Daily Freewrite Prompt Day 2365: Not so stable

Sometimes life just keeps moving along at a comfortable pace with nothing unusual happening, and then one day it's suddenly not so stable after all. It doesn't take much to change things: a letter, a phone call, a text, an accident, bizarre weather events, or even a moment of forgetfulness can change the direction of one's life, or at least cause one to rethink one's priorities. Most of us have probably had one or more of these things happen during our lifetimes, especially if we are older.

Recently I called an old friend to check up on her. I knew her cancer had come back, and she had chosen to treat it with measures other than chemo and radiation. I was surprised when an unfamiliar male voice answered her phone and identified himself as a home hospice nurse. Uh-oh. I don't like the sound of that. I know my friend is a Christian and is ready to go home to be with the Lord, but I will miss her wise words and her prayers for me and for my family.


white-cabbage-2521700_640.jpg

My friend likes to garden, so I chose this picture from Pixabay

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your friend. I've lost a few myself in the last year or so.

Thank you. It's not easy, is it?

Yes, life has a way of yanking the rug from under us. Prayers for you friend, think of all of her loved ones that she will be seeing and there will be no more painful days for her. Every family member of mine who has died of cancer has been more of a Blessing for them when they pass.

Yes, this is very true.

SB_love_Banner.png