

"What a fuss you made, it's midnight, you know?"

"My love, I'm sure you were awake and thinking about me."

"Yes, I was thinking about how to get rid of you."

"Don't hate me so much. I know a part of your heart still wants me."

"Stop dreaming. My heart now belongs only to Neper."

Habacuc had tears in his eyes.
"You loved me with all your heart. How could you kick my feelings like that and throw yourself into someone else's arms?"

"It was your fault. I warned you when you ran for the tournament that if you went, my family would force me to marry someone else."

"Badru, I just wanted to be a progressive wizard and make you proud."

"I loved you the way you were and you knew it too well. But your ambition made you leave me alone and now after ten years you are back and talking to me about love.

Get out of here and never come back. If you really still have the slightest feelings for me, don't come here anymore and don't bother me by reliving past memories in my mind."

Badru closed the window after saying these words, and Habacuc stared around for some moments as if he could not believe the situation in which he found himself.

Then he came to himself and blinked and took out a piece of paper from his pocket and started reading the writing on it.
"A recipe for a comfortable death…"

Screenshot_۲۰۲۴۰۵۰۹-۱۴۱۴۳۵_Google.jpg